Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Gentoo Acer 803LCi support thread (discussion section)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Like that:
Code:


Section "Device"
    Identifier                  "ATI Graphics Adapter"
    Driver                      "ati"
    Option "AGPMode"      "4"
    Option "EnablePageFlip"   "true"
    Option "IgnoreEDID"      "off"
    Option "RenderAccel"   "true"
    Option "backingstore"   "true"
    Option "DynamicClocks"   "true"
    VendorName         "ATI Technologies Inc."
    BoardName         "Radeon R250 Lf (Radeon Mobility 9000 M9)"
   
    BusID "PCI:1:0:0"    # vendor=1002, device=4c66
    Screen 0
EndSection
:)

pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxlover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 297
Location: weltweit

PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2005 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

matttions wrote:
In which section of the xorg.conf file? plz..
I can't find the way :-(

Code:
Section "Device"
  BoardName    "RV250 Lf"
  BusID        "1:0:0"
  Driver       "radeon"
  Option     "RenderAccel" "true"
  Option "DynamicCLocks" "true"
  Identifier   "Card0"
  VendorName   "ATI"
EndSection
that was an easy one :)
Btw what happened to the xorg.conf/XFree86Config someone wanted to post? I think his screen broke (sorry...) - is anyone else going to do that? Should we post it to an extra page in the wiki?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matttions
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2005 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tuxlover wrote:

Code:
Section "Device"
  BoardName    "RV250 Lf"
  BusID        "1:0:0"
  Driver       "radeon"
  Option     "RenderAccel" "true"
  Option "DynamicCLocks" "true"
  Identifier   "Card0"
  VendorName   "ATI"
EndSection


Ok .. It works now.. and I find my mistake ...
The problem is that is not ..
Code:
Option "DynamicCLocks" "true"


but

Code:
Option "DynamicClocks" "true"


note the case of the "L" --> "l" .
:-)
_________________
gentoo ... l'unico pinguino da corsa


Last edited by matttions on Sun Apr 10, 2005 9:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 353
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ thepi: What are these two options for?
Code:
    Option "RenderAccel"   "true"
    Option "backingstore"   "true"


I see some people are using this power saving with the ati driver, while others with the radeon driver. I still can't find any good information or documentation on the differences between the 3 drivers (ati, radeon and fglrx). It's a shame there's no faq or sticky for this on the Gentoo site somewhere... Ofcourse I'm mostly interested in the advantages/disadvantages of the drivers: speed, robustness/stability, size, compatibility,... Posts like these here also show that a full list of X options would be nice. So if anyone has any good links, please go ahead and post them. Anyhow, thx for another half hour of battery life (hopefully).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxlover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 297
Location: weltweit

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 7:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ thepi: You beat me 3 hours on my last post. Maybe I should hit reload more often.

pjv wrote:
I still can't find any good information or documentation on the differences between the 3 drivers (ati, radeon and fglrx). It's a shame there's no faq or sticky for this on the Gentoo site somewhere...

This has bothered me many times in the past as well... I'd be very interested in more info about this.
My main reason not to use the ati driver is that it's closed source. The radeon driver has been working fine for me so far. Granted, I don't play games...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 353
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On second thought this videocard power saving mode may not be such a good idea: It creates a hard crash (and a garbled screen) when I try to switch to a tty with Ctrl+Alt+F1. Not even the magic SysRq could reboot. Did we once consider this but then leave it off for some/this reason?!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tuxlover
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 21 Oct 2003
Posts: 297
Location: weltweit

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjv wrote:
It creates a hard crash (and a garbled screen) when I try to switch to a tty with Ctrl+Alt+F1
No problems here with the radeon driver... (I don't use framebuffer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matttions
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the framebuffer enabled ... and the radeon drivers
no problem here to switcht between the TTY .
I use qingy as my login manager ....
_________________
gentoo ... l'unico pinguino da corsa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjv, you're using the ati-binary driver, right? Propably it's a problem with that one. No problems here (just tried it out), using radeon DRM for X, VesaFB for console. No Login Manager btw, if that even matters.

AFAIK, there's only two drivers: ati's binary & radeon drm. fglrx is the X module of the ati-binary driver. My original X config was created w/ ati's tool before I switched from XFree & ati to X.org & radeon, so the card's settings are mostly their defaults. Don't know if they even have any effect on the DRM driver - aside from the DynamicClocks setting, of course. So a list of valid settings would be really cool :D

Again, I'd suggest to use the radeon DRM driver. The ati binary may be a tad faster, but I would never again trade this for the stability that I've gained since I made the switch to the OpenSource variant. Granted, to play newer games that use S3TC (Texture Compression) it takes a bit more effort, as one has to compile the drm module by hand using a patch. But what kind of Linuxers would we be if we were afraid of that :P
I even tried to put this into an ebuild, but it's kinda tricky :?

UPDATE: I just screened through the mailing list, the additional patch is now integrated in the cvs version of the driver. You just need to install the additional dxtn library now, and set the USE_EXTERNAL_DXTN_LIB env variable. I wonder when this is going to be in the stable release, would spare the hassle to do a manual cvs install.

pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Jul 2003
Posts: 353
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Mar 27, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the ati driver without any problems apart from this one. Oh well... I can probably live without it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floppes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Mar 28, 2005 3:50 pm    Post subject: Re: sth Reply with quote

EASYdoor wrote:

Code:
Option "DynamicCLocks"      "true"



When I use this option, my Xorg freezes when shutting down/rebooting.
Is anyone else experiencing this problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which driver? ati-binary or x11-drm? Here it's the latter, no problems whatsoever.

Regards,
pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matttions
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anybody has the tv-out working?
or the vga-out working well [I have always the screen cutted ... it's really annoying ..]

@floppes With the x11-drm [the driver open, provided by the kernel] I haven't any type of problem except above [maybe a misconfigured?]
_________________
gentoo ... l'unico pinguino da corsa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
floppes
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Jan 2005
Posts: 68
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue Mar 29, 2005 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using the ati-binary drivers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 6:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay everybody, I recommend disabling the DynamicClock setting if you're using the ati-binary drivers. This option seems to cause lots of trouble atm, so only use it together with the radeon-drm module, or if you're feeling lucky and don't mind the crashes.

pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Wed Mar 30, 2005 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hooray! I got my long-awaited DVD-RW drive today, a Toshiba SD-R6472. :)
Installation was quite easy, you just have to remove the old drive from the media bay and replace it with the new one. It was detected correctly on first boot, and I just successfully burned my first DVD on Linux :D K3b even detects the correct CD burning speed (24x) now, which it failed to do with my old drive since some time.

Gotta go, lots of files to archive 8)

EDIT: so far so good, second burn fails due to a kernel bug :P

Regards,
pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tuxlover wrote:
Btw what happened to the xorg.conf/XFree86Config someone wanted to post? I think his screen broke (sorry...) - is anyone else going to do that? Should we post it to an extra page in the wiki?



Yeah - could someone post their latest working xorg.conf here?

I just installed 2005.0 on my 800, kde's finished compiling and I'm about to setup X - it would be great if I could just copy and paste instead of going through the usual configuration trial-and-error frustration that always seems to happen when I first setup X...

Many thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matttions
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Jul 2004
Posts: 338

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 6:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use the x11-Drm [open radeon driver provided by the kernel]
my xorg.conf
enjoy.
_________________
gentoo ... l'unico pinguino da corsa
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2005 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine, mostly generated by
Code:
X -configure
is pasted below.

I only had to change a couple things which I'll explain in a moment. I marked my additions to the autogenerated config with
Code:
##HERE##


The problem I ran into was a message to the effect of "xorg is unable to locate your mouse" when I ran
Code:
X -configure
. Apparently this is due the fact that 2005.0 uses udev, and X looks for /dev/mouse. I was able to fix this easily by just taking the
Code:
/root/xorg.conf.new
file that was generated, and threw it into
Code:
/etc/X11/xorg.conf
, then I edited it to use
Code:
/dev/input/mice
. This worked, but the mouse driver wasn't facilitating the synaptics features, so I was able to fix that by using
Code:
Load  "synaptics"
and
Code:
Driver      "synaptics"
. That was pretty much it, the rest of the auto-generated config works flawlessly. There are obviously tons of options for the ati driver ( listed and commented out in the config ) to tune and tinker with, but the important thing at first is get X up and running as quickly as possible.

Another thing you'll notice, is - mysteriously enough - I did not have to specify any actual synaptics options yet I still have all the synaptics bells-and-whistles ( 1/2/3 finger taps for 1st/2nd/3rd mouse buttons, even scrolling without specifically setting the ZAxis or whatever that option was ) and also the resolution is somehow working perfectly even w/o specifying in the Display sections. The synaptics thing is probably working so well just cuz I used the synaptics driver instead of the Imps/ps2 or whatever, but I can't explain why the resolution is running at the 1400x1050 without configuring it.

Here's the config, as generated by
Code:
X -configure
, but with my minor edits to get the mouse working:


Code:

ection "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "X.org Configured"
        Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        RgbPath      "/usr/lib/X11/rgb"
        ModulePath   "/usr/lib/modules"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/CID/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        ##HERE##
        Load  "synaptics"
        Load  "record"
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "dbe"
        Load  "dri"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "xtrap"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard0"
        Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        #Driver      "mouse"
        ##HERE##
        Driver      "synaptics"
        Option      "Protocol" "auto"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        #DisplaySize      310   230     # mm
        Identifier   "Monitor0"
        VendorName   "HTC"
        ModelName    "1c12"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
        ### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option     "NoAccel"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "SWcursor"                  # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac6Bit"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "Dac8Bit"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "BusType"                   # [<str>]
        #Option     "CPPIOMode"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CPusecTimeout"             # <i>
        #Option     "AGPMode"                   # <i>
        #Option     "AGPFastWrite"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "AGPSize"                   # <i>
        #Option     "GARTSize"                  # <i>
        #Option     "RingSize"                  # <i>
        #Option     "BufferSize"                # <i>
        #Option     "EnableDepthMoves"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "EnablePageFlip"            # [<bool>]
        #Option     "NoBackBuffer"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DRIReinit"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "PanelOff"                  # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DDCMode"                   # [<bool>]
        #Option     "MonitorLayout"             # [<str>]
        #Option     "IgnoreEDID"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "UseFBDev"                  # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VideoKey"                  # <i>
        #Option     "MergedFB"                  # [<bool>]
        #Option     "CRT2HSync"                 # [<str>]
        #Option     "CRT2VRefresh"              # [<str>]
        #Option     "CRT2Position"              # [<str>]
        #Option     "MetaModes"                 # [<str>]
        #Option     "MergedDPI"                 # [<str>]
        #Option     "NoMergedXinerama"          # [<bool>]
        #Option     "MergedXineramaCRT2IsScreen0"       # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DisplayPriority"           # [<str>]
        #Option     "PanelSize"                 # [<str>]
        #Option     "ForceMinDotClock"          # <freq>
        #Option     "RenderAccel"               # [<bool>]
        #Option     "SubPixelOrder"             # [<str>]
        #Option     "ShowCache"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "DynamicClocks"             # [<bool>]
        #Option     "VGAAccess"                 # [<bool>]
        #Option     "LVDSProbePLL"              # [<bool>]
        #Option     "ReverseDDC"                # [<bool>]
        #Option     "BIOSHotkeys"               # [<bool>]
        Identifier  "Card0"
        Driver      "ati"
        VendorName  "ATI Technologies Inc"
       BoardName   "Radeon R250 Lf [Radeon Mobility 9000 M9]"
        BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen0"
        Device     "Card0"
        Monitor    "Monitor0"
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     1
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     4
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     8
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     15
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     16
        EndSubSection
        SubSection "Display"
                Viewport   0 0
                Depth     24
        EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 4:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
Viewport 0 0

scary :shock:

I will post my xorg.conf here when my computer's more responsive again (growisofs seems mem-hungry 8))

pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Sun Apr 03, 2005 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thepi wrote:
Code:
Viewport 0 0

scary :shock:


I dunno what the Viewport setting is... why's it scary?

Also, why is it that I didn't need to define any Modes options in the Display sections?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thepi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jan 2004
Posts: 352
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hm my quote was a little misleading. What's scary is the thing about your Display mode, or the complete lack thereof. Didn't think that it would work that way.

At first I actually thought that X -configure had set you up with a Resolution of "0 x 0 pixels". That'd been really scary. Stupid me :lol:

pi~
_________________
Violence is the last resort of the incompetent --Isaac Asimov
Gentoo on Acer TM800 | Help! | Vote! | Get FF!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2005 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thepi wrote:
Hm my quote was a little misleading. What's scary is the thing about your Display mode, or the complete lack thereof. Didn't think that it would work that way.

At first I actually thought that X -configure had set you up with a Resolution of "0 x 0 pixels". That'd been really scary. Stupid me :lol:

pi~


Yeah, man -- heh; I wouldn't have believed it myself if it wasn't actualy working that way on my box and seeing it and verifying ( and re-verifying! ) with my own eyes!

It's a trip... anyone know the answer to this riddle?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:49 am    Post subject: 2.6.11 kernel config Reply with quote

So... anyone got a 2.6.11 .config for my 800 that I can use as a base to build my kernel with?

Looking for something that facilitates all/most of the bells-and-whistles for the TravelMate.


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
corey_s
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 264

PostPosted: Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:29 am    Post subject: screenblanking Reply with quote

Anyone manage to get screen blanking to work ( where the backlight actualy turns off ) w/ the latest kernel and xorg "ati" driver?

How do I do it?


Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30  Next
Page 26 of 30

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum