Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Emerge is broken !!!!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BoneKracker wrote:
... I assume that I need to install that exact version using portage, so that portage will then be able to un-install if after I upgrade...
That sounds reasonable.


Also there is a "-o PYVER" option for python-updater that may be handy in this case - not sure. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NaiL
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 13 Feb 2003
Posts: 228
Location: Spain/BCN

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the first time i have to reinstall gentoo... :/ i thought it will never happens to me :O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1611
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sometimes it's easier to reinstall than screw around with something. (As long as you have been doing installations recently.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1611
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, my problem (as I understand it) was that I emerge --depcleaned python 2.6 before running python-updater. This broke portage.

What I did was unzip a precompiled python (2.5.4), switch to that, and use it to emerge python 2.6 again.

Then I ran python updater (to 2.6), emerge --unmerged python-3.1, ran emerge --depclean, and revdep-rebuild, which got the system back into the same state of sanity it was in before I started.

:lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1611
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike Hunt wrote:
Nice. :)

Thanks for the suggestion on how to restore borked python.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Hunt
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 19 Jul 2009
Posts: 5287

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BoneKracker wrote:
Thanks for the suggestion on how to restore borked python.

You are very welcome. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bones McCracker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2006
Posts: 1611
Location: U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, after emerging python-3.1, I have the same original problem (although this time I'm not screwed, because I haven't removed 2.6 yet).

The problem is that after running eselect python set 2 (to update the /usr/bin/python script to refer to python-3.1), then basic portage commands fail with what looks to my uneducated eye like python code remediation problems.

The first thing I tried to do was run python-updater, which yielded:
Code:
typhoon ~ # python-updater
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
* Unable to proceed. Can not find PORTDIR. Make sure the command:

*   portageq portdir
* returns a value. If it doesn't, make sure you have updated to
* latest portage version.

* Report bugs to http://bugs.gentoo.org/


Code:
typhoon ~ # portageq portdir
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

Code:

typhoon ~ # revdep-rebuild
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
* Configuring search environment for revdep-rebuild
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
  File "/usr/bin/portageq", line 52
    print "ERROR: insufficient parameters!"
                                          ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
  File "<string>", line 1
    import os; import pwd; print pwd.getpwuid(os.getuid())[0]
                                   ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

* Checking reverse dependencies
* Packages containing binaries and libraries broken by a package update
* will be emerged.

* Collecting system binaries and libraries
* Generated new 1_files.rr
* Collecting complete LD_LIBRARY_PATH
* Generated new 2_ldpath.rr
* Checking dynamic linking consistency
[ 100% ]                 

* Dynamic linking on your system is consistent... All done.


Code:
typhoon ~ # emerge -pv portage
  File "/usr/bin/emerge", line 41
    except PermissionDenied, e:
                           ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax


So I'm guessing that some remediation is required before I can just switch over to portage-3.1. I have masked it for now. What did I do wrong? Is there a specific series of steps following the emerge of portage-3.1 that I should have followed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keenblade
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 1087

PostPosted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BoneKracker wrote:
...
So I'm guessing that some remediation is required before I can just switch over to portage-3.1. I have masked it for now. What did I do wrong? Is there a specific series of steps following the emerge of portage-3.1 that I should have followed?

You can't update portage to be compatible with python-3 without changing the portage code. But that's the job of portage developers. So you need to use python-2.x for the time for portage. python-updater can't update portage for python-3, yet.
_________________
Anyway it's all the same at the end...
Need help to get it working: "x-fi surround 5.1"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
likewhoa
l33t
l33t


Joined: 04 Oct 2006
Posts: 778
Location: Brooklyn, New York

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You guys could have saved yourself some trouble by using
Code:
eselect python list
look at which one was python-2.6 or earlier then run
Code:
eselect python set 1
for example to gain portage functionality back. Looks like python-3.1 needs more testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum