internet configuration from the begining!!!! [sovled]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:12 pm    Post subject: internet configuration from the begining!!!! [sovled] Reply with quote

eth0 is not found at ifconfig.And when i am writing ifconfig eth0 it says : Error fetching interface information: Device not found. I haven't done any of the internet configuration and i dont know how.
When i am writing net-setup it says: Net-setup command not found.PLEASE help. I don't know anything.And i dont know anything about how to emerge packages,drivers ect and build them to kernel.i am new in gentoo.

Last edited by sk8harddiefast on Wed Feb 25, 2009 10:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Zucca

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does this print on your screen:
Code:
ifconfig -a
?
Quote:
I am NaN! I am a man!
sk8harddiefast
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eth0!!!!
Zucca

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And what does:
Code:
lspci | grep -i ethernet
?
Quote:
I am NaN! I am a man!
defenderBG
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eth0 is just a description name. and you can change the name at your desire, for example you can name your interface 300sparta300, if you want it...

be root when executing the following commands....
"ifconfig -a" will give you all your network devices, so if you need any help, please post the output 1:1. Tell us more about your current setup:
1. wireless/wired
2. what network card do you have (post the output of "lspci" if you are not sure)
3. what do you want to achieve (basic setup to connect to your router or maybe setup a vpn or to use ppp)