Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
portage search question
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:22 pm    Post subject: portage search question Reply with quote

I mostly do package searching with eix (much faster than the others), however I'm not sure it can do what I want...

I want to search for every package in kde-* that is less than or equal to 3.5.8.

How do I do this?

sorry if it's obvious...

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kasumi_Ninja
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 18 Feb 2006
Posts: 1825
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the reason that you want to search like that? If you want to find all installed kde packages you can use this:

Code:
equery list kde-base/ | grep 3\.5


To unmerge:

Code:
query list kde-base/ | grep 3\.5 | xargs emerge --unmerge

_________________
Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved. Help answer the unanswered
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not uninstalling, mind you.

It seems many of my KDE packages were not upgraded past 3.5.8 (I believe that was the release when I started this install). For one, korganizer has been giving me segfaults because it was in the wrong version.

My question is really how to upgrade all the kde packages... -uDNav world doesn't do it.

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps because KDE-3.5.9 is still marked as unstable via keyword. I have been running it since it hit portage, and as far as I'm concerned, it rocks the Casbah!

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

erm... 3.5.9-r1 is stable... and I'm ~amd64 anyway...

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

M'kay. I didn't know that.

Blessed be!
Pappy

CORRECTION: From kdebase-3.5.9-r1.ebuild:
Code:
KEYWORDS="~alpha ~amd64 ~hppa ~ia64 ~mips ~ppc ~ppc64 ~sparc ~x86 ~x86-fbsd"

That sure looks like keyword masking to me. Portage tree updated today; 07-16-08 @04:04 hours, Central time.
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this sure is confusing... kdebase (I don't have installed - I'm using the modular packages, not monolithic) has a stable version 3.5.9-r3.

Furthermore, it seems all 3.5.8 references have been pruned.

Even worse, my kdebase-meta is at version 3.5.8 - I could have sworn *that* was in my world file...

Is this intentional?

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pappy_mcfae
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 27 Dec 2007
Posts: 5999
Location: Pomona, California.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know. I have zero references to kdebase-3.5.8 in any of my portage trees. I wonder if this is a function of having the ~arch set up.

Hmm

Blessed be!
Pappy
_________________
This space left intentionally blank, except for these ASCII symbols.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here - my packages just never got updated...

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doro1211
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kde packages are in your world file?

I have a script I use to update everything, regardless of whether it is a dependency of anything else. You can try this and see if it helps.

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

$cmd="emerge --oneshot --newuse -avku ";

foreach $_ (`equery list | grep "/" | sort`)
{
        chomp($_);
        @package = split(/(-\d+\.)|(-\d+(-r\d+)?$)|(-\d+\D(-r\d+)?$)/,$_);
        $cmd = $cmd . $package[0] . " ";
}

print "Executing $cmd\n";

system("$cmd");


Not necessarily the most elegant split line... but it seems to work for me! You need equery, so make sure you have gentoolkit installed (but I highly doubt you don't already). This will do an ask anyways, so it won't do anything unless you confirm the emerge. Basically it takes every single package on your system and looks for an update, including orphaned dependencies.

Anyone is free to use this for whatever they want, but I make no guarantees of any kind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
poly_poly-man
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 2477
Location: RIT, NY, US

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

'media-libs/portaudio-19_pre20071207' is not a valid package atom.

:(

After doing research, I've changed my mind a bit...

Basically, can anyone just tell me how to search for packages in kde-* that areless than their current version?

search or rebuild is fine...

poly-p man
_________________
iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAA

avatar: new version of logo - see topic 838248. Potentially still a WiP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doro1211
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Jun 2004
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Wed Jul 16, 2008 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

grr... splitting those things on the version level is actually harder than it looks... it's worked for me, but I don't run ~x86...

I'll see if I can figure out a way to do what you are trying to do.

This requires a bit of manual work, but not much.

Try "equery list kde"

It spits out about 10-12 packages on my system, which can be visually inspected in a few seconds for anything lower than the version in question. You could easily enough just glance at the list for anything under 3.5.9.

You could also do "equery list kde | grep -v 3.5.9" to further reduce the number of things you'd have to visually inspect, although this would spit out anything >3.5.9 too.

Also fixed the build all script to handle that weird package version:

Code:
#!/usr/bin/perl

$cmd="emerge --oneshot --newuse -avku ";

foreach $_ (`equery list | grep "/" | sort`)
{
        chomp($_);
        @package = split(/(-\d+\.)|(-\d+(-r\d+)?$)|(-\d+\D(-r\d+)?$)|(-\w+_pre)/,$_);
        $cmd = $cmd . $package[0] . " ";
}

print "Executing $cmd\n";

system("$cmd");
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum