LiveCD and LiveDVD boot into grub prompt
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ridler77
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2008 6:21 pm    Post subject: LiveCD and LiveDVD boot into grub prompt Reply with quote

I'm booting off an external USB dvd/cdrom onto an embedded intel core2 duo system.

I tried both livecd-i686-installer-2008.0_beta2-r1.iso and livedvd-i686-installer-2008.0_beta2.iso, which MD5 checked out OK. Both of them boot into a plain grub prompt, "GNU GRUB version 0.97 (637K lower / 251776K upper memory)"

This is my first attempt at using gentoo, and am an intermediate linux user. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
NathanZachary

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know this isn't the "best" solution, but please check to see if you can boot the SystemRescueCD (newest version as of this post is 1.0.3). It is based on Gentoo and might help us narrow down the problem. You can also try the minimal installation disc, which is the preferred method of Gentoo installation.
zyko
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also note that a Gentoo installation doesn't require a Gentoo-CD at all. You can use any LiveCD you want. In my experience, Gentoo's LiveCDs have always been a little tricky when it comes to hardware support. Ubuntu et al. are more likely to "just work out of the box".
NathanZachary

PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2008 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

zyko makes a very good point. I've had a couple machines that worked much more smoothly using the newest version of another distro (like Mint, PCLOS, *ubuntu, et cetera).
ridler77
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote