Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
What is emerge -e system?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BurningIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: What is emerge -e system? Reply with quote

Hi, I just have a general question. Lately I was thinking of changing my cflags to include -march=core2. Although for some reason, even tho I have a core2 processor, after setting my cflags to core2 or auto, emerge fails. However, thats another question for another time. What I wanted to know, was that i found that even with -march=nocono, emerge -e system has a ton of updates. What exactly does emerge -e do? and whats the -e flag stand for?

Also running emerge -e system broke xorg until ran emerge nvidia-drivers. Why is this the case? emerge -uDN world doesn't have anything else run? Whats going on with my system here? I'm just curious about wats going on behind the scenes in gentoo. Thanks guys :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

--emptytree (-e)
Reinstalls all world packages and their dependencies to the current USE
specifications while differing from the installed set of packages as
little as possible. You should run with --pretend first to make sure
the result is what you expect

In other words, reinstalls your entire world file. Use emerge -euDNav world system to reinstall almost everything (use eix -cu to find what else - unlikely to be much, tho)

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick C
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 526
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

its worth remembering that in recent versions of portage (i dont remember the exact version that this changed) system is no longer part of world, so for a complete rebuild you need to call them both.
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
www.monkeydust.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1432
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nick C wrote:
its worth remembering that in recent versions of portage (i dont remember the exact version that this changed) system is no longer part of world, so for a complete rebuild you need to call them both.


You're speaking about the forthcoming portage-2.2 of which there are already several release candidates out in the wild ;)
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows10 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nick C
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Mar 2005
Posts: 526
Location: Portsmouth, England

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 1:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ah, ive been running 2.2 for so long now ive lost track of when (and what) changes went into it :P
_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
www.monkeydust.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polynomial-C wrote:
Nick C wrote:
its worth remembering that in recent versions of portage (i dont remember the exact version that this changed) system is no longer part of world, so for a complete rebuild you need to call them both.


You're speaking about the forthcoming portage-2.2 of which there are already several release candidates out in the wild ;)


So up until now, when I run "emerge -DNua world" I would have been ok? (I haven't got 2.2 yet).

So from 2.2, what is considered "system"? Are there any descriptions on that somewhere (a blog entry or whetever)?

Lastly, the -e flag then. Am I right in thinking that adding -e to my usual set of flags (-DNua) will make emerge also re-install things that hasn't changed in terms of new versions or changed useflags?

Not to hijack BurningIce's thread, I am guessing that the installation of xorg have a default config, that gets updated when you install the nvidia drivers. Your old config might have been saved in a backupfile in /etc/X11.

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

monsm wrote:
Polynomial-C wrote:
Nick C wrote:
its worth remembering that in recent versions of portage (i dont remember the exact version that this changed) system is no longer part of world, so for a complete rebuild you need to call them both.


You're speaking about the forthcoming portage-2.2 of which there are already several release candidates out in the wild ;)


So up until now, when I run "emerge -DNua world" I would have been ok? (I haven't got 2.2 yet).

So from 2.2, what is considered "system"? Are there any descriptions on that somewhere (a blog entry or whetever)?
geez - I've been on 2.2 as well... system is (AFAIK) everything in the old system... stuff like python, gcc, libc, you know... system stuff. World is everything in your world file.
Quote:

Lastly, the -e flag then. Am I right in thinking that adding -e to my usual set of flags (-DNua) will make emerge also re-install things that hasn't changed in terms of new versions or changed useflags?

true - only use it occasionally, like when you need to rebuild everything. (I like to think of the "e" as "everything" instead of "emptytree")

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

poly_poly-man wrote:
geez - I've been on 2.2 as well... system is (AFAIK) everything in the old system... stuff like python, gcc, libc, you know... system stuff. World is everything in your world file.

well, a simple
Code:
# emerge -pv system

lists the packages of system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also if you want the old --emptytree action without useing -euDN then
Quote:
man emege
--with-bdeps < y | n >
In dependency calculations, pull in build time dependencies that
are not strictly required. This defaults to 'n' for installation
actions, meaning they will not be installed, and 'y' for the
--depclean action, meaning they will not be removed. This set-
ting can be added to EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS (see make.conf(5)) and
later overridden via the command line.

In other words add EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--with-bdeps y blah blah" to your /etc/make.conf. Then --emptytree will rebuild everything in either system or world.

System used to be the eqvilent of a stage3 and world was everything including system packages. Now a "emptytree system" on my box includes Xorg and parts of gnome for a basic X system. World includes xfce4, firefox, mplayer, ....

You can look and play with things with this
Code:
emerge system -ep>sys.lst
emerge world -ep >wrld.lst

NOW the follwing gives and list of just packages, sorted, which allows you to use "comm" to compare them.
Code:
grep ebuild wrld.lst |cut -c17-64|sed 's/\[[0-9].*//'|sort >sw.lst
grep ebuild sys.lst |cut -c17-64|sed 's/\[[0-9].*//'|sort >ss.lst

comm -3 ss.lst sw.lst | wc
 232     233    6842

See "man comm" and "man wc". these are 2 simple tools, comm compares to sorted files and wc counts how many lines such.
If you dont pipe the comm output thru "wc" it gives the file listing instead.
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BurningIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

haha wow this blossomed into a large discussion. But thanks for all the help guys. So here's a question. When i run emerge -e world it says i have 600 some reinstalls and one update needed. But emerge -uDN world says everythings up to date. Whys that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please tell use which package that is.
Code:
# emerge -ep world | grep "\[ebuild     U \]"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BurningIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here it is

Code:

# emerge -ep world | grep "\[ebuild     U \]"
[ebuild     U ] sys-apps/ed-0.9 [0.8]

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have no explanation for that.
ask the portage devs, they will be interested in that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

BurningIce wrote:
here it is

Code:

# emerge -ep world | grep "\[ebuild     U \]"
[ebuild     U ] sys-apps/ed-0.9 [0.8]



Code:
equery d sys-apps/ed


says what ? (most likely an dependency issue)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BurningIce
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2008
Posts: 64

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# equery d sys-apps/ed
[ Searching for packages depending on sys-apps/ed... ]
dev-db/mysql-5.0.60-r1 (berkdb? sys-apps/ed)
virtual/editor-0 (sys-apps/ed)
x11-libs/libXaw-1.0.4 (sys-apps/ed)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well portage-2.2-rc6 has diffently changed because I have the exact same problem.
Code:
hielvc@localhost ~ $ emerge system -uDNqp
hielvc@localhost ~ $ emerge world -uDNqp
[ebuild     U ] app-portage/eix-0.13.3 [0.13.2]
hielvc@localhost ~ $ emerge -uDNqp terminal
[ebuild     U ] xfce-base/xfce-mcs-plugins-4.4.2-r1 [4.4.2]
[ebuild     U ] dev-python/pycairo-1.4.12 [1.4.0]
[ebuild     U ] dev-python/pygtk-2.12.1-r2 [2.12.0]
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/vte-0.16.14 [0.16.10]
[ebuild     U ] xfce-extra/exo-0.3.4 [0.3.2]
[ebuild     U ] x11-terms/terminal-0.2.8 [0.2.6_p25931]

This not how "emerge " is supposed to work.
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Arfrever
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 29 Apr 2006
Posts: 2463
Location: 異世界

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hielvc wrote:
Well portage-2.2-rc6 has diffently changed because I have the exact same problem.
Code:
hielvc@localhost ~ $ emerge system -uDNqp
hielvc@localhost ~ $ emerge world -uDNqp
[ebuild     U ] app-portage/eix-0.13.3 [0.13.2]
hielvc@localhost ~ $ emerge -uDNqp terminal
[ebuild     U ] xfce-base/xfce-mcs-plugins-4.4.2-r1 [4.4.2]
[ebuild     U ] dev-python/pycairo-1.4.12 [1.4.0]
[ebuild     U ] dev-python/pygtk-2.12.1-r2 [2.12.0]
[ebuild     U ] x11-libs/vte-0.16.14 [0.16.10]
[ebuild     U ] xfce-extra/exo-0.3.4 [0.3.2]
[ebuild     U ] x11-terms/terminal-0.2.8 [0.2.6_p25931]


Post the output of:
Code:
emerge -uDNpq --with-bdeps=y @world
emerge -p --depclean
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OnlyTux
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If it can be interesting for you, I have similar results with my x86 stable profile, portage 2.1.4.4.

Code:
$ emerge -ep world | grep "\[ebuild     U \]"
[ebuild     U ] app-arch/lzma-utils-4.32.6 [4.32.5] USE="-nocxx%"
[ebuild     U ] sys-apps/ed-0.9 [0.8]

ed gives the same result as BurningIce, and the other package displays as follows:
Code:
$ equery d lzma-utils 
[ Searching for packages depending on lzma-utils... ]
media-libs/libpng-1.2.26-r1 (app-arch/lzma-utils)
sys-apps/coreutils-6.10-r2 (app-arch/lzma-utils)
sys-devel/m4-1.4.11 (app-arch/lzma-utils)


Then I have this other thing (I run Xfce):
Code:
$ emerge -ep world | grep "\[ebuild  N"
[ebuild  N    ] dev-util/xfce4-dev-tools-4.4.0 

but I emerged -1 it and now:
Code:
# equery d xfce4-dev-tools
[ Searching for packages depending on xfce4-dev-tools... ]
#

Nothing. So I now emerged -C it.

My current emerge --depclean -p does not pretend to delete anything.
The emerge -uDNpq --with-bdeps=y @world command returns me an error, probably due to my old portage.

If this post is useless, please delete it.
_________________
ANTONIO: How every fool can play upon the world! I think the best grace of wit will shortly turn into silence, and discourse grow commendable in none only but parrots...

Shakespeare, The Merchant of Venice
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hielvc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 19 Apr 2002
Posts: 2805
Location: Oceanside, Ca

PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 1:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For some of the problem, if not all is on me. Frist Arfrever " emerge -uDNpq --with-bdeps=y @world " showed the same, just eix. It should I have EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS="--with-bdeps y --buildpkg" in /etc/make.conf. But
Code:
emerge -p --depclean
gave a list of 77 packages. I think what happened was I ran "dep -w" from udept, and it said "gee I can really your world file". Well I meant to enter "n" but hit "y" and didnt stop it in time. I run xfce4 and 10 or more of the cleanning list are xfce4 files. Guess which is one of the entrys in /var/lib/portage/world thats missing :oops:
_________________
An A-Z Index of the Linux BASH command line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Must say I am not that big a fan of 'e's any more...

Tried this a few days ago
Code:
emerge -DNuea world


It came up with 788 packages. My poor AMD 2500+ (I have lowered the speed from 3200+ for stability), it did about 500 packages before it started getting lots of segmentation faults in the compiler. I think the poor thing overheated. Tried --resume, but it didn't last more then 1 or 2 packages before it came again.

I gave up the whole thing and just run a revdep-rebuild to fix things. After a couple of nights rest I have run "emerge -DNea compiz-fusion". This pulled in 404 packages and is now almost finished without segmentation faults this time.
Es might be fine, but I guess its best not to use too many of them (they can be damaging to your health) ;)

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it really seems you have a cooling problem, monsm.
you should really do something against that, or your hardware will die. seriously, change that!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alex.blackbit wrote:
it really seems you have a cooling problem, monsm.
you should really do something against that, or your hardware will die. seriously, change that!


Thanks, yes, suspect you're right. I'll have to open the box and check for dust and see if all the fans are ok. Maybe get a better CPU fan.
And possibly install a sensor application to keep an eye on it.

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alex.blackbit
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 26 Jul 2005
Posts: 2397

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

most modern mainboard have a bios that can display senor values.
sys-apps/lm_sensors is the application that reads sensors under linux.
app-admin/gkrellm and app-admin/conky are nice graphical frontends you can use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
monsm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 Sep 2007
Posts: 467
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Think I have sorted my problem now. Got the sensors running, but the temperature wasn't actually that bad. I installed and run memtest86+ and it showed up lots of errors. I remember I messed with the timings and slowed the cpu down (from original Athlon 3200+ to 2500+) some time ago to get rid of some other memory errors. Now it was back again.
Vacuumed a bit, moved the memory modules a bit. Then I reset the bios setting to the defaults, but moved the CL setting from 2.5 to 3. Turned out I had 2 different brand of modules, 2 of them was rated to 2.5 and the last to 3. So using 3 seemed to work.
So ironically I run the machine faster now, and have less problems :)

Mons
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum