Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
removing KDE 4
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 1:48 pm    Post subject: removing KDE 4 Reply with quote

hi,

I was wondering which packages I should remove to get completely rid of KDE 4 (I don't use it and I don't like bloat). I emerged =kde-meta-4.1.2, but I can't emerge -C =kde-meta-4.12., because uhm... well emerge tells me that I don't actually _have_ the package after all. also if I do emerge =kde-meta-4.1.2, it says
Code:

[ebuild  N    ] x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2  USE="qt3support ssl -debug -doc -glib -pch"
[ebuild  N    ] app-crypt/qca-ossl-2.0.0_beta3  USE="-debug"
[ebuild   R   ] kde-base/kdelibs-4.1.2-r1  USE="kdeprefix*"
[ebuild   R   ] kde-base/kdepimlibs-4.1.2  USE="kdeprefix*"
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kopete-4.1.2 [3.5.9] USE="addbookmarks alias autoreplace contactnotes highlight history jabber kdeprefix msn nowlistening oscar otr pipes privacy ssl statistics texteffect translator urlpicpreview webpresence -debug -gadu -groupwise -htmlhandbook -latext -messenger -qq -sms -testbed -winpopup -yahoo"
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kdenetwork-meta-4.1.2 [3.5.9]
[ebuild  NS   ] kde-base/kde-meta-4.1.2 [3.5.9] USE="-accessibility"



anyway I'm looking for the easiest way to remove KDE 4.1.2 completely whilst keeping 3.5.9. what packages do I have to emerge -C?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Elbar Thera
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 May 2008
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess the best starting point is to use something like this
Code:
equery -q b /usr/kde/4.1 | xargs emerge -pC

after that, you can doublecheck with
Code:
emerge -puNDt @world

if any kde-4.1 packages (most likely kdelibs-4) are to be reinstalled. In that case you have to figure out the pulling package and purge that by hand.

Maybe it helps,
Elbar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can try this
Code:
emerge -Ca $(qlist -ICv | grep "kde.*4.1" | sed 's/^/=/' | tr '\n' ' ')
emerge --depclean -av
revdep-rebuild -- --ask


8)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did emerge -Ca $(qlist -ICv | grep "kde.*4.1" | sed 's/^/=/' | tr '\n' ' ') - and everything seemed fine. then I did emerge --depclean -av, and got:

Code:

 * Always study the list of packages to be cleaned for any obvious
 * mistakes. Packages that are part of the world set will always
 * be kept.  They can be manually added to this set with
 * `emerge --noreplace <atom>`.  Packages that are listed in
 * package.provided (see portage(5)) will be removed by
 * depclean, even if they are part of the world set.
 *
 * As a safety measure, depclean will not remove any packages
 * unless *all* required dependencies have been resolved.  As a
 * consequence, it is often necessary to run `emerge --update
 * --newuse --deep @system @world` prior to depclean.

Calculating dependencies... done!
 * Dependencies could not be completely resolved due to
 * the following required packages not being installed:
 *
 *   <=app-pda/libopensync-0.30 pulled in by:
 *     kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9
 *
 *   app-admin/eselect-xvmc pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/libXvMC-1.0.4
 *
 *   ~x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2 pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/qt-script-4.4.2
 *
 *   ~x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2 pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/qt-sql-4.4.2
 *
 *   ~x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2 pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/qt-gui-4.4.2
 *
 *   x11-libs/qt-core:4 pulled in by:
 *     app-crypt/qca-2.0.0-r2
 *
 *   ~x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2 pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/qt-qt3support-4.4.2
 *
 *   x11-libs/qt-core:4 pulled in by:
 *     app-text/poppler-bindings-0.8.7
 *
 *   =x11-libs/qt-4.3* pulled in by:
 *     dev-python/PyQt4-4.3.3
 *
 *   x11-libs/qt-core:4 pulled in by:
 *     dev-util/cmake-2.6.2
 *
 *   ~x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2 pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/qt-dbus-4.4.2
 *
 *   ~x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.2 pulled in by:
 *     x11-libs/qt-test-4.4.2
 *
 * Have you forgotten to run `emerge --update --newuse --deep world` prior to
 * depclean?  It may be necessary to manually uninstall packages that no longer
 * exist in the portage tree since it may not be possible to satisfy their
 * dependencies.  Also, be aware of the --with-bdeps option that is documented
 * in `man emerge`.

 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.

 * IMPORTANT: 1 config files in '/usr/kde/3.5/share/config' need updating.
 * See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
 * man page to learn how to update config files.

!!! existing preserved libs:
>>> package: app-pda/libopensync-0.36
 *  - /usr/lib64/libopensync.so.0
 *  - /usr/lib64/libopensync.so.0.0.0
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/bin/kitchensync (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/kde3/libkitchensyncpart.so (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/libkitchensync.so.0.0.0 (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
 *      used by 3 other files
 *  - /usr/lib64/libosengine.so.0
 *  - /usr/lib64/libosengine.so.0.0.0
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/bin/kitchensync (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/kde3/libkitchensyncpart.so (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/libkitchensync.so.0.0.0 (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
 *      used by /usr/kde/3.5/lib64/libqopensync.so.0.0.0 (kde-base/kitchensync-3.5.9)
>>> package: app-text/poppler-bindings-0.8.7
 *  - /usr/lib64/libpoppler-glib.so.2
 *  - /usr/lib64/libpoppler-glib.so.2.0.0
 *      used by /usr/lib64/gimp/2.0/plug-ins/poppler (media-gfx/gimp-2.4.2)
Use emerge @preserved-rebuild to rebuild packages using these libraries
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
reavertm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 265
Location: Wrocław

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like your geeky uninstall scripts has removed one package too many - there was much easier solution

- if you use sets - remove sets (either using emerge -C or manually from /var/lib/portage/world_sets
- if you use meta-packages - unmerge metapackages
- after you do one of above - emerge --depclean --verbose --ask to uninstall all kde components

The above will unistall kde desktop but not non-kde-supported applications (yaquake, kdesvn etc) you may have - so it won't brake anything. In order to remove the rest, use
Code:
equery depends kdelibs:4.1

to find out which packages left and are pulling your kdelibs from 4.1.2 - then remove them manually and --depclean again
_________________
Maciek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know KDE-4 does not support sets yet. Look in the Sticky.

Once the KDE-4 is uninstalled it then needs to be masked on a tilde Gentoo, look here for a HOWTO.

Did you run emerge -uDN world as emerge --depclean suggests?

There may be some other package like gtk-engines-qt-1.1 for example that want to pull in some kde4 stuff.


BTW: The command I suggested would not have unmerged the qt-core, etc... stuff since these are not prefixed with kde and 4.1. That stuff is just regular maintenance that would have shown up in any event.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: Eckental, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Elbar Thera wrote:
I guess the best starting point is to use something like this
Code:
equery -q b /usr/kde/4.1 | xargs emerge -pC

after that, you can doublecheck with
Code:
emerge -puNDt @world

if any kde-4.1 packages (most likely kdelibs-4) are to be reinstalled. In that case you have to figure out the pulling package and purge that by hand.

Maybe it helps,
Elbar


I guess this will only work if +kdeprefix
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've now moved everything out of the world file and into a set,
Code:

kde-base/kde-meta:3.5
kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves:3.5
kde-base/kdm:3.5
kde-base/kdm:3.5
kde-misc/yakuake:0


I then did,
Code:

emerge -pv @kde-3.5
emerge --noreplace @kde-3.5


but when doing emerge -ptuvD world, I got,
Code:

!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

x11-libs/qt:4

  ('ebuild', '/', 'x11-libs/qt-4.3.3', 'merge') pulled in by
    ('installed', '/', 'dev-python/PyQt4-4.3.3', 'nomerge')

  ('ebuild', '/', 'x11-libs/qt-4.4.2', 'merge') pulled in by
    ('installed', '/', 'app-crypt/qca-2.0.0-r2', 'nomerge')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pmatos
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jun 2003
Posts: 1246
Location: Eckental, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

indietrash wrote:
I've now moved everything out of the world file and into a set,
Code:

kde-base/kde-meta:3.5
kde-base/kdebase-kioslaves:3.5
kde-base/kdm:3.5
kde-base/kdm:3.5
kde-misc/yakuake:0


I then did,
Code:

emerge -pv @kde-3.5
emerge --noreplace @kde-3.5


but when doing emerge -ptuvD world, I got,
Code:

!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

x11-libs/qt:4

  ('ebuild', '/', 'x11-libs/qt-4.3.3', 'merge') pulled in by
    ('installed', '/', 'dev-python/PyQt4-4.3.3', 'nomerge')

  ('ebuild', '/', 'x11-libs/qt-4.4.2', 'merge') pulled in by
    ('installed', '/', 'app-crypt/qca-2.0.0-r2', 'nomerge')


