Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
VirtualBox gtk
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:11 am    Post subject: VirtualBox gtk Reply with quote

I'm one of those weirdos who don't like to have different toolkits installed in the system, so I use VirtualBox without qt, a la qemu. It's simple and more beautiful than the ugly non-kde qt themes (I don't understand why the devs don't give the option of installing VirtualBox without the qt interface, like they do with mplayer and other packages; it works great without it and the ebuild only requires some minor changes that I made in 1 minute :roll:).

Anyway, it would be nice to have a simple gtk interface, especially to mount and unmount dvd images more easily than with the command line. So, does anyone know of one? If not, I'm thinking in writing one, although I only know C/libglade and it should be easier in pygtk, or something like that.

(edit) Homepage here.


Last edited by Fran on Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:07 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 1:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Install QtCurve and you'll get a nice Qt theme that looks GTK-ish. You can also get QtCurve for GTK and then your Qt app will match in appearance with all your GTK ones. That's what I do. Everything looks and feels the same and it requires no hackery like gtk-engines-qt.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nah, I never liked qtcurve (for the few months I gave KDE a try). And it requires kdelibs. If it isn't gtk, I'll continue to use the cli.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
widremann
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Mar 2005
Posts: 1314

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fran wrote:
Nah, I never liked qtcurve (for the few months I gave KDE a try). And it requires kdelibs. If it isn't gtk, I'll continue to use the cli.

No, there is a GTK version. Emerge gtk-engines-qtcurve or somesuch. You can always tweak the theme to your liking. It's not that hard to do with GTK themes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dralnu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could submit a bugreport asking for such a feature, or at least a design change to allow for a simpler change of interfaces.

Or write a GTK-based wrapper around the cli...
_________________
The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a start, a CLI only ebuild would be quiet nice.
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b3cks wrote:
As a start, a CLI only ebuild would be quiet nice.


just needs a useflag for no GUI, that would be good. GTK interface might be interesting though, not a bad personal project.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
square_
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

qt4 is a good reason to switch sides. especially pyqt4. being a total programming noob, i was able to write some simple interfaces in no time, which look not a bit worse than gtk.
and the design philosophy of kde seems to have changed, too. im no longer vomiting when looking at one of the new guis.

the toolkit war might be over soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b3cks
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Mar 2004
Posts: 1481
Location: Bremen (GER)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 7:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zepp wrote:
b3cks wrote:
As a start, a CLI only ebuild would be quiet nice.


just needs a useflag for no GUI, that would be good. GTK interface might be interesting though, not a bad personal project.

This is what I meant, yes.
_________________
I am /root and if you see me laughing you better have a backup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

b3cks wrote:
Zepp wrote:
b3cks wrote:
As a start, a CLI only ebuild would be quiet nice.


just needs a useflag for no GUI, that would be good. GTK interface might be interesting though, not a bad personal project.

This is what I meant, yes.

Oh, that's easy. This is the diff between portage's virtualbox-1.5.6.ebuild and mine:
Code:
--- /usr/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox/virtualbox-1.5.6.ebuild   2008-02-26 02:05:35.000000000 +0100
+++ ./virtualbox-1.5.6.ebuild   2008-04-26 12:31:32.000000000 +0200
@@ -12,7 +12,7 @@
 LICENSE="GPL-2"
 SLOT="0"
 KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~x86"
-IUSE="additions alsa pulseaudio sdk"
+IUSE="additions alsa pulseaudio sdk qt"
 
 RDEPEND="!app-emulation/virtualbox-bin
    ~app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-${PV}
@@ -23,7 +23,7 @@
    media-libs/libsdl
    x11-libs/libXcursor
    x11-libs/libXt
-   $(qt_min_version 3.3.5)"
+   qt? ( $(qt_min_version 3.3.5) )"
 DEPEND="${RDEPEND}
    sys-devel/bin86
    sys-devel/dev86
@@ -71,6 +71,7 @@
    fi
 
    ./configure \
+   $(use_enable qt) \
    ${myconf} || die "configure failed"
    source ./env.sh
 
@@ -104,7 +105,9 @@
    VBoxBFE vditool VBoxSysInfo.sh
 
    doins -r *
-   for each in VBox{Manage,SDL,SVC,XPCOMIPCD,Tunctl} VirtualBox ; do
+   local qt_bin=
+   use qt && qt_bin="VirtualBox"
+   for each in VBox{Manage,SDL,SVC,XPCOMIPCD,Tunctl} ${qt_bin} ; do
       fowners root:vboxusers /opt/VirtualBox/${each}
       fperms 0750 /opt/VirtualBox/${each}
    done
@@ -117,7 +120,7 @@
    fowners root:vboxusers /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxAddIF.sh
    fperms 0750 /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxAddIF.sh
 
-   dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VirtualBox
+   use qt && dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VirtualBox
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VBoxManage
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VBoxSDL
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxTunctl /usr/bin/VBoxTunctl
@@ -125,14 +128,16 @@
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxAddIF.sh /usr/bin/VBoxDeleteIF
 
    # desktop entry
-   newicon "${S}"/src/VBox/Frontends/VirtualBox/images/ico32x01.png ${PN}.png
-   domenu "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}.desktop
+   if use qt; then
+      newicon "${S}"/src/VBox/Frontends/VirtualBox/images/ico32x01.png ${PN}.png
+      domenu "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}.desktop
+   fi
 }
 
 pkg_postinst() {
    fdo-mime_desktop_database_update
    elog ""
-   elog "To launch VirtualBox just type: \"VirtualBox\""
+   use qt && elog "To launch VirtualBox just type: \"VirtualBox\""
    elog "You must be in the vboxusers group to use VirtualBox,"
    elog ""
    elog "The last user manual is available for download at:"



As for the interface, I'm using this as an excuse to learn python. For now, the gtk interface lists the virtual machines in the system and their state. That's all :mrgreen:.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dralnu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fran wrote:
Oh, that's easy. This is the diff between portage's virtualbox-1.5.6.ebuild and mine:
Code:
--- /usr/portage/app-emulation/virtualbox/virtualbox-1.5.6.ebuild   2008-02-26 02:05:35.000000000 +0100
+++ ./virtualbox-1.5.6.ebuild   2008-04-26 12:31:32.000000000 +0200
@@ -12,7 +12,7 @@
 LICENSE="GPL-2"
 SLOT="0"
 KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~x86"
-IUSE="additions alsa pulseaudio sdk"
+IUSE="additions alsa pulseaudio sdk qt"
 
 RDEPEND="!app-emulation/virtualbox-bin
    ~app-emulation/virtualbox-modules-${PV}
@@ -23,7 +23,7 @@
    media-libs/libsdl
    x11-libs/libXcursor
    x11-libs/libXt
-   $(qt_min_version 3.3.5)"
+   qt? ( $(qt_min_version 3.3.5) )"
 DEPEND="${RDEPEND}
    sys-devel/bin86
    sys-devel/dev86
@@ -71,6 +71,7 @@
    fi
 
    ./configure \
+   $(use_enable qt) \
    ${myconf} || die "configure failed"
    source ./env.sh
 
@@ -104,7 +105,9 @@
    VBoxBFE vditool VBoxSysInfo.sh
 
    doins -r *
-   for each in VBox{Manage,SDL,SVC,XPCOMIPCD,Tunctl} VirtualBox ; do
+   local qt_bin=
+   use qt && qt_bin="VirtualBox"
+   for each in VBox{Manage,SDL,SVC,XPCOMIPCD,Tunctl} ${qt_bin} ; do
       fowners root:vboxusers /opt/VirtualBox/${each}
       fperms 0750 /opt/VirtualBox/${each}
    done
@@ -117,7 +120,7 @@
    fowners root:vboxusers /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxAddIF.sh
    fperms 0750 /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxAddIF.sh
 
-   dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VirtualBox
+   use qt && dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VirtualBox
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VBoxManage
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBox.sh /usr/bin/VBoxSDL
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxTunctl /usr/bin/VBoxTunctl
@@ -125,14 +128,16 @@
    dosym /opt/VirtualBox/VBoxAddIF.sh /usr/bin/VBoxDeleteIF
 
    # desktop entry
-   newicon "${S}"/src/VBox/Frontends/VirtualBox/images/ico32x01.png ${PN}.png
-   domenu "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}.desktop
+   if use qt; then
+      newicon "${S}"/src/VBox/Frontends/VirtualBox/images/ico32x01.png ${PN}.png
+      domenu "${FILESDIR}"/${PN}.desktop
+   fi
 }
 
 pkg_postinst() {
    fdo-mime_desktop_database_update
    elog ""
-   elog "To launch VirtualBox just type: \"VirtualBox\""
+   use qt && elog "To launch VirtualBox just type: \"VirtualBox\""
    elog "You must be in the vboxusers group to use VirtualBox,"
    elog ""
    elog "The last user manual is available for download at:"



As for the interface, I'm using this as an excuse to learn python. For now, the gtk interface lists the virtual machines in the system and their state. That's all :mrgreen:.


You should submit that as an enhancement. No reason not to...
_________________
The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dralnu wrote:
You should submit that as an enhancement. No reason not to...

Yeah, I'll probably do it. I assumed the devs had a good reason for not adding a qt use flag, but maybe they were just being lazy.

Anyway, this is what the interface looks like right now: http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk.jpg

Yeah, I know, I know, it's a bit crappy :mrgreen:, but hey, I learned python this morning :P (BTW: I'm loving python :D)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Etal
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 1641

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Without Qt, do the shortcuts for seamless mode and full screen still work?
_________________
“And even in authoritarian countries, information networks are helping people discover new facts and making governments more accountable.”– Hillary Clinton, Jan. 21, 2010
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AM088 wrote:
Without Qt, do the shortcuts for seamless mode and full screen still work?

Fullscreen works as usual (<hostkey>+f), seamless doesn't work. Not a problem for me, seamless feels... weird :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curtis119
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 10 Mar 2003
Posts: 2159
Location: Toledo, OH, USA, North America, Earth, SOL System, Milky Way, The Universe, The Cosmos, and Beyond.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fran wrote:
AM088 wrote:
Without Qt, do the shortcuts for seamless mode and full screen still work?

Fullscreen works as usual (<hostkey>+f), seamless doesn't work. Not a problem for me, seamless feels... weird :P


Seamless doesn't work without QT? Weird, I wonder why?
_________________
Please read the Forum Guidelines.
* | www.gayroughnecks.com | *
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

curtis119 wrote:
Fran wrote:
AM088 wrote:
Without Qt, do the shortcuts for seamless mode and full screen still work?

Fullscreen works as usual (<hostkey>+f), seamless doesn't work. Not a problem for me, seamless feels... weird :P

Seamless doesn't work without QT? Weird, I wonder why?

Maybe it's an ugly qt hack that is difficult to implement in SDL...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dralnu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fran wrote:
Dralnu wrote:
You should submit that as an enhancement. No reason not to...

Yeah, I'll probably do it. I assumed the devs had a good reason for not adding a qt use flag, but maybe they were just being lazy.

Anyway, this is what the interface looks like right now: http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk.jpg

Yeah, I know, I know, it's a bit crappy :mrgreen:, but hey, I learned python this morning :P (BTW: I'm loving python :D)


Looks decent to me.
_________________
The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zepp
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Mar 2004
Posts: 1246
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fran wrote:
Dralnu wrote:
You should submit that as an enhancement. No reason not to...

Yeah, I'll probably do it. I assumed the devs had a good reason for not adding a qt use flag, but maybe they were just being lazy.

Anyway, this is what the interface looks like right now: http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk.jpg

Yeah, I know, I know, it's a bit crappy :mrgreen:, but hey, I learned python this morning :P (BTW: I'm loving python :D)
omg it's hideous :lol: j/k. It looks fine for now, will be interesting when more options get added.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, that was version 0.0.1-prealpha :mrgreen:. Version 0.0.1-beta is a bit more usable:

http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.0.1b.jpg

Still a bit ugly, though :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dralnu
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 24 May 2006
Posts: 1919

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fran wrote:
Hey, that was version 0.0.1-prealpha :mrgreen:. Version 0.0.1-beta is a bit more usable:

http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.0.1b.jpg

Still a bit ugly, though :P


Looks good.
_________________
The day Microsoft makes a product that doesn't suck, is the day they make a vacuum cleaner.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dralnu wrote:
Looks good.

Thanks, although there were some (a lot of :mrgreen:) things that I didn't like. Now it's a bit better :). It's almost completely functional:

http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.0.1rc/c1.jpg
http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.0.1rc/c2.jpg
http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.0.1rc/c3.jpg
http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.0.1rc/c4.jpg

But I'll add a few GtkFrames to make it look more gnomish :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jabol
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 269

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just not to misunderstand you: you wrote this interface or is it shipped with vbox? It's quite nice, athough I would like to be able to access all options. Btw, is there a CLI way of starting VM's?

Btw, QtCurve in QT with custom colors and fonts doesn't look that bad along with Glossy in GTK (still, GTK QtCurve is just awful!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jabol wrote:
Just not to misunderstand you: you wrote this interface or is it shipped with vbox? It's quite nice, athough I would like to be able to access all options. Btw, is there a CLI way of starting VM's?

I'm writing it. I started last Sunday, when this thread started, and today I added some features. And yeah, there is a cli way to do everything (except seamless mode, that seems to require qt), although not many people know about it. Just run VBoxManage or VBoxSDL and take a look at the options. This gtk interface is just a wrapper for the cli.

Right now it's only 450 lines of code, but I'm planning to add the rest of the options (maybe not all, but the most useful; this is only my excuse to learn python, not a large scale project :)).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hokum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 May 2008
Posts: 0

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 5:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any news in your project?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fran
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Feb 2004
Posts: 523
Location: Coruña (Spain)

PostPosted: Fri May 16, 2008 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hokum wrote:
Any news in your project?

I haven't had much free time the last two weeks, but it's progressing. Some screenshots:

http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.1/vboxgtk01-a.jpg
http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.1/vboxgtk01-b.jpg
http://www.xente.mundo-r.com/narf/img/screens/vboxgtk-0.1/vboxgtk01-c.jpg

I have to test it better before I release the first version, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Off the Wall All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum