SAS/SATA & ot gentoo 'support'
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dashnu
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:02 pm    Post subject: SAS/SATA & ot gentoo 'support' Reply with quote

The adp94xx driver is not in the kernel tree. I am really wondering what Live Disk if any can be used that has those drivers in the kernel.. I tried Ubuntu, Knoppix, IBM ships a live disk with the module loaded however it does not have any file system creation tools. So needless to say I get screwed after creating partitions. IBM ships an RPM for SUSE and RedHat which fails to help me out.... This sucks I have a brand new 306m sitting on my desk that is pretty much useless to me as of now. Any ideas on how can get by this... I have a hacked up 2.6 kernel by adaptec for the controller so I will be all set once I get a base install done.. I have no experience in creating my own LiveCD or know what one to use.. Suggestions on this would be cool.

I called IBM support and got the regular run around. The guy on the phone asked me what OS I ran FIVE times! At the end I had to spell it out for him.. G E N T O O..The conversation ended with him telling me "None of our systems support Gentoo" I asked all the right questions.. do ya have another live cd with some decent tools on it ? and many others but once they found out I used gentoo they blew me off... WHY are people willing to loose business over Gentoo??? He was fine with the fact that I ship the server back and get my money back because simply enough they do not support gentoo.. Will this ever end??? Jesus I wish people supported gentoo..