Installed packages are trying to pull qt4. Maybe you can disable qt4 use flag? Or remove the packages that are trying to pull qt4 (this might however lead to further conflicts).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

disabling the use flag didn't get me anywhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try this
Code:
echo ">x11-libs/qt-4.0" >> /etc/portage/package.mask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

emerge -ptuvD world then gives,
Code:

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=x11-libs/qt-4.3*" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.5 (masked by: package.mask, ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1 (masked by: package.mask, ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.3 (masked by: package.mask)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems that PyQt4 wants to pull in qt-4.3.3, but qt-core replaces qt-4.3.3

Code:
qdepends PyQt4
dev-python/PyQt4-4.4.3: >=dev-python/sip-4.7.6 >=x11-libs/qt-core-4.4.0:4 >=x11-libs/qt-dbus-4.4.0:4 >=x11-libs/qt-opengl-4.4.0:4 >=x11-libs/qt-svg-4.4.0:4 >=x11-libs/qt-qt3support-4.4.0:4 >=x11-libs/qt-gui-4.4.0:4 sys-devel/libtool virtual/python


Try running env-update && source /etc/profile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it told me it was generating the cache (no "successful" or "failed" message followed). then I did the update, but still I get this:

Code:
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=x11-libs/qt-4.3*" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.5 (masked by: package.mask, ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1 (masked by: package.mask, ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.3 (masked by: package.mask)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post your emerge --info
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
WARNING: repository at /usr/local/portage is missing a repo_name entry
Portage 2.2_rc12 (default/linux/amd64/2008.0/desktop, gcc-4.1.2, glibc-2.6.1-r0, 2.6.27-gentoo x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: Linux-2.6.27-gentoo-x86_64-Intel-R-_Core-TM-2_Duo_CPU_T9400_@_2.53GHz-with-glibc2.2.5
Timestamp of tree: Thu, 16 Oct 2008 08:45:02 +0000
app-shells/bash:     3.2_p33
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.1.6
dev-lang/python:     2.4.4-r13, 2.5.2-r7
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r6
dev-util/cmake:      2.6.2
sys-apps/baselayout: 1.12.11.1
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.18.1-r2
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.61-r2
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10.1-r1
sys-devel/binutils:  2.18-r3
sys-devel/gcc-config: 1.4.0-r4
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.26
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.23-r3
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/ca-certificates.conf /etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/fonts/fonts.conf /etc/gconf /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/terminfo /etc/udev/rules.d"
CXXFLAGS="-O2 -pipe"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--keep-going"
FEATURES="distlocks parallel-fetch preserve-libs protect-owned sandbox sfperms strict unmerge-orphans userfetch"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://mirror.gentoo.no/"
LDFLAGS="-Wl,-O1"
MAKEOPTS="-j4"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage"
SYNC="rsync://rsync.europe.gentoo.org/gentoo-portage"
USE="X acl acpi alsa amd64 berkdb bluetooth branding bzip2 cairo cdr cli cracklib crypt cups dbus dri drm dvd dvdr dvdread eds emboss encode esd evo firefox fortran gdbm gif gpm gstreamer gtk hal iconv ipv6 isdnlog jpeg kde kdeenablefinal kdeprefix kerberos ldap libnotify mad midi mikmod mmx mp3 mpeg mudflap multilib ncurses nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin ogg opengl openmp pam pcre pdf perl png ppds pppd python qt3 qt3support qt4 quicktime readline reflection sdl session spell spl sse sse2 ssl startup-notification svg sysfs tcpd tiff truetype unicode usb vorbis xml xorg xv zlib" ALSA_CARDS="ali5451 als4000 atiixp atiixp-modem bt87x ca0106 cmipci emu10k1x ens1370 ens1371 es1938 es1968 fm801 hda-intel intel8x0 intel8x0m maestro3 trident usb-audio via82xx via82xx-modem ymfpci" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mmap_emul mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" APACHE2_MODULES="actions alias auth_basic authn_alias authn_anon authn_dbm authn_default authn_file authz_dbm authz_default authz_groupfile authz_host authz_owner authz_user autoindex cache dav dav_fs dav_lock deflate dir disk_cache env expires ext_filter file_cache filter headers include info log_config logio mem_cache mime mime_magic negotiation rewrite setenvif speling status unique_id userdir usertrack vhost_alias" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="mouse keyboard" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
Unset:  CPPFLAGS, CTARGET, FFLAGS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LINGUAS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS, PORTAGE_COMPRESS_FLAGS, PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS




p.s.
I noticed qt4 there and I have no idea why it is there. it's not in make.conf at least.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

qt4 is in the desktop profile.

I suspect there is some leftover from kde4 that is pulling in qca-2 (i have only qca-1, on a ~x86). The same may be true of PyQt4
Post the output of
Code:
equery depends qca
equery depends PyQt4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
alexander@lolwabbit ~ $ equery depends qca
/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_util.py:39: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The portage_util module was replaced by portage.util
/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_checksum.py:39: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The portage_checksum module was replaced by portage.checksum
/usr/lib/portage/pym/output.py:39: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The output module was replaced by portage.output
[ Searching for packages depending on qca... ]
app-crypt/qca-tls-1.0-r3 (>=app-crypt/qca-1.0)
kde-base/kopete-3.5.9 (=app-crypt/qca-1.0*)
alexander@lolwabbit ~ $ equery depends PyQt4
/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_util.py:39: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The portage_util module was replaced by portage.util
/usr/lib/portage/pym/portage_checksum.py:39: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The portage_checksum module was replaced by portage.checksum
/usr/lib/portage/pym/output.py:39: DeprecationWarning: DEPRECATION NOTICE: The output module was replaced by portage.output
[ Searching for packages depending on PyQt4... ]
dev-python/qscintilla-python-2.1 (qt4? dev-python/PyQt4)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is what I get, which is the same except for the warnings.
Code:
equery depends qca
[ Searching for packages depending on qca... ]
app-crypt/qca-tls-1.0-r4 (=app-crypt/qca-1*)
kde-base/kopete-3.5.10 (=app-crypt/qca-1.0*)

equery depends PyQt4
[ Searching for packages depending on PyQt4... ]
dev-python/qscintilla-python-2.3 (qt4? dev-python/PyQt4)


I have qt-3 and qt-core but no qt-4. I think the problem is having qt-4 and qt-core. So maybe you will need to unmerge qt-4 before you mask it.

I have >x11-libs/qt-4.0 in /etc/portage/package.mask and there is no problem.

I would suggest masking qca and qt so you can get qt-core without a slot conflict, and get your box up-to-date
Code:
echo ">app-crypt/qca-tls-1.0-r3" >> /etc/portage/package.mask
echo ">x11-libs/qt-4.0" >> /etc/portage/package.mask

Then do emerge --update --newuse --deep world and emerge @preserved-rebuild etc...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

but I can't unmerge qt-4 when it's not installed? uhm eix tells me that only 3.3.8-r4(3) is installed. no qt4. so doing unmerge only tells me that there isn't any qt4 to unmerge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 6:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, then just mask qt-4 and you should be good to go. When you do emerge -uDN @system @world, it should install qt-core and it's components. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

think I found the problem now. got the same old
Code:

!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy "=x11-libs/qt-4.3*" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.5 (masked by: package.mask, ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.4-r1 (masked by: package.mask, ~amd64 keyword)
- x11-libs/qt-4.3.3 (masked by: package.mask)


but in addition I got this:
Code:

(dependency required by "dev-python/PyQt4-4.3.3" [installed])


do I need to unmerge this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the contents of /etc/portage/package.mask
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
indietrash
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Sep 2008
Posts: 353
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I detected an error there and cleaned it up. it now looks like this:
Code:
lolwabbit ~ # cat /etc/portage/package.mask
x11-libs/qt-4.0
app-crypt/qca-tls-1.0-r3


so now I get:
Code:

lolwabbit ~ # emerge -auDN @system @world

[...]

!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been pulled
!!! into the dependency graph, resulting in a slot conflict:

x11-libs/qt:4

  ('ebuild', '/', 'x11-libs/qt-4.3.3', 'merge') pulled in by
    ('installed', '/', 'dev-python/PyQt4-4.3.3', 'nomerge')

  ('ebuild', '/', 'x11-libs/qt-4.4.2', 'merge') pulled in by
    ('installed', '/', 'app-crypt/qca-2.0.0-r2', 'nomerge')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
notHerbert
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 11 Mar 2008
Posts: 2228
Location: 45N 73W

PostPosted: Thu Oct 30, 2008 7:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It has to be like this in /etc/portage/package.mask
Code:
>x11-libs/qt-4.0
>app-crypt/qca-tls-1.0-r3


Please notice the ">" at the beginning of the lines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum