Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
alpha system boot problem...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 4:34 pm    Post subject: alpha system boot problem... Reply with quote

I just did an install from stage1 on my alpha... and configured the kernel as best I could (this is my first alpha system) - it's a digital personal workstation 600a (miata).

Anyway, my kernel boots up pretty for, and then something like this happens (copying by hand because my desktop system doesn't have a serial port for console):

Code:
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
CY82C693: IDE controller (0x1080:0xc693 rev 0x00) at  PCI slot 0000:00:07.1
CY82C693: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
CY82C693U driver v0.34 99-13-12 Andreas S. Krebs (akrebs@altavista.net)
pci 0000:00:07.2: enabling device (0045 -> 0047)
   ide0: BM-DMA at 0x9080-0x9087
   ide1: BM-DMA at 0x9088-0x908f
hda: TOSHIBA CD-ROM XM-6302B, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hda: MWDMA2 mode selected
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 7
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
ide_generic: please use "probe_mask=0x3f" modules parameter for probing all legacy ISA IDE ports
ide_generic: I/O resource 0x1F0-0x1F7 not free.
ide_generic: I/O resource 0x170-0x177 not free.
ide-cd: cmd 0x5a timed out
hda: lost interrupt
ide-cd: cmd 0x5a timed out
hda: lost interrupt
ide-cd: cmd 0x5a timed out
hda: lost interrupt
HDA: ATAPI 32X CD-rom drive, 256kB Cache
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.20
hda: lost interrupt
hda: lost interrupt

That last line repeats slowly for a while (about one every several seconds), and occasionally my disk access light will go solid-on. It never gets past this point.

I'll upload my .config later if you need...

Keeping in mind I'm only using IDE for my cd-rom driver right now (my hard drive is on the SCSI), is there a quick-fix or so for this?

EDIT: as to keep this in unanswered posts as long as possible, I'll edit until someone replies... http://omploader.org/vMTJuZg is my .config.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klausman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This looks like a hardware problem to me. My XP1000 has the very same Cypress controller amd it always worked ok (as good as an ISA IDE controller will get). You might try using a different cable ora different cdr drive to see if the problem goes away. I doubt it's a software problem; what kernel version are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klausman wrote:
This looks like a hardware problem to me. My XP1000 has the very same Cypress controller amd it always worked ok (as good as an ISA IDE controller will get). You might try using a different cable ora different cdr drive to see if the problem goes away. I doubt it's a software problem; what kernel version are you using?
The funny thing is, the livecd booted perfectly...

whatever the stable kernel is... I think .26-gentoo-r2
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klausman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

poly_poly-man wrote:
The funny thing is, the livecd booted perfectly...
whatever the stable kernel is... I think .26-gentoo-r2


Hm. Whatever the real cause is, I'd first try to eliminate hardware as the culprit. IDE CDR drives should be easy to come by (especially when just doing a quick test).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

klausman wrote:
poly_poly-man wrote:
The funny thing is, the livecd booted perfectly...
whatever the stable kernel is... I think .26-gentoo-r2


Hm. Whatever the real cause is, I'd first try to eliminate hardware as the culprit. IDE CDR drives should be easy to come by (especially when just doing a quick test).
got wayy too many of those lying around :P

I don't think it's going to help, though, because #1: I'm not using the cd when it happens, #2, the livecd boots perfectly with the same drivers, and #3, the errors seem to indicate controller problems rather than drive problems.

I'll give it a try, and I'll also give a try to rebuilding using the livecd's config.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
klausman
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 10
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

poly_poly-man wrote:
I don't think it's going to help, though, because #1: I'm not using the cd when it happens, #2, the livecd boots perfectly with the same drivers, and #3, the errors seem to indicate controller problems rather than drive problems.

I'll give it a try, and I'll also give a try to rebuilding using the livecd's config.


Before you do that, make sure your SRM is up-to-date. You have to face the possibility that the baseboard has sustained some sort of hardware damage.

Also, not using the drive does not mean the OS and the controller and drive don't talk to each other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my SRM is as up-to-date as it can be, I believe (haven't found a newer version)..

This is weird... totally unplugged the IDE cable, and it boots just fine. You were right, but it still doesn't explain why the livecd worked...

well, it boots but my keyboard doesn't work, at least (don't know if it's frozen..)

I hope that time I shorted out the fan inside the big mother<->daughterboard connector doesn't affect anything...
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to the Wikipedia article, there are two revisions of the Digital Personal Workstation. The latter used a different ATA controller.

You can easily tell if your PWS is first or second version, as the second version has USB ports while the first doesn't.

I wonder if this is a problem with the first version.

Also, good to have another Alpha user :)

You should join us on IRC in the #alpha and #gentoo-alpha IRC channels on irc.freenode.net. I'm mattst88 and klausman is Blackb|rd on IRC. Hope to see you there.
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And one more thing, please double check that you have the latest SRM [*], version 7.2-1.

[*] http://h18002.www1.hp.com/alphaserver/firmware/readmes/digitalpw.html
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apparently, I have a second revision - USB ports for me.

I couldn't remember the version off-hand initially, but yep, that's the version I'm running.

I've already deduced that it both has to be a hardware problem (by the fact that it (mostly) works with the cable unplugged), and that it can't be a hardware problem (by the fact that the livecd boots perfectly..)

I'm doing a little more digging around in there... then I don't know what to do :?
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

okay, so booting without the cable in still doesn't take input, but it doesn't take input at all, so it seems to be a keyboard driver issue...

...oddly enough, serial console booting doesn't work right (kernel finishes, init never gets anywhere), so can't test that out.

Time to sleep anyway.... I'll hack more at it tomorrow.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 5:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll quote a very helpful person in a thread I started about configuring my old HPPA box.

I think this is probably the fix you need for your serial console to work.

HPRichard wrote:

Code:
Starting local ...               [ ok ]

is the last message during startup. If you do not recieve a login prompt, check whether your /etc/inittab has a getty entry for the serial port you are connected to, like these
Code:

s0:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS0 vt100
s1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS1 vt100

_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

serial console was not working at all...


I just re-compiled the kernel using the livecd's .config (from /proc/config.gz)... used oldconfig and defaults for the things it asked, and my kernel boots fine, even with the IDE cable attached (and even lets me use the keyboard).

So....... WTF?

Would someone mind looking at my .config, because I am genuinely confused.
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now try to remove all the features you don't want.

Sometimes there's magic involved, and it's best not to mess with it if it's working properly.
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, I made two config files - one that works and one that doesn't. The only difference: the one that works has "generic" selected for the system. The one that doesn't has "miata" selected.


I can guarantee that this is a miata system - it even says miata on the motherboard.

What is causing this PITA?
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NormalBoy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ever find a resolution to this issue? I too have a Miata (500au) and have been unable to boot a new 2.6.30-gentoo-r6 kernel due to these 'lost interrupt' errors. However, I have a 2.6.27-gentoo-r8 kernel that runs perfectly. Even using the same config, the .30 kernel won't boot.

Dumping the IDE drive isn't an option, as I need an IDE drive to boot off of as SRM doesn't recognize my PCI-X LSI Fusion-MPT SCSI controller :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mattst88
Developer
Developer


Joined: 28 Oct 2004
Posts: 362

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 1:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NormalBoy wrote:
Ever find a resolution to this issue? I too have a Miata (500au) and have been unable to boot a new 2.6.30-gentoo-r6 kernel due to these 'lost interrupt' errors. However, I have a 2.6.27-gentoo-r8 kernel that runs perfectly. Even using the same config, the .30 kernel won't boot.

Dumping the IDE drive isn't an option, as I need an IDE drive to boot off of as SRM doesn't recognize my PCI-X LSI Fusion-MPT SCSI controller :D


Try changing to the 'generic' system setting instead of 'miata'.
_________________
My 1U Dual 833 MHz Alphaserver DS20L
The AlphaLinux.org Wiki
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NormalBoy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 4
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any particular reason for the change from specifying the correct machine type?

I tried out a 2.6.29-gentoo-r6 kernel and it boots fine. It also seems to have resolved my "unable to handle kernel paging request at virtual address" errors as well. Since this kernel has ext4 support, is there any advantage to moving to 2.6.30?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum