Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Best upgrade method to Xserver1.5 with Hal and evdev
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 5:00 pm    Post subject: Best upgrade method to Xserver1.5 with Hal and evdev Reply with quote

Hi, I would like to know what config file should I modify to have a working X server 1.5 with a fr_CA keyboard.

I read a lot of threads about theses 2 :

Code:

/etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-keymap.fdi


Code:

/etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-x11-input.fdi


I know that I need to remove my input section inside /etc/X11/xorg.conf because I have enabled the HAL use.

So what is the main difference between these 2 ?

The first thing that you need to have is the hal Use Flag inside your /etc/make.conf and make sure that you have this also :

Code:

INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"

_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec


Last edited by d2_racing on Sat Jan 03, 2009 2:47 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2550
Location: In the city of dreaming spires

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Apart from the name there isn't really a difference, any HAL config option can go in any of the policy files. The leading numbers determine the evaluation order I guess.

Last edited by Voltago on Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok thanks for the info.

But is there any info about what will be the standard config file for that ?
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltago
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2003
Posts: 2550
Location: In the city of dreaming spires

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Up to the distributor, really. You should ask our staunch xorg folks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I will check that on IRC :P
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fsteinel
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

latest sys-apps/hal-0.5.11-r1 uses /etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-x11-input.fdi .
For fr_CA add
Code:
<merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">ca(fr)</merge>

extracted from http://ajax.fedorapeople.org/fedora-setup-keyboard.c
:)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 3:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I have the solution : http://sources.gentoo.org/viewcvs.py/gentoo-x86/sys-apps/hal/hal-0.5.11-r1.ebuild?rev=1.15&view=markup

It's really this file : /etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-x11-input.fdi
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 4:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So my file will be like this :

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
<device>
    <!-- Mouse configuration -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.mouse">
      <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
    </match>

    <!-- Keyboard configuration -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keymap">
      <append key="info.callouts.add" type="strlist">hal-setup-keymap</append>
    </match>
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
      <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">ca</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.variant" type="string">fr</merge>
      <append key="input.xkb.options" type="strlist">compose:menu</append>
    </match>
  </device>
</deviceinfo>

_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec


Last edited by d2_racing on Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:20 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dweezil-n0xad
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Oct 2006
Posts: 73
Location: Ostend, Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

d2_racing wrote:
But is there any info about what will be the standard config file for that ?
look at /usr/share/hal/fdi/policy/10osvendor/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 31, 2008 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So basically, here what you need to do when you will upgrade to the version 1.5 or if you are using nowadays with the ~arch branch.

First, your make.conf should have the hal Use Flag.

If you use the desktop profile, then you have already this Use Flag.

Also, you need to have at least this also :
Code:

INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"


The evdev is pretty important, because the new hal config works with evdev.

Make sure that you have this inside your kernel :
Code:

Device Drivers
       ->Input device support
               ->Event interface

Second, don't touch your /etc/X11/xorg.conf, because there a script that will automagically tweak the hal policy for you for each and every input device that you have inside your xorg.conf.

After that, you should update your box.

Code:

# emerge -auDNv world
# rc-update add hald default


Finally, you should check this file to see if everything is fine : /etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-x11-input.fdi

If everything is fine, then you should remove the input device for your keyboard and mouse inside the /etc/X11/xorg.conf


Code:

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder58)  Wed Oct  1 15:12:53 PDT 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Unknown"
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Device0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec


Last edited by d2_racing on Mon Jan 12, 2009 6:18 pm; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gionnico
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 29 Jun 2007
Posts: 192
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also got a synaptics touch pad. What about it?

I know that it was the only thing that worked without evdev.
So, will it work WITH evdev (I mean without the synaptics configuration inside xorg.conf)?

And how should the hal policy look like?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hwoarang
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 701
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I do is to add under ServerFlags Section on xorg.conf the following

Code:
Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"


After that, X inputs works fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VoidMage
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 14 Oct 2006
Posts: 5574

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 4:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hwoarang wrote:
What I do is to add under ServerFlags Section on xorg.conf the following

Code:
Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"


After that, X inputs works fine


So let's just duck and cover and hope we'll manage to survive.

Well, really.... :roll:

Once again, my fdi file:
Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
  <device>
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
          <merge key="input.x11_options.XkbRules" type="string">evdev</merge>
          <merge key="input.x11_options.XkbModel" type="string">evdev</merge>
          <merge key="input.x11_options.XkbLayout" type="string">pl</merge>
          <merge key="input.x11_options.XkbOptions" type="string">altwin:menu</merge>
    </match>
  </device>
</deviceinfo>


Comments:
1. with xorg-server 1.4.2, info.callouts.add line was needed as a hack to get things working.
IIRC, since 1.5.0 (and definitely with 1.5.3) it's not needed anymore,
unless you want it for something non-trivial
2. input.x11_options.* style was introduced in 1.5.0, IIRC and according to server sources,
input.x11_options.XkbOptions (formerly input.xkb.options) can be simply a string now
3. as for touchpad, I don't have one, but IIRC, the capability you should match against is
'input.touchpad', options with style input.x11_options.* (option names same as in xorg.conf)
- if in doubt google it, this should be somewhere among first hits
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 01, 2009 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For synaptic, you can use this file :

Code:

# cat /etc/hal/fdi/policy/11-x11-synaptics.fdi:


Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="ISO-8859-1"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
  <device>
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.touchpad">
      <match key="info.product" contains="Synaptics TouchPad">
        <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">synaptics</merge>
   <merge key="input.x11_options.SHMConfig" type="string">on</merge>
   <!-- Tapping -->
        <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton1" type="string">1</merge>
        <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton2" type="string">2</merge>
        <merge key="input.x11_options.TapButton3" type="string">3</merge>
   <!-- Scrolling up/down -->
        <merge key="input.x11_options.VertEdgeScroll" type="string">1</merge>
        <merge key="input.x11_options.HorizEdgeScroll" type="string">1</merge>
        <!-- Corner clicks -->
        <merge key="input.x11_options.RBCornerButton" type="string">2</merge>
        <merge key="input.x11_options.RTCornerButton" type="string">3</merge>
      </match>
    </match>
  </device>
</deviceinfo>

_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goshanecr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2009 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please help me! I don't understand what must i do for keymap switch work with new xorg-server
I want us and ru keymaps, and it switches CTRL+SHIFT. I'm remove input section from xorg.conf, copy 10-keymap.fdi and 10-x11-input.fdi from /usr/...../ to /etc/hal/..../ and i don't know what to edit in these files for keyboard switch works. Maybe i'm something not understand on english.. can someone tell me what i need to add in these files?
_________________
My computer: Athlon 4800 X2, 2Gb DDR2, 400Gb SATA HDD, Radeon 2600XT 256Mb
My browser: Opera and only Opera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know how to have 2 layouts keyboard on the same box...
_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goshanecr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok.... i'm not good write on english...
before update to xorg 1.5.x i have english language and on press CTRL+SHIFT i have russian language. After upgrade i have only Russian language.
In xorg.conf (for xorg<1.5.x) it setup with these lines:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier  "Keyboard1"
    Driver      "kbd"
    Option "AutoRepeat" "500 30"
    Option "XkbRules"   "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel"   "pc104"
    Option "XkbLayout"  "us,ru(winkeys)"
    Option "XkbOptions" "grp:ctrl_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll,caps:internal_nocancel"
EndSection

How i can setup this piece of config in fdi file?
_________________
My computer: Athlon 4800 X2, 2Gb DDR2, 400Gb SATA HDD, Radeon 2600XT 256Mb
My browser: Opera and only Opera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13046
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, can you try this version

Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
<device>
    <!-- Mouse configuration -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.mouse">
      <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
    </match>

    <!-- Keyboard configuration -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keymap">
      <append key="info.callouts.add" type="strlist">hal-setup-keymap</append>
    </match>
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
      <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">us,ru</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.variant" type="string"></merge>
      <append key="input.xkb.options" type="strlist">grp:ctrl_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll,caps:internal_nocancel</append>
    </match>
  </device>
</deviceinfo>

_________________
Sysadmin of GentooQuébec.org
Wiki
Signature
IRC on Freenode : #gentoo-quebec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goshanecr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This not help :( I have only english language... :(
1. my /etc/make.conf have line INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse evdev"
2. my xorg.conf have commented all sections InputDevice (for keyboard and mouse)
3. my /etc/make.conf have USE="hal" and hald service starts normal
4. i have file /etc/hald/...../10-keymap.fdi with such contents:
Code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
<device>
    <!-- Mouse configuration -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.mouse">
      <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
    </match>

    <!-- Keyboard configuration -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keymap">
      <append key="info.callouts.add" type="strlist">hal-setup-keymap</append>
    </match>
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
      <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">us,ru</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.variant" type="string"></merge>
      <append key="input.xkb.options" type="strlist">grp:ctrl_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll,caps:internal_nocancel</append>
    </match>
  </device>
</deviceinfo>

Is this enough?
_________________
My computer: Athlon 4800 X2, 2Gb DDR2, 400Gb SATA HDD, Radeon 2600XT 256Mb
My browser: Opera and only Opera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DaggyStyle
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Mar 2006
Posts: 4926

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

lets try this and see if it is working:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">
   <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
       <match key="info.product" contains="keyboard">
           <merge key="input.xkb.rules" type="string">xorg</merge>
           <!-- Option "XkbModel" "pc105" -->
           <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
           <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">us,ru</merge>
           <merge key="input.xkb.options" type="string">grp:alt_shift_toggle</merge>
       </match>
   </match>
</deviceinfo>


if it does, then start playing with it.
_________________
Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity and I'm not sure about the former - Albert Einstein
ProjectFootball
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goshanecr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No :( This is not help.. Please can you tell me all steps which must be done to layout switch works?
And in what file i must insert configs gived by you, 10-keymap.fdi or 10-x11-...fdi?
Maybe needs some log? But i don't know where hal stores his log...
_________________
My computer: Athlon 4800 X2, 2Gb DDR2, 400Gb SATA HDD, Radeon 2600XT 256Mb
My browser: Opera and only Opera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am getting problems here too

my hw:
laptop : asus M51VR with USB logitech mouse and keyboard (classic without any multimedia buttons) and synaptics touchpad

I am running
xorg-server 1.5.3
hal 0.5.11-r6

here is my fdi file
Code:
cat /etc/hal/fdi/policy/10-x11-input.fdi
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<deviceinfo version="0.2">

    <!-- kalvesnica -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
      <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">gb,sk</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.options" type="string">grp:alt_shift_toggle</merge>
      <append key="input.xkb.options" type="strlist">grp_led:scroll</append>
    </match>

    <!-- mys -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.mouse">
        <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
    </match>

    <!-- touchpad -->
    <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.touchpad">
        <match key="info.product" contains="SynPS/2">
          <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">synaptics</merge>
          <merge key="input.x11_options.SHMConfig" type="string">true</merge>
        </match>
    </match>

</deviceinfo>


problems:
a)
when my gnome session is starting I am getting popUp window with error message about keyboard configuration. I think that gnome is not ready for new xorg + hal. Do you have any idea ?
b)
I want to use two layouts GB and SK, I am using gnome keyboard indicator on panel, during ALT+SHIFT I can see GBR , SVK and unknown "?" character on it. what is that mean ?
c)
I want to use "qwerty" for SK layout, default is qwertz.
I old xorg.conf I did use
Code:
Option "xkbVariant" ",qwerty"

how to do that in fdi ?
d)
looking into X log file I can see this:
Code:
II) config/hal: Adding input device Video Bus
(**) Video Bus: always reports core events
(**) Video Bus: Device: "/dev/input/event5"
(II) Video Bus: Found keys
(II) Video Bus: Configuring as keyboard
(II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "Video Bus" (type: KEYBOARD)
(**) Option "xkb_rules" "evdev"
(**) Video Bus: xkb_rules: "evdev"
(**) Option "xkb_model" "evdev"
(**) Video Bus: xkb_model: "evdev"
(**) Option "xkb_layout" "gb,sk"
(**) Video Bus: xkb_layout: "gb,sk"
(**) Option "xkb_options" "grp:alt_shift_toggle"
(**) Video Bus: xkb_options: "grp:alt_shift_toggle"

what that means? video bus as input keyboard???

thanks for any tip
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goshanecr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 17 Aug 2005
Posts: 116
Location: Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is my X output when AutoAddDevices "False":
Code:
(EE) No Input driver matching `mouse'
(**) Option "CoreKeyboard"
(**) <default keyboard>: always reports core events
(**) Option "Protocol" "standard"
--
(II) evaluating device (<default keyboard>)
(II) XINPUT: Adding extended input device "<default keyboard>" (type: KEYBOARD)
(II) config/hal: Adding input device Genius       Optical Mouse
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed
(II) config/hal: Adding input device AT Translated Set 2 keyboard
(EE) config/hal: NewInputDeviceRequest failed


and my 10-x11-input.fdi
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
   <deviceinfo version="0.2">
      <device>
      <!-- Mouse configuration -->
         <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.mouse">
            <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
         </match>

      <!-- Keyboard configuration -->
         <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keymap">
            <append key="info.callouts.add" type="strlist">hal-setup-keymap</append>
         </match>
         <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keys">
            <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
            <merge key="input.x11_driver" type="string">evdev</merge>
            <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">us,ru</merge>
            <merge key="input.xkb.variant" type="string"></merge>
            <append key="input.xkb.options" type="strlist">grp:ctrl_shift_toggle,grp_led:scroll,caps:internal_nocancel</append>
         </match>
      </device>
   </deviceinfo>

_________________
My computer: Athlon 4800 X2, 2Gb DDR2, 400Gb SATA HDD, Radeon 2600XT 256Mb
My browser: Opera and only Opera
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jancici
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Jan 2004
Posts: 284
Location: Slovakia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is part of my xorg.conf
Code:
Section "ServerFlags"
     Option "AllowEmptyInput" "true"
     Option "AutoAddDevices" "true"
     Option "AutoEnableDevices" "true"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier  "Main Layout"
    Screen      "screen_jedna"
    Option      "OffTime" "20"
EndSection


I did remove all InputSection and InputDevice lines from serverLayout section

I did find a solution for point c) and also did add option which is turning scroll LED when different layout is schoose
here is new keyboard part of fdi
Code:
 <match key="info.capabilities" contains="input.keyboard">
      <merge key="input.xkb.model" type="string">evdev</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.layout" type="string">gb,sk</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.variant" type="string">,qwerty</merge>
      <merge key="input.xkb.options" type="string">grp:alt_shift_toggle, grp_led:scroll</merge>
</match>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
APolozov
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Sep 2006
Posts: 123
Location: Voronezh, Russia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2009 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My way step by step :-)
1. Enable CONFIG_INPUT_EVDEV=m and rebuild kernel and reboot
2. Set INPUT_DEVICES="evdev" (without mouse and keboard) and USE="hal"
3. emerge -uND world and emerge --depclean :twisted:
4. Remove input section in xorg.conf and add to Section "ServerFlags"
Option "AutoAddDevices" "on"
Option "AutoEnableDevices" "on"
Option "AllowEmptyInput" "on"
5. Copy 10-x11-input.fdi with this tred :)
6. Restart hald and xdm daemons
7. Tune 10-x11-input.fdi and return to :)
8. End
_________________
Excuse my bad English, I only study it.

I also connected to: velo36.ru openstreetmap.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 1 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum