Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Dual screen Help no idea how to setup xorg.conf
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:01 am    Post subject: Dual screen Help no idea how to setup xorg.conf Reply with quote

Hi im using a "GeForce 8500 GT" and it has one vga and one dvi output on it .
Im currently using the vga for my monitor and i was wondering if i could use the dvi connection to output to my tv ?
Could someone please help me get this setup ?

Here is a copy of my current xorg.conf

Code:

Section "ServerLayout"
   Identifier     "X.org Configured"
   Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
   InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
   InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
   RgbPath      "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
   ModulePath   "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
   FontPath     "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
   Load  "glx"
   Load  "extmod"
   Load  "wfb"
   Load  "xtrap"
   Load  "record"
   Load  "GLcore"
   Load  "dbe"
   Load  "dri"
   Load  "freetype"
   Load  "type1"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Keyboard0"
   Driver      "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
   Identifier  "Mouse0"
   Driver      "mouse"
   Option       "Protocol" "auto"
   Option       "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
   Option       "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
   Identifier   "Monitor0"
   VendorName   "Monitor Vendor"
   ModelName    "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section "Device"
   Identifier  "Card0"
   Driver      "nvidia"
   VendorName  "nVidia Corporation"
   BoardName   "GeForce 8500 GT"
   BusID       "PCI:2:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
   Identifier "Screen0"
   Device     "Card0"
   Monitor    "Monitor0"
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     1
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     4
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     8
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     15
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     16
   EndSubSection
   SubSection "Display"
      Viewport   0 0
      Depth     24
   EndSubSection
EndSection


Last edited by gentoo_newguy on Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:42 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cjubon
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Jul 2007
Posts: 450
Location: Vienna/Europe

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_nVidia_TwinView
http://gentoo-wiki.com/Twinview_Example
http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dual_Monitors
http://gentoo-wiki.com/Triple_Monitors
_________________
Mandrake Dec 2001 · Debian "Woody" Aug 2002 · Gentoo Jan 2004 · Funtoo Oct 2009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi thanks for your reply i have been reading trough the manuals and its really confusing me.

Could anyoen set me off in the right direction.

I have one vga output on the card and thats connected to my pc monitor.
I also have a dvi output on the card and i would like to connect that to my HD tv with a DVI to HDMI cable.
Theres so many diffrent options in the guides and i dont no where to start .

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I run the same setup as you. Here's my xorg.conf, it won't work right away I think but it should help:

don't blindly copy this

Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (root@Gentoo_64)  Wed Apr  9 04:09:04 CEST 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1  "Screen1" 2000 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dri"
    Load           "xtrap"
    Load           "wfb"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "GLcore"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "record"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "Samsung SyncMaster"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 81.0
    VertRefresh     56.0 - 75.0
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor1"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "PHILIPS 109P4"
    HorizSync       30.0 - 111.0
    VertRefresh     50.0 - 160.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName      "Unknown Board"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GTX"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GTX"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Screen"
    Identifier     "Screen1"
    Device         "Videocard1"
    Monitor        "Monitor1"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "0"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT: 1600x1200 +0+0"
EndSection"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Man if i can get this working il love you lol.

May i ask how come you have 3 device sections ?

Code:
Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName      "Unknown Board"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GTX"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard1"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8800 GTX"
    BusID          "PCI:1:0:0"
    Screen          1
EndSection

I just cant get my head round the xorg.conf
Im gona have a play though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This file was orginally generated by nvidia's script, then I edited it. It might be a bit messy because of that, but as it looks now I could just remove the first Device section as the Screen sections don't use it. But hey, don't fix it if it isn't broken.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sweet man.
Well is it not possible for me to get nvidia to create the config for me ?
How did u go about doing that ?
Im not to comfortable editing th xorg file i find it really hard to understand i no nothing about my screens or how they work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Backup your current xorg.conf, then run X -configure while in text mode, it'll probably make a xorg.conf file in /root, so copy it to /etc/X11. Then run nvidia-xconfig. But that did not make a working dual screen setup for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok man i will have a play around i realy wana get it working .
I just wana be able to watch films on my pc but put them onto my tv.
Il have a play and get bk to you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ok i have now got the twin view working !!! But i have a problem.
The output on my tv is like to big.
I have a HDMI tv and i no it can easily support 1024x768 but it wont let me select it.
basically to c the whole picture on my tv i have to use my mouse to move either left or right to see everthing on the screen
Any ideas guys


Code:
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 1.0  (root@localhost)  Sun Aug 10 11:00:40 BST 2008

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 1.0  (buildmeister@builder57)  Thu Jul 17 18:39:19 PDT 2008

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section "Files"
    RgbPath         "/usr/share/X11/rgb"
    ModulePath      "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/misc/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/TTF/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/OTF"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/Type1/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/100dpi/"
    FontPath        "/usr/share/fonts/75dpi/"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "glx"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "wfb"
    Load           "xtrap"
    Load           "record"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "type1"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CRT-0"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 33.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Card0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "nVidia Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8500 GT"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Videocard0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName      "GeForce 8500 GT"
EndSection

Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +1440+0, CRT-1: 1440x900_75 +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +1440+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: NULL, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +800+210, CRT-1: 1440x900_75 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: 1024x768 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: NULL, CRT-1: 1024x768 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: NULL, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +1440+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: 1440x900 +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: 1440x900 +0+0"
    Identifier     "Screen0"
    Device         "Videocard0"
    Monitor        "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth    24
    Option         "TwinView" "1"
    Option         "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1"
    Option         "metamodes" "CRT-0: 640x480 @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    SubSection     "Display"
        Depth       24
    EndSubSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Section "Screen"

# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +1440+0, CRT-1: 1440x900_75 +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +1440+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: NULL, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +800+210, CRT-1: 1440x900_75 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: 1024x768 +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: NULL, CRT-1: 1024x768 +0+0"
# Removed Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: NULL, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +1440+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: 1440x900 +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
# Removed Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: 1440x900 +0+0"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView" "1"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-1"
Option "metamodes" "CRT-0: 640x480 @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0; CRT-0: nvidia-auto-select @1024x768 +0+0, CRT-1: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
EndSubSection


Is your TV a CRT screen? Try replacing your metamodes option with this:
Option "metamodes" "DFP: nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
Change DFP to CRT if your screen is a CRT screen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I Have a lcd tv.

This is so hard to get working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isilia
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 177

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did changing the option, as I suggested, help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gentoo_newguy
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2006
Posts: 539

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havent tried it yet.
Im gona take a break from it for the minute.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Master of the Darkside
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 94
Location: Iasi, Romania

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you should forget about xinerama and use xrandr.
_________________
No weight nor mass nor beauty of execution can outweigh a grain or fragment of thought
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Multimedia All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum