Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Ebuild for Mozilla 1.1a
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zu`
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 716
Location: BE

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2002 11:10 pm    Post subject: Ebuild for Mozilla 1.1a Reply with quote

I'm getting this far by renaming the 1.0-r2 ebuild:

Code:

>>> emerge net-www/mozilla-1.1a to /
>>> md5 ;-) mozilla-source-1.1a.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking mozilla-source-1.1a.tar.bz2
patching file other-licenses/Xft/fontconfig/src/fccharset.c
Hunk #1 succeeded at 1431 (offset 433 lines).
Hunk #2 FAILED at 1477.
Hunk #3 FAILED at 1504.
2 out of 3 hunks FAILED -- saving rejects to file other-licenses/Xft/fontconfig/src/fccharset.c.rej

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_unpack, Line -71, Exitcode 1
!!! (no error message)

!!! emerge aborting on  /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/mozilla-1.1a.ebuild .


Anyone who has a working ebuild file for Mozilla 1.1a or anyone who could tell me how to fix the ebuild?

TiA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpwins
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: The Pandemonium Fortress

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 2:18 am    Post subject: Re: Ebuild for Mozilla 1.1a Reply with quote

Zu` wrote:

Anyone who has a working ebuild file for Mozilla 1.1a or anyone who could tell me how to fix the ebuild?


Sure!

Seems like your Xft patch is failing. This is because the patch applies to the 1.0 source, not the 1.1a files. I think you have two options here: either find a version of the various patch files against 1.1a instead of 1.0, or, don't patch. Since 1.1a is "much" newer than 1.0, the problem in the mozilla source has probably already been removed by the mozilla crew. So no need to patch. :)

I suggest don't patch at first, and if you run into trouble, then go look for a patch. (To remove the patching, add a # in front of lines like "patch -p1 < ${FILESDIR}/mozilla-new-freetype2.patch || die".

I think I'll give it a try myself. But first I really need some sleep. :o
_________________
How are you gentlemen!! All your base are belong to us. You are on the way to destruction. You have no chance to survive make your time. Ha ha ha ha ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need the patches include in the 1.0 ebuild, my fonts surpass the look of even konqueror with the nightly 1.1a tree.

.: You can see an example of what it looks like here.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asimon
l33t
l33t


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 979
Location: Germany, Old Europe

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
my fonts surpass the look of even konqueror with the nightly 1.1a tree.


Fonts in my Konqueror are still much more beutiful :p

Cheers,
Andreas
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Russki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 119
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hei cpwins,
leuk om iemand uit Groningen hier te zien!
Ik kom ook uit Groningen
Groeten!
_________________
Facts are stupid things.
-Ronald Reagan
[img]http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zu`
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 716
Location: BE

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
You don't need the patches include in the 1.0 ebuild, my fonts surpass the look of even konqueror with the nightly 1.1a tree.

.: You can see an example of what it looks like here.


Looks pretty slick indeed!

So I'll just remove the patches and try again.

Thanks for your help all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grandpajive
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jun 2002
Posts: 46

PostPosted: Sat Jul 13, 2002 9:50 pm    Post subject: hmm Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
You don't need the patches include in the 1.0 ebuild, my fonts surpass the look of even konqueror with the nightly 1.1a tree.

.: You can see an example of what it looks like here.


What font setup are you using in moz? I've been using ms Tahoma (which is anti-aliased... but has a problem with italics..)... etc.

Actually, what fonts do you all use in moz?
_________________
-gj
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cpwins
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 08 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: The Pandemonium Fortress

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2002 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I converted the mozilla-1.0-r2.ebuild to mozilla-1.1a.ebuild. Then downloaded source, compiled, installed. Everything works perfectly, nice fonts too. 8)

If you have problems with your mozilla-1.0-r3 (cut & paste, invisable cursor while typing messages) you could give this a try. Here's the recipe:

Code:

# cd /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/
# cp mozilla-1.0-r2.ebuild mozilla-1.1a.ebuild
# edit mozilla-1.1a.ebuild


Now, remove the commands for patching by putting a '#' in front of the following lines:

Code:

   # Fix a compile error with freetype-2.0.9 or later
   cd ${S}
   patch -p1 < ${FILESDIR}/mozilla-new-freetype2.patch || die

and
Code:

   if [ -n "${MOZ_ENABLE_XFT}" ] ; then
      cd ${D}/usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref
      patch -p0 <${FILESDIR}/mozilla-xft-unix-prefs.patch || \
         die "failed unix prefs patch"

Save the file. (duh!) Next, type:
Code:

# emerge -f mozilla
# ebuild /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/mozilla-1.1a.ebuild digest
# emerge mozilla


The first line downloads the mozilla-1.1a sources from ftp://ftp.mozilla.org . The nice thing is that we didn't have to modify the ebuild for that, it finds it out itself. :D The second line creates an MD5 checksum file (files/digest-mozilla-1.1a), and the last one... well you know.

Enjoy! :)
_________________
How are you gentlemen!! All your base are belong to us. You are on the way to destruction. You have no chance to survive make your time. Ha ha ha ha ....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2002 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cpwins wrote:
OK, I converted the mozilla-1.0-r2.ebuild to mozilla-1.1a.ebuild. Then downloaded source, compiled, installed. Everything works perfectly, nice fonts too. 8)

If you have problems with your mozilla-1.0-r3 (cut & paste, invisable cursor while typing messages) you could give this a try. Here's the recipe:

Code:

# cd /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/
# cp mozilla-1.0-r2.ebuild mozilla-1.1a.ebuild
# edit mozilla-1.1a.ebuild


Now, remove the commands for patching by putting a '#' in front of the following lines:

Code:

   # Fix a compile error with freetype-2.0.9 or later
   cd ${S}
   patch -p1 < ${FILESDIR}/mozilla-new-freetype2.patch || die

and
Code:

   if [ -n "${MOZ_ENABLE_XFT}" ] ; then
      cd ${D}/usr/lib/mozilla/defaults/pref
      patch -p0 <${FILESDIR}/mozilla-xft-unix-prefs.patch || \
         die "failed unix prefs patch"

Save the file. (duh!) Next, type:
Code:

# emerge -f mozilla
# ebuild /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/mozilla-1.1a.ebuild digest
# emerge mozilla


The first line downloads the mozilla-1.1a sources from ftp://ftp.mozilla.org . The nice thing is that we didn't have to modify the ebuild for that, it finds it out itself. :D The second line creates an MD5 checksum file (files/digest-mozilla-1.1a), and the last one... well you know.

Enjoy! :)


You can leave than first line off, when you digest portage will download the source.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pablored
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 May 2002
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sun Jul 14, 2002 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So without a font server... it is still jaggy land?

I'm using ms truetype but just through the XF86Config file. I have had no problems with AA in fluxbox, Waimea or Gnome2. Do things need to change for Mozilla?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jakke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2002 8:33 am    Post subject: Mozilla 1.1b Reply with quote

Anyone tried this on the latest Mozilla 1.1b?
I already created an ebuild for it, but as it looks, there are no sources for Mozilla 1.1b yet :cry:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioxmat
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 709
Location: /home/mat

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2002 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can get the sources form cvs, or wait a few hours/days for the source to be released...
_________________
mat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2002 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mozilla 1.1b source is out. I'm emerging now.

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla/releases/mozilla1.1b/src/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zu`
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 May 2002
Posts: 716
Location: BE

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 6:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

rizzo wrote:
Mozilla 1.1b source is out. I'm emerging now.

ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla/releases/mozilla1.1b/src/


Thank you for letting us know. I was waiting for it ;)
Gonna emerge too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jakke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 7:39 am    Post subject: Fails to compile Reply with quote

It seems to fail when compiling:

Code:

Calculating dependencies ...done!
>>> emerge net-www/mozilla-1.1b to /
>>> md5 ;-) mozilla-source-1.1b.tar.bz2
>>> Unpacking source...
>>> Unpacking mozilla-source-1.1b.tar.bz2
>>> Source unpacked.
creating cache ./config.cache
checking host system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking target system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking build system type... i686-pc-linux-gnu
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -march=i686 -O3 -pipe ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc -march=i686 -O3 -pipe ) is a cross-compiler... no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for c++... c++
checking whether the C++ compiler (c++ -march=i686 -O3 -pipe ) works... no
configure: error: installation or configuration problem: C++ compiler cannot create executables.

!!! ERROR: The ebuild did not complete successfully.
!!! Function src_compile, Line 90, Exitcode 1
!!! (no error message)

!!! emerge aborting on  /usr/portage/net-www/mozilla/mozilla-1.1b.ebuild .


Anyone succeeded??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jakke
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2002
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

forget it - this error message was because my partition was full.

I cleaned it a bit - and now it's compiling.
Hopefully I'll have a moz1.1b in an hour 8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bod
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 26
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 10:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does installing 1.1b cause any problems with Galeon?
Will Galeon need rebuilding, or does it use the updated Gecko straight away? (assuming it works at all!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rizzo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 30 Apr 2002
Posts: 1067
Location: Manitowoc, WI, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is recommended that you remove the old mozilla and then install the new mozilla, and then rebuild galeon/nautilus what have you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CYwolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Toronto, ON, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 10:31 pm    Post subject: Hmm. Reply with quote

Okay, I've gone and installed 1.1b.

Now, how do I get it to anti-alias? A poster above recommended turning off the prefs patch, and indeed the default unix.js has all font directories commented. I assume it's grabbing the directory list directly from X now.
Freetype also seems to be disabled, just setting FreeType2.enable to true did not enable anti-aliasing. Is Mozilla finally supposed to be using Xft? Do I have to set something in the env?

At the moment I have no uppercased fonts in my font list, and I seem to remember only those were anti-aliased in the past. Any tips?

[Edit] I recently recompiled X, so there's a chance I forgot to restore something in my font settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Techie2000
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 May 2002
Posts: 344

PostPosted: Wed Jul 24, 2002 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What fonts are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CYwolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Toronto, ON, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 2:42 am    Post subject: Various Reply with quote

I've tried about 20 fonts randomly from the list, none are even remotely aliased. These are all in the form "family-fontname-iso8859-15".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioxmat
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 709
Location: /home/mat

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hum, I installed mozilla 1.1beta on my other linux box (running a LFS)
aa works fine. no patches whatsoever for moz (still, I had a custom X/freetype, but gentoo have this too)
just modify your unix.js makes the trick.
_________________
mat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the screenshot above I have this as my fonts:

[img:d1ee338023]http://autobot.netfirms.com/pref.jpg[/img:d1ee338023]

And from my unix.js:

Code:

// below a certian pixel size outline scaled fonts produce poor results
pref("font.scale.outline.min",      6);

// TrueType
pref("font.FreeType2.enable", true);
pref("font.freetype2.shared-library", "libfreetype.so.6");
pref("font.FreeType2.autohinted", false);
pref("font.FreeType2.unhinted", false);
pref("font.antialias.min",        10);
pref("font.embedded_bitmaps.max", 1000000);
pref("font.scale.tt_bitmap.dark_text.min", 32);
pref("font.scale.tt_bitmap.dark_text.gain", "0.4");
pref("font.directory.truetype.1", "/usr/share/fonts/truetype");
pref("font.directory.truetype.2", "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/TTF");
pref("font.directory.truetype.3", "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/truetype");

_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CYwolf
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2002
Posts: 47
Location: Toronto, ON, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 6:13 pm    Post subject: Works now. Reply with quote

Code:
emerge freetype


Go figure. Anyway, it's up to the quality of AutoBot's screenie now, but still can't quite match Konq with Xft Hack yet. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dioxmat
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 709
Location: /home/mat

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2002 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

note that autobot doesnt have truetype fonts for the mozilla interface :)
I do ;)
checkout http://mpillard.free.fr/mozilla/userChrome.css to see why,
and a screenshot @ http://mpillard.free.fr/mozilla/mozmail.png
_________________
mat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum