Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
(Solved)Wine Gnome Menu Shortcut Was not Created
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SpiroPoulos89
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 7:29 am    Post subject: (Solved)Wine Gnome Menu Shortcut Was not Created Reply with quote

Hello All

I have unmasked my entire system and am running gnome 2.26.3.

Not too long ago I installed OppenOffice and when it finnished there were no menu shortcuts for OpenOffice. Since then I have reinstalled Gentoo and when I installed OpenOffice the second time I now had the menu Shorcuts. That makes it seem like its just random and not really solved.

My problem is now I have installed wine and there are no menu icons. No matter how many times I unmerge and remerge I still get no menu shortcuts.

Is this a know bug and is there any solution.

Thanks for any help.


Last edited by SpiroPoulos89 on Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:40 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Clad in Sky
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 May 2007
Posts: 778
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know if this is a bug and if so if it is known.

Do you have no menu entries AT ALL for wine and openoffice? If so, go to System → Preferences → Main Menu
There you should see a list of the Application categories on your computer.
If you find any entry, like wine, in italics this means the entry is there, but since it is empty it won't be shown in order to keep your applications menu from being cluttered with empty categories.
If you have an entry wine click on icon and see if there are any programmes in there that you like to show up in the menu. If so, check the checkbox beside the programme you want to show up in the menu.
If you click on Applications after that you should have an entry for wine which then'll show all the wineprogrammes in that folder.

If you do not have any folder called "wine" there you can make one yourself. But this shouldn't be necessary.
Btw: Have you logged out and back in since you installed the stuff?
_________________
Kali Ma
Now it's autumn of the aeons
Dance with your sword
Now it's time for the harvest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpiroPoulos89
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the reply

I have logged in and out and restarted since installing wine and there is no wine entry at all in the menu.

I know I can create my own wine menu and I do know the wine commands to use to use wine without the menu shortcuts but wine is still suppossed to have defaut menu shortcuts and I don't know why they didn't get added.

OppenOffice now does have shortcuts but only after a reinstall.....I definately don't want to reinstall again and even if I did I dont know that all shortcuts for all programs would be added correctly.

I would of thought more people have had such a problem unless its a new problem.

No matter how much I unmerge and remerge wine still doesn't show up in the menu.

I guess I can live with it cause it doesn't effect much......when I install windows programs they show up in "other" instead of "wine" since there is no default wine menu. But I would like to solve it so everything works as should.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpiroPoulos89
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 2:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does noone else have any idea???

I cant imagine I am the only one with this problem.

ANYONE??????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpiroPoulos89
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump???

Its getting real quiet.

Normally I like quiet but in this case I would like as much noise as possible.

.....................Anybody....................
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Wed Sep 09, 2009 8:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you find a solution for this yet?
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Sat Sep 26, 2009 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bump. I've done some research and found that editing some lines in ~/.config/application-menu/something.something brings back the menus for some people. I've tried editing then removing the files listed on these fixes then logging out, but I still don't have a wine application menu.

In each case, I've also tried installing a new app via wine. I can get the desktop entries, but again, nothing shows up in gnome-menu.

I had horrible luck with wine-1.1.29 and Steam anyway so I went with the -9999 ebuild. I haven't found a combination of hacks that works.

So, what creates the gnome-menu Wine entry? Is it Gnome? Is it Wine? Is it the ebuild?
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpiroPoulos89
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 4:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraetorZero

I have not solved it yet.

I believe the post you read about solving the problem are referring to if you deleted the menu. But in this case It just did not create at all.

I don't know if the ebuild has anything to do withe creating the actual menus so i don't know who's fault this problem actually is.

You are the first person to have the same problem as me. I would of thought other wine users would have this problem as well.

Is there anyone who understands the problem and knows how to make the wine menu get created during install or at least how to manually make the wine folder and make wine use it for any installed programs??

Thank You
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2502
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I went from gnome 2.24 to 2.26.3 I lost the wine menu also.
All the entries got moved to the "other" directory (in my case) but no directory/menu structure to it.
I don't use wine that often, so I can use it, either manually or by going to other and searching for the one I want.
I figure that it will get straightened out in time.

Anyway, no you're not alone. :lol:

---

Edit to add:

It seems the problem is "XDG_MENU_PREFIX=gnome-"

it is looking for gnome-applications-merged in the .config/menus directory

So I did this:
cd .config/menus
ln -s applications-merged gnome-applications-merged

and I now have my wine menus back
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2010)


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:57 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2502
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Tue Sep 29, 2009 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unintentional duplicate post
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2010)


Last edited by Anon-E-moose on Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 2:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damn. I wish I knew this before I deleted the directory. :(

I'll give it a try!
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SpiroPoulos89
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anon-E-moose

Your solution worked for me, but the command you gave did not make the proper link and confused me.

Code:
cd .config/menus

Then I had to change
Code:
ln -s applications gnome-applications

to
Code:
ln -s applications-merged gnome-applications-merged

Then run the Menu Editor to acknowledge the change.

Obviously you typed it right for yourself and thought why don't I confuse everyone else cause I hate them.....lol.

How did you find the solution. I have looked quite a bit and found nothing like that.

Anyway, Thanks for solving this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Anon-E-moose
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 2502
Location: Dallas area

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

:oops: It seems that I copied my original post and modified that one, instead of editing it. :oops:


I was googling the problem and ran into a post on the debian list talking about it.
So I tried linking the applications-merged directory and voila it worked.

Glad it's working. :)
_________________
Asus m5a99fx, FX 8320 - amd64-multilib, 3.15.9-zen, glibc-2.17, gcc-4.7.3-r1, eudev
xorg-server-1.16, openbox w/lxpanel, nouveau, oss4(2010)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraetorZero
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 11 Dec 2004
Posts: 239
Location: /home

PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2009 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just confirmed for myself this is working too. Thanks for finding that little gem!
_________________
What's the worst that can happen?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum