Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] skype hinting
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Mon Jan 11, 2010 6:56 am    Post subject: [SOLVED] skype hinting Reply with quote

Hello,

I have a problem with skype under amd64... it runs OK, however the fonts hinting is different than
in the rest of the system.

I can set font with qtconfig, but it does not respect the set system hinting...

Under i686 gentoo and under x86_64 archlinux the fonts are ok... so how i do set the hinting
for 32bit skype under amd64 gentoo?


Last edited by kolcon on Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:58 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Corona688
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 10 Jan 2004
Posts: 1204

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's running under 32-bit emulation, so not using the same libraries or settings.
_________________
Petition for Better 64-bit ATI Drivers - Sign Here
http://www.petitiononline.com/atipet/petition.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 14, 2010 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Corona688 wrote:
It's running under 32-bit emulation, so not using the same libraries or settings.


Yes, most likely. So how can I set it then?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
luscinius
n00b
n00b


Joined: 17 Jul 2008
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now that I have skype with the "-qt-static" USE flag on 64-bit it seem to have better fonts. The theme still does not work (starts with the default cleanlooks), but I can leave with it. The fonts with this USE flag look much better, and I think this way (not statically linked to qt) skype somehow respects fontconfig settings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

luscinius wrote:
Now that I have skype with the "-qt-static" USE flag on 64-bit it seem to have better fonts. The theme still does not work (starts with the default cleanlooks), but I can leave with it. The fonts with this USE flag look much better, and I think this way (not statically linked to qt) skype somehow respects fontconfig settings.


Indeed, it seems to look a bit better, but the font is still different.

Maybe the question should rather be...

"How do I set the font in 32bit qt applications (like skype) under amd64? qtconfig does not do the trick...."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I moved back to 32bit at that time (in order to preserve my eyes),
I would like to ask, if there is something new with this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Wed Sep 01, 2010 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

kolcon wrote:
Since I moved back to 32bit at that time (in order to preserve my eyes),
I would like to ask, if there is something new with this?


anyone got skype/qt applications to have the same fonts like the rest of the system yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kolcon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 21 Sep 2007
Posts: 91
Location: Europe, CZ

PostPosted: Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kolcon wrote:
kolcon wrote:
Since I moved back to 32bit at that time (in order to preserve my eyes),
I would like to ask, if there is something new with this?


anyone got skype/qt applications to have the same fonts like the rest of the system yet?


GREAT - with the emul-linux-x86-qtlibs-20100915 it works OK!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
devsk
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Oct 2003
Posts: 2732
Location: Bay Area, CA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 19, 2010 4:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

freetype patents expired recently. The bytecode interpreter can now be freely distributed by Gentoo and hence recent emul packages have it. And hence the nicer fonts with newer packages in 32-bit apps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum