Gentoo PPC General Questions
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on PPC
View previous topic :: View next topic  
kcsduke
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2002 10:32 pm    Post subject: Gentoo PPC General Questions Reply with quote

I'm considering buying a used ibook (G3 ~500MHz, 256MB) or powerbook (G4 ~500MHz, 256MB), and I'm curious what sort of performance to expect. I've been using linux for about 2 years, but only on intel systems (my computer is desktop P3 450, but I've used others too). My understanding is that processor speed is not an accurate way of comparing the intel vs. motorola effective speed. How fast do the apple laptops "feel" (perhaps compared to an intel system) running gentoo?

Are there any major downsides/upsides to running the ppc version of gentoo rather than the intel version?

Anyone have any major problems with Apple Laptops? They seem like really solid (and attractive) machines, but like I said, I don't have a great deal of experience with them.

Thanks a lot!
~Kyle
brady
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2002 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have an ibook2.

1. the stability of the hardware is excellent.
2. the stability of the os (linux) is also excellent (but you need a benh kernel. the gentoo-ppc kernel is not so good in my experience).
3. hardware compatibility is a non-issue. everything on my ibook is supported. i have dvd/cd-rw ``combo drive'' and i have both working perfectly - and i just watched akira last night (what a great flick). devices i hae working:
--pmu (power managment unit) works excellent. i have all major features working except hibernate.
[url]
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=7252
[/url]
--dvd/cd-rw
--usb mouse, keyboard, zip drive, and a comapct-flash camera (to mount the cf device).
--ethernet (cat 5)
--ethernet (wirless airport card)
--the brightness, volume, and eject buttons