Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] Monitor Acer AL1916W+i810 problems with resolution
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Adebisi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Santiago (Chile)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 6:52 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] Monitor Acer AL1916W+i810 problems with resolution Reply with quote

Hi,
I've a monitor Acer AL1916W and an integrated graphics controller, and the problem is that I can use resolution 1440x900 but a box with text "Input not supported" is showed around the display. That resolution works fine in windows, and as I said, I can select that resolution in gnome but appear thats error. How can I solve that issue, I tried a lot of configs of xorg, changing Modeline, with the same result.

My lspci -v|grep VGA is:

Code:

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82Q963/Q965 Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
   Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device 2801
   Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
   Memory at f0400000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=1M]
   Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
   I/O ports at 1100 [size=8]
   Capabilities: <access denied>


and my xorg.conf is:

Code:

Section "Module"
    Load        "dbe"   # Double buffer extension
    SubSection  "extmod"
      Option    "omit xfree86-dga"   # don't initialise the DGA extension
    EndSubSection
    Load        "freetype"
    Load       "glx"
    Load       "dri"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath   "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbRules"   "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel"   "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout"  "es"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Mouse1"
    Driver      "mouse"
    Option "Protocol"    "IMPS/2"       # IntelliMouse PS/2
    Option "Device"      "/dev/psaux"
    Option "ZAxisMapping"   "4 5 6 7"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "My Monitor"
    Option      "DPMS"
    HorizSync   30-100
    VertRefresh 50-160
#    Modeline "1440x900" 136.75   1440 1536 1688 1936   900 903 909 942  -hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier  "Intel 810"
    Driver      "i810"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "Intel 810"
    Monitor     "My Monitor"
    Option      "MonitorLayout" "LCD"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Simple Layout"
    Screen "Screen 1"
    InputDevice "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "DRI"
   Mode 0666
EndSection


Thanks in advance.[/code]


Last edited by Adebisi on Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kite14
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 216
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue Jan 20, 2009 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had to tweak my xorg.conf with the right modeline to get this monitor work at the right resolution; this is my "section monitor":
Code:
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "AL1916W"
    VendorName     "Acer"
    ModelName      "Acer AL1916W"
    DisplaySize     408    255
    HorizSync       30.0 - 82.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 76.0
    ModeLine       "1440x900" 106.5 1440 1520 1672 1904 900 903 909 934 -hsync +vsync
    Option         "DPMS"
    Option         "UseEDID" "false"
EndSection


Value for the modeline entry comes from the panel user manual and the "getedid" tool. See also this thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adebisi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Santiago (Chile)

PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I tried your ModeLine suggestion in my xorg.conf, but the problem didn't solve.
I installed the read-edid package but the command get-edid don't come with it, It only installed the command parse-edid.

I want to explain that gnome show me the option 1440x900@75 and 1440x900@60 in the "Screen Resolution" menu, I can see very good the resolution, the only problem is the box with text "Input not supported" that is floating around the screen, this is with 75Hz, when I select 1440x900 at 60Hz, the resolution is not good and the desktop is displayed off the screen.

I tried with a Ubuntu Live CD and the resolution was displayed fine, at 1440x900@75.

Thanks in advance for any help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kite14
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 216
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 22, 2009 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Adebisi wrote:
I installed the read-edid package but the command get-edid don't come with it, It only installed the command parse-edid.


This is wierd: :?
Code:
kite14@gentoobox ~ $ equery files read-edid
[ Searching for packages matching read-edid... ]
* Contents of x11-misc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1:
/usr
/usr/sbin
/usr/sbin/get-edid
/usr/sbin/parse-edid
/usr/share
/usr/share/doc
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/AUTHORS.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/ChangeLog.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/LRMI.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/NEWS.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/README.bz2
/usr/share/man
/usr/share/man/man1
/usr/share/man/man1/get-edid.1.bz2
/usr/share/man/man1/parse-edid.1.bz2


Adebisi wrote:
I want to explain that gnome show me the option 1440x900@75 and 1440x900@60 in the "Screen Resolution" menu, I can see very good the resolution, the only problem is the box with text "Input not supported" that is floating around the screen, this is with 75Hz, when I select 1440x900 at 60Hz, the resolution is not good and the desktop is displayed off the screen.


My panel works only at 60Hz, NO other option are available, not even under WindowsXP.

Adebisi wrote:
I tried with a Ubuntu Live CD and the resolution was displayed fine, at 1440x900@75.


At this point, I would try to use the xorg.conf used with the live CD and check the VGA driver used by Ubuntu
Code:
 # lspci -k


:idea: The monitor comes with an "auto adjust" button (should be the first from the left): using the 1440x900@60Hz setting, push this button and see if the desktop is centered and color/quality is adjusted; it worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adebisi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Santiago (Chile)

PostPosted: Fri Jan 23, 2009 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help kite.

The output of equery:

Code:

rruiz@easy # equery files read-edid
[ Searching for packages matching read-edid... ]
* Contents of x11-misc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1:
/usr
/usr/sbin
/usr/sbin/parse-edid
/usr/share
/usr/share/doc
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/AUTHORS.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/ChangeLog.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/LRMI.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/NEWS.bz2
/usr/share/doc/read-edid-1.4.1-r1/README.bz2
/usr/share/man
/usr/share/man/man1
/usr/share/man/man1/get-edid.1.bz2
/usr/share/man/man1/parse-edid.1.bz2


Quote:
At this point, I would try to use the xorg.conf used with the live CD and check the VGA driver used by Ubuntu


OK, I take a look of xorg.conf when I use the Ubuntu Live CD, but is incomplete, I think that is not the complete configuration on xorg.conf of Ubuntu Live CD at least. About the VGA driver, Ubuntu load the same driver that I am using on Gentoo.

Quote:

The monitor comes with an "auto adjust" button (should be the first from the left): using the 1440x900@60Hz setting, push this button and see if the desktop is centered and color/quality is adjusted; it worked for me.


I try to use that button too, I tried all modes (User,Text,Movie,...,etc.) without any good result.

Right now I'm using resolution of 1280x1024 but the resolution is not good, al images are enlarged and the text is blur.

Thanks again for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
punkid
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 215
Location: offline

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Adebisi,

I use the same monitor but with a Nvidia 6600LE graphic card. Here is my xorg.conf file, which works pretty fine with 1440x900 resolution on my box.

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/zh_CN/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/others/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "wfb"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "record"
   #Load  "GLcore"
   Load  "dbe"
   #Load  "dri"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
   Option      "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
   Option      "Buttons"     "5"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
   Option       "AllowEmptyInput" "false"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
   DisplaySize  411 263
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "NV43 [GeForce 6600 LE]"
   BusID       "PCI:1:0:0"
   Option      "NoLogo"      "true"
   Option      "RenderAccel" "true"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
    Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth     24
   Option      "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"

   SubSection "Display"
      viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
       Modes     "1440x900"
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
      Modes     "1440x900"
   EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
   Option "Composite" "Enable"
EndSection

_________________
My Blog | Latest Screenshot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hjhee
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Location: Canton, PRC

PostPosted: Sat Jan 24, 2009 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This may help you, I am using AL1916W too(works with GMA950)
Code:

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "ACR"
   ModelName    "Acer AL1916W"
   HorizSync    30-82
   VertRefresh  58-61
   Modeline     "1440x900_60.00"   106.47   1440   1520   1672   1904   900   901   904   932   -HSync   +Vsync
   Option        "PreferredMode" "1440x900"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   defaultdepth    24
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
      Modes "1440x900"
   EndSubSection
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adebisi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Santiago (Chile)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 2:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, thanks for all your help, but I can't do that the monitor work in 1440x900(60 or 75)
With 60 the desktop go out of screen (I can't see the bottom panel), with 75 resolution is great, but with a float box telling me that the frequencies aren't supported.
With resolution of 1280x1024 all is blur.

Is strange because with windows and Ubuntu LiveCD I can use 1440x900.

Right now I'm tired to probe modelines, read the manual of monitor, etc.

Thanks for all, I think that I will change my Gentoo for Ubuntu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kite14
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Nov 2006
Posts: 216
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, one more thing.

After reading your last post, I suspect that the resolution is set to 1440x1024 (the output of "xdpyinfo" should help).
Code:
~ $ xdpyinfo | grep dimensions
dimensions:    1024x768 pixels (289x217 millimeters)

I had a similar problem using KDE (v. 3.5.9) and using different resolutions in xorg.conf, just like you did:
Quote:
Code:
Section "Screen"
    Identifier  "Screen 1"
    Device      "Intel 810"
    Monitor     "My Monitor"
    Option      "MonitorLayout" "LCD"
    DefaultDepth 24

    Subsection "Display"
        Depth       24
        Modes       "1440x900" "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600" "640x480"
        ViewPort    0 0
    EndSubsection
EndSection


I solved this issue removing all resolutions but "1440x900" in "Subsection Display".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adebisi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Santiago (Chile)

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 5:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have only resolution "1440x900" in xorg.conf since some days ago.

Now, I use xvidtune in Ubuntu Live CD and get the right values for ModeLine, and now the resolution 1440x900 at 60Hz is working, BUT, all is more biggest.

Screen Shot

How can I solve this issue now?

This is my xorg.conf right now:

Code:
Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier     "Simple Layout"
        Screen         "Screen 1" 0 0
        InputDevice    "Mouse1" "CorePointer"
        InputDevice    "Keyboard1" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
        FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
        Load  "dbe"   # Double buffer extension
        Load  "extmod"
        Load  "freetype"
        Load  "glx"
        Load  "dri"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Keyboard1"
        Driver      "kbd"
        Option      "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
        Option      "XkbRules" "xorg"
        Option      "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option      "XkbLayout" "latam"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse1"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "ImPS/2"       # IntelliMouse PS/2
        Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier   "My Monitor"
        VendorName   "Acer"
        ModelName    "Acer AL1916W"
        Option       "DPMS"
        Option       "DDC" "false"
        DisplaySize  408 255
        HorizSync    30.0 - 83.0
        VertRefresh  55.0 - 75.0
        ModeLine     "1440x900" 106.5 1440 1520 1672 1904  900 903 909 934 -hsync +vsync
        ModeLine     "1440x900" 136.49 1440 1536 1688 1936  900 901 904 940 -hsync +vsync
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "Intel 810"
        Driver      "intel"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier "Screen 1"
        Device     "Intel 810"
        Monitor    "My Monitor"
        DefaultDepth     24

        SubSection "Display"
                Depth     24
                Modes    "1440x900"
                ViewPort 0 0
        EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "DRI"
        Mode         0666
EndSection


Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Adebisi
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jul 2005
Posts: 28
Location: Santiago (Chile)

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I solved last problem changing DPI value in the control-center of gnome.

I tried to set DPI in xorg.conf using 'Option "DPI" "96x96"' but xorg didn't take that value and log file showed me "(WW) intel(0): Option "DPI" is not used".

Finally, I solved the issue changing ModeLine in xorg.conf, I got the right values for ModeLine using xdpyinfo on Ubuntu Linux LiveCD.

Thanks to all for your help!.

Bye.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum