Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Having Problems with my cdrom
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rain Designs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:16 pm    Post subject: Having Problems with my cdrom Reply with quote

I can't see whats in my cdrom in gentoo. I try cd /mnt/cdrom then dir and nothing is there, do I have to mount my cdrom? Any ideas?

Thanks

-Rain
_________________
^M = Death by notepad

http://www.raindesigns.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16105
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have an entry in /etc/fstab for your CDROM?
Code:
/dev/cdroms/cdrom0      /mnt/cdrom      iso9660         noauto,ro      0 0

_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If your fstab is set up correctly, you should be able to get to your CD by running "mount /mnt/cdrom". Also, most drives won't let you take the CD out until you "umount" it, so be aware of that.
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rain Designs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I do have that line in fstab, and I executed moun /mnt/cdrom and it worked! can I add this to one of my rc.d scripts so it executes this at boot? One other thing, if I do add this to one of my rc.d scripts, coudl I add umount /mnt/cdrom to a shutdown script, if such a thing excists?

thanks :)

-Rain
_________________
^M = Death by notepad

http://www.raindesigns.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naan Yaar
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 27 Jun 2002
Posts: 1549

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to change: noauto,ro to ro for this to happen. It also means that you have to have a CD in your drive when you boot, which would also mean that it should not be a bootable CD typically :)

Unmounting will happen when the system shuts down (kinda moot on read-only media anyway)

Rain Designs wrote:
I do have that line in fstab, and I executed moun /mnt/cdrom and it worked! can I add this to one of my rc.d scripts so it executes this at boot? One other thing, if I do add this to one of my rc.d scripts, coudl I add umount /mnt/cdrom to a shutdown script, if such a thing excists?

thanks :)

-Rain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16105
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 10:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Naan Yaar wrote:
... which would also mean that it should not be a bootable CD typically :)
Or just disable CD boot in the BIOS.

Rain Designs: Is this what you actually want do, or do you just want a CD to mount automatically upon insert?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rain Designs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2002 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well I don't wanna have to have a cd in the cdrom, I was thinking that I could just add

mount /mnt/cdrom

to a shell script that gets booted or something.

Thanks :)

-Rain
_________________
^M = Death by notepad

http://www.raindesigns.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, see, when you mount it the CD-ROM driver scans the CD to add to the filesystem. You can't change CDs while its mounted (hence the reason you can't eject unless you unmount), so there's no sense in leaving it mounted.
_________________
I don't believe in witty sigs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rac
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 30 May 2002
Posts: 6553
Location: Japanifornia

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rain Designs wrote:
well I don't wanna have to have a cd in the cdrom

Then there wouldn't be anything to mount. Instead of thinking of the CD-ROM drive as being mounted, think of the drive as simply an interface between the kernel and the medium. It is the actual CD medium that you are mounting and unmounting, and as such you will need a CD in the drive for mount to do anything useful.
_________________
For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rain Designs
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 130
Location: Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 10, 2002 1:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ohhhh I get it I get it, well I'll just manually mount the cdrom.

Thanks for the help!

-Rain
_________________
^M = Death by notepad

http://www.raindesigns.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum