Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Please have a look at my wlan-config:
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
qeldroma
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 370

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 7:39 am    Post subject: Please have a look at my wlan-config: Reply with quote

Good morning,

i have no deeper knowledge about wlan, all i know is, that there are different encryptions with different programms to use them (wpa_supplicant, iwconfig).

I figured out the pasted config after reading several wiki- and google-results.

What i want is the possibility to scan the net, choose an available network for login and that's it.
This scan must work for all, wpa, wep and no encryption!

Somewhere i read, that the actual wpa_supplicant can do wep, too?
So perhaps i do not need iwconfig any more?

So how do i have to tune my net-config to enable this?

Kind regards, Florian

PS: Perfect would be, if i can do this in KDE so everyone could use it. Is there a way for this?

Code:
# Konfiguration
modules_wlan0=( "ifconfig" "iwconfig" "wpa_supplicant" )

# Diese 3 AccessPoints vorziehen
preferred_aps=( "OhneSchutz" "MitWEP" "MitWPA" )

# WEP und WPA brauchen hier Eintrge
key_MitWEP="s:WEPkeYalsAsciiCode enc open"
key_MitWPA="s:WPAkeYstehTwoanderS enc open"

# Die eigentliche Konfiguration für WEP/WPA erfolgt mit ifconfig/iwconfig/iwpriv:
iwconfig_MitWEP=( "channel=5" )
iwpriv_MitWEP=(
 "set AuthMode=WEPAUTO"
 "set Key1Type=1"
 "set Key1Str=WEPkeYalsAsciiCode"
)

iwconfig_MitWPA=( "channel=9" )
iwpriv_MitWPA=(
 "set AuthMode=WPAPSK"
 "set EncrypType=TKIP"
 "set WPAPSK=WPAkeYalsAsciiCode"
)

# IP mit DHCP beziehen
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )

# dhcpcd timeouts
dhcpcd_wlan0="-t 10"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 392
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

in your /etc/conf.d/net put something like this:
Code:

modules=( "wpa_supplicant"  )
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext"
wpa_timeout_wlan0=5
preferred_aps=( "ZyXEL" )
config_ESSID=( "ZyXEL" )

config_ZyXEL=( "192.168.1.23/24 brd 192.168.1.255" )
routes_ZyXEL=( "default gw 192.168.1.1" )
dns_servers_ZyXEL=( "195.29.150.3" "195.29.150.4" )


and in yours /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="ZyXEL"
        key_mgmt=NONE
        wep_key0="something"
        disabled=1
}

I currently don't have any wpa encrypted networks, so i don't know the right syntax.
If you want to choose networks from kde, then emerge wpa_supplicant with qt3 useflag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qeldroma
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 370

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

IvanMajhen wrote:
Code:
...
config_ESSID=( "ZyXEL" )
...


Code:
...
        wep_key0="something"

So everytime i found a network, i'll have to insert the keys via shell and restart the service? That's very uncomfortable, i am talking about a laptop for technicians in our corporate and they are no linux-geeks, so i'll have to solve this as simple as possible...

IvanMajhen wrote:
[code]...
If you want to choose networks from kde, then emerge wpa_supplicant with qt3 useflag.

Yes, i got a wpa_supplicant_gui, but it's only for wpa, isn't it? And there are LOT's of options there, that i don't understand.

All in all, the best would be, if i could integrate the network scan and the choosage into the networking-options from the kde-controlcenter, inclusive the security-key input....

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 392
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In /etc/conf.d/net you only put static IP. If IP is not set for the wireless network then it uses dhcpcd.
You can add wep/wpa keys and networks in wpa_gui as normal user (if you are in wheel or some other group which is in wpa_supplicant.conf) if you have set this in wpa_supplicant.conf:
Code:
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1


No need for editing /etc/conf.d/net if you are using dhcp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d2_racing
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 25 Apr 2005
Posts: 13047
Location: Ste-Foy,Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In fact, you can use wpa_supplicant for a WEP,WPA,WPA2 key and even no encryption at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
qeldroma
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Oct 2002
Posts: 370

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, will try this out on weekend, let's see what's possible ;)

Thanks so far, Florian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum