Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Status of s390 architecture?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:44 pm    Post subject: Status of s390 architecture? Reply with quote

Not long ago I discovered by accident that there were 2007.0 stage files available for the s390/s390x architecture. As a venerable Big Iron hacker who uses Gentoo at home, I was intrigued by this and set about to install the s390x stage3 release onto Hercules, using CentOS 4.6 to do the bootstrap. I have had considerable success, with a lot of help from the Linux-390 list, but there are some areas that still need addressing. So I was wondering what the current status of the architecture is; there are no 2008.0 stage files but packages to periodically get updated. Does some one still maintain the arch? I found a document http://dev.gentoo.org/~vapier/s390/ that was last updated on 2004!

I have made various fixes to the distro:

  • Fixed the console support so you get a login shell
  • Written a /etc/conf.d/net that works with the latest kernels
  • Enabled 3270 console support
  • Hacked up an install method using the CentOS installer

There are a number of bugs that don't appear in the RHEL/SLES distros, in particular, RealVNC segfaults and xorg-x11 does not compile. Anybody know anything about this?

TIA
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
armin76
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its maintained only by vapier(vapier@g.o), and i don't know any gentoo dev that has access to that kind of box, the binpkgs are done automatically.

Any help is welcome :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

armin76 wrote:
Its maintained only by vapier(vapier@g.o), and i don't know any gentoo dev that has access to that kind of box, the binpkgs are done automatically.

Any help is welcome :)

All you need is Hercules and a reasonably powerful Intel box (I have a Core2Duo E6400 with 2GB of DDR2 RAM running amd64 Gentoo and can get 80+ MIPS with Hercules). I am happy to help out but don't know how to fix any of the problems I have encountered, otherwise I would already have done so. :D
One easy thing to fix might be the absence of compatibility libraries so you can run s390 binaries on a s390x system (the enterprise distros have this). This would allow running software only available as 32 bit binary rpms; the ned editor springs to mind.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
armin76
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Apr 2006
Posts: 173

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh, you're using an emulator...

I'm not sure bugs using an emulator are welcome...i have no clue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

armin76 wrote:
Oh, you're using an emulator...
I'm not sure bugs using an emulator are welcome...i have no clue.

You obviously don't know Hercules, it can run z/OS perfectly and there are large numbers of mainframe sysprogs using it who are very quick to report any deviations from the hardware standard. How do you think the s390 versions of CentOS are developed.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bump.
binro, are you still watching this thread?
like you i bootstrapped with centos 4.7, gentoo kernel is compiled, zipl configured and installed, but i can't get the thing to boot.
Code:
ipl 122
HHCCP007I CPU0000 architecture mode set to ESA/390
Booting default (ipl)...
HHCCP011I CPU0000: Disabled wait state
          PSW=000A0000 00000000

that's all, instcount stops.
please respond, then i will describe the situation further.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am still here!
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fine, thanks for the reply.
so the situation is as follows:
i installed centos 4.7 as described in their documentation, on DASD 0120,0121, these are 3390-3.
centos used both disks.
after successful install i created DASD 0122, a 3390-9, formated it ext2, chrooted and unpacked a s390x-stage inside.
after emerge --sync i installed gentoo-sources-2.6.27-r10. the config was okay, according to vapier's old doc, i only changed all the modules to built-in.
complete config: here
after building the kernel configured ZIPL.

/etc/zipl.conf:
Code:
[defaultboot]
        default=ipl

        [ipl]
        target=/boot/zipl
        image=/boot/kernel-2.6.27-gentoo-r10
        parameters="dasd=0122 root=/dev/dasd/0.0.0122/part1"

ls -l /boot/:
Code:
# ls -l /boot/
total 8240
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       1 2009-06-29 21:24 boot -> .
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root   21485 2009-06-30 01:24 config-2.6.27-gentoo-r10
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 6995200 2009-06-30 01:23 kernel-2.6.27-gentoo-r10
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 1393522 2009-06-30 01:24 System.map-2.6.27-gentoo-r10
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root    4096 2009-06-30 12:40 zipl
#

zipl -V:
Code:
# zipl -V
Using config file '/etc/zipl.conf'
Target device information
  Device..........................: 5e:08
  Partition.......................: 5e:09
  Device name.....................: dasdc
  Device driver name..............: dasd
  DASD device number..............: 0122
  Type............................: disk partition
  Disk layout.....................: ECKD/compatible disk layout
  Geometry - heads................: 15
  Geometry - sectors..............: 12
  Geometry - cylinders............: 10017
  Geometry - start................: 24
  File system block size..........: 4096
  Physical block size.............: 4096
  Device size in physical blocks..: 1803036
Building bootmap in '/boot/zipl'
Adding IPL section 'ipl' (default)
  kernel image......: /boot/kernel-2.6.27-gentoo-r10
  kernel parmline...: 'dasd=0122 root=/dev/dasd/0.0.0122/part1'
  component address:
    kernel image....: 0x00010000-0x006abfff
    parmline........: 0x00001000-0x00001fff
    internal loader.: 0x0000a000-0x0000afff
Preparing boot device: dasdc (0122).
Syncing disks...
Done.
#

so far, so good.
on "ipl 122" nothing happens except what i posted before.
do you have any idea what i could have done wrong?
please tell me if you need additional information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you want /dev/dasda1 in zipl.conf. I assume you formatted your disks with fdasd; chroot into your new system and use fdasd to check the partitions.

HTH
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, where exactly should i put /dev/dasda1 ?
i tried
Code:
[defaultboot]
        default=ipl

        [ipl]
        target=/boot/zipl
        image=/boot/kernel-2.6.27-gentoo-r10
        parameters="dasd=0122 root=/dev/dasda1"

and ran zipl again.
same result.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is my zipl.conf:
Code:

[defaultboot]
defaultmenu=menu1

[linux]
   target=/boot/
   image=/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.16-gentoo-r13
   parameters="dasd=0120 root=/dev/dasda1"

:menu1
        target      = /boot
        1           = linux
        default     = 1
        prompt      = 1
        timeout     = 5

Your target parameter looks dodgy.

HTH
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also you should be careful what disks you have defined. The kernel allocates the partitions sequentially, so if you have 0120, 0121, 0122 attached, unit 0122 will be /dev/dasdc.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey... how far off is system/370 from 390?

is there any linux that will run upon 370?
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 3:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

poly_poly-man wrote:
hey... how far off is system/370 from 390?
is there any linux that will run upon 370?

At its simplest, s370 was 32 bit and s390 is 64 bit but there are vast online resources that will explain it all. I suggest the linux-390 list to find out about retrofitting Linux to s370.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

binro wrote:
poly_poly-man wrote:
hey... how far off is system/370 from 390?
is there any linux that will run upon 370?

At its simplest, s370 was 32 bit and s390 is 64 bit but there are vast online resources that will explain it all. I suggest the linux-390 list to find out about retrofitting Linux to s370.

wasn't it actually 31 bit?

according to my problem... i came to the following thought:
if the parameters line is wrong for some reason, especially the "root=" parameter, the kernel _would_ actually start, but then would be unable to mount the root filesystem and panic.
but this isn't the case here. the kernel does not start at all.
binro, do you have any other ideas? i ran out of...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it was 31 bit! :lol:

The zipl command writes to the disk ("boot sector" on PCs) and if that is wrong you don't get to first base. So this is the place to check. Th old Vapier doco you refer to is very out of date. Also the guys on the Hercules list are a mine of information. That's where I go.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2395

PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the hercules website seems to be down. at least i can't reach it.
do you have a link to the mailing list web interface?

i tinkered with the zipl.conf of the centos installation and added an additional entry, gentoo, and copies the compiled gentoo kernel to the centos /boot.
i cannot get it to boot from this zipl.conf either. the result is similar to that of the gentoo zipl.
zipl writes the "boot sector", i am aware of this. but what can i have done wrong to not even let it show up?

the reason why the website is not available is a PSU failure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
binro
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 May 2005
Posts: 517
Location: Bangkok, Thailand

PostPosted: Thu Jul 02, 2009 4:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Hercules community is based around a Yahoo group:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/hercules-390/
where you can browse the archives.
_________________
"Ship me somewheres east of Suez, where the best is like the worst,
Where there ain't no Ten Commandments an' a man can raise a thirst"
from "Mandalay" by Rudyard Kipling
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum