A few general networking questions...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Xiol
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 4:54 pm    Post subject: A few general networking questions... Reply with quote

Hey, I'm about to setup a home network with two Linux machines, one for me and one for the family. I've got this idea in my head...

Code:

|-------> Xerxes (My machine)
Net ----- Router
              |-------> Shodan (Family machine)

Now I'm just wondering a few things.

• I'll probably want to use this router, because I don't wanna use a Linux box as the router, or spend too much on a router.
  • With that setup above, what problems will there be in sharing a net connection, or being able to have my machine communicate with my family machine? I'm pretty new to networking, so I'm sure this is possible, but if someone could just clear that up for me...
  • Currently I've only got my machine connected to the network, without any router or other computers. What would I have to do with my IP address setup? Would my IP still be what it is now, or would I have an internal IP and stuff would be forwarded to me over the router?

If you know of any good documents or posts you can point me to, it's much appreciated. I can't think of much else yet, unless you can point out any problems I might come across when trying to setup these machines.

They'll both be running Gentoo, though. ;)
slartibartfasz
Veteran
Veteran

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

u wont have problems in internal communication but you box will get an internal ip as u suspected. all LAN connections are going to be forwardes (NAT, masqerade) to the outer net.
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2003 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xiol,