Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Issues installing.
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, that pulls up the file we were looking for. So once chrooted you can't access places you could before?

Also since you know the processor is there anything else I should add in there?

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It isn't that once you're chrooted you can't pull up the file, it is that it is then in a different location. I'll try to briefly explain this concept. When you are NOT chrooted, the location of that file is:

/mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf

When you change the root (which is what chroot stands for; change root) to /mnt/gentoo, the file is still in the same place, but you are in a different default directory. That means that it is still at /mnt/gentoo/etc/make.conf, but you are already at /mnt/gentoo, so you would do nano -w /etc/make.conf. I hope that makes sense.

Anyway, you should add the -march option to your make.conf, and you have one mistake:

This is what you currently have
Code:

CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe MAKEOPTS="-j3" "
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"


This is what you should have
Code:

CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=athlon64"
MAKEOPTS="-j3" "
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"


So, basically you need to make sure that MAKEOPTS="-j3" is on its own line and not part of the CFLAGS variable, and then within the CFLAGS variable, you need -march=athlon64. That should be it. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

-march=athlon64"

What does that do exactly? I can't seem to find it anywhere. :P

Everything looks good again. :)

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It basically declares your processor architecture to further optimise compilations for your specific processor. For instance, on one of my computers (the one I'm using right now), I have -march=prescott because I'm using a Pentium4 based on the prescott core.

EDIT: can you please post the contents of /etc/make.conf so we can check it before moving on? :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure can, will also post what else I did. (Not much)

nano -w /etc/make.conf Resolves to -

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=athlon64"
MAKEOPTS="-j3" "
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# This should not be changed unless you know exactly what you are doing.  You
# should probably be using a different stage, instead.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"


nano -w /etc/conf.d/net Resolves to -

Code:
# This blank configuration will automatically use DHCP for any net.*
# scripts in /etc/init.d.  To create a more complete configuration,
# please review /etc/conf.d/net.example and save your configuration
# in /etc/conf.d/net (this file :]!).
config_eth0=( "dhcp" )
dhcp_eth0="nodns nontp nonis"




How do these two look?

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Both of those look completely fine. Keep it up; you're getting there! :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nano -w /etc/hosts

For this do I have to actually put anything here if I'm DHCP?

(I feel stupid right now, I'm an internet technician but I don't know how Linux looks at things. :P)

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't feel stupid! You don't have to put anything in the hosts file. To get a basic installation that uses DHCP, don't worry about it.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haha thanks. :)

I'm looking at "nano -w /etc/rc.conf" right now and it's rather detailed but it doesn't look like I need to change anything, correct?

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nope, don't worry about that one either (right now). We're just trying to get you a base installation of Gentoo. We can go back and make changes at any time. The important thing is that we can get you up and running with Gentoo so that you can ditch that Ubuntu live environment. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok so all these configs like the clock and the keyboard ect, I can make all those after the base install correct?

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The ones that you should worry about now are:

1. /etc/fstab (already done)
2. /etc/make.conf (already done, but more stuff will be added)
3. /etc/locale.gen
4. Making sure you have the correct profile (you might want to switch to the desktop profile)
5. /etc/conf.d/net (already done)
6. /etc/conf.d/clock (need to set it to your local time [the handbook explains this task])
7. /boot/grub/grub.conf (comes later on in the handbook; worry about it when you get to it)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The handbook talks about two systlogs, "sysklogd or syslog-ng" but when it shows you how to install them it only uses "# emerge syslog-ng" is this one the better of the two?

I'm just reading a bit ahead... and I have a few questions in hopes that I won't have to post for at least another page. :P

"9.b. Optional: Cron Daemon"
"9.c. Optional: File Indexing"

It says those two are optional, should I install them?

"9.d. File System Tools"

Code:
File System     Tool     Install Command
XFS    xfsprogs    emerge xfsprogs
ReiserFS    reiserfsprogs    emerge reiserfsprogs
JFS    jfsutils    emerge jfsutils


I didn't install XFS//ReiserFS//JFS when I setup the chroot.

I though that's what the partitions were for. :S Any way to fix this?


EDIT : The only one there that I have not done aside from the one that's further in on the handbook...

Code:
(chroot) ubuntu linux # /etc/locale.gen
bash: /etc/locale.gen: Permission denied


Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Syslog-ng and logrotate will be fine for a basic installation. The cron daemon is the same way; just use vixie-cron for now since it is the most basic. I personally don't use file indexing, but that one is up to you. I don't find it to be beneficial. The filesystem tools are only if you used those filesystems, but since you didn't setup any partition with XFS, ReiserFS, or JFS, don't use them. Your partitions are ext2/3 and so you don't need those tools at all. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Disposition96 wrote:

EDIT : The only one there that I have not done aside from the one that's further in on the handbook...

Code:
(chroot) ubuntu linux # /etc/locale.gen
bash: /etc/locale.gen: Permission denied



You need to edit it using nano:

Code:

nano -w /etc/locale.gen


Then, after you've made your modifications, you will save the file as normal, and run this command (once you've exited nano):

Code:

locale-gen


That command will essentially make your locale information active. :)
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When I go -
Code:
# emerge syslog-ng


I get
Code:
No closing quotation in /etc/make.conf


So am I missing a closing quote or an opening quote?

Code:
# These settings were set by the catalyst build script that automatically
# built this stage.
# Please consult /etc/make.conf.example for a more detailed example.
CFLAGS="-O2 -pipe -march=athlon64"
MAKEOPTS="-j3" "
CXXFLAGS="${CFLAGS}"
# This should not be changed unless you know exactly what you are doing.  You
# should probably be using a different stage, instead.
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"


EDIT:I'm not understanding the change I'm supposed to make on the last post you did... Igot in to the file but I can't see wherey ou want me to edit it.

Code:
# /etc/locale.gen: list all of the locales you want to have on your system
#
# The format of each line:
# <locale> <charmap>
#
# Where <locale> is a locale located in /usr/share/i18n/locales/ and
# where <charmap> is a charmap located in /usr/share/i18n/charmaps/.
#
# All blank lines and lines starting with # are ignored.
#
# For the default list of supported combinations, see the file:
# /usr/share/i18n/SUPPORTED
#
# Whenever glibc is emerged, the locales listed here will be automatically
# rebuilt for you.  After updating this file, you can simply run `locale-gen`
# yourself instead of re-emerging glibc.

#en_US ISO-8859-1
#en_US.UTF-8 UTF-8
#ja_JP.EUC-JP EUC-JP
#ja_JP.UTF-8 UTF-8
#ja_JP EUC-JP
#en_HK ISO-8859-1
#en_PH ISO-8859-1
#de_DE ISO-8859-1
#de_DE@euro ISO-8859-15
#es_MX ISO-8859-1
#fa_IR UTF-8
#fr_FR ISO-8859-1
#fr_FR@euro ISO-8859-15
#it_IT ISO-8859-1



Regards,


Last edited by Disposition96 on Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:01 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, yes you are. In the MAKEOPTS line. It should just be:

Code:

MAKEOPTS="-j3"


You seem to have an extra space and then a quotation mark. Just get rid of it and re-save the file.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so I have all that, now I'm on this here...

Code:
USE="-gtk" emerge evms[


Now it says, "prevent the installation of dependencies." now is that good or bad?

Also note : I edited my last post.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You don't need evms, skip it.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so now I'm on the Grub config, anything special there?

And every time I do a "emerge" I get a message once it's done saying...


* IMPORTANT: 4 config files in '/etc' need updating.
* See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
* man page to learn how to update config files.


I can't seem to find how to update them.

EDIT: I skipped the frambuffer if that means anything.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Let's get through the installation firstly, and then we can talk about how to update the config files. It is really not that difficult, but let's get inside of a working Gentoo environment before tackling that issue. With GRUB, you just need to follow the handbook. You will need to install GRUB in the MBR. All of these considerations should be explained in the grub.conf file section of the handbook. If you're unsure, please post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kalos wrote:
Let's get through the installation firstly, and then we can talk about how to update the config files. It is really not that difficult, but let's get inside of a working Gentoo environment before tackling that issue. With GRUB, you just need to follow the handbook. You will need to install GRUB in the MBR. All of these considerations should be explained in the grub.conf file section of the handbook. If you're unsure, please post the contents of /boot/grub/grub.conf


Code:

  GNU nano 2.0.2          File: /boot/grub/grub.conf                           











                                  [ New File ]


That's all that is in there lol.

There is an example in the handbook of what I can have but with skipping the framebuffer Idon't know if it will work.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, it should be blank; I meant you can post your configuration file after you wrote it. :P Anyway, you should just comment out the part about a bootsplash and framebuffer. You will still need all the basic components of a dual-boot grub.conf.
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Disposition96
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 167

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:
# Which listing to boot as default. 0 is the first, 1 the second etc.
default 0
# How many seconds to wait before the default listing is booted.
timeout 30
# Nice, fat splash-image to spice things up :)
# Comment out if you don't have a graphics card installed
#splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.19-r5
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.19-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3

title=Gentoo Linux 2.6.19-r5 (rescue)
# Partition where the kernel image (or operating system) is located
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/kernel-2.6.19-gentoo-r5 root=/dev/hda3 init=/bin/bb

# The next four lines are only if you dualboot with a Windows system.
# In this case, Windows is hosted on /dev/hda6.
title=Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,5)
makeactive
chainloader +1



hd0,5

Is that HD1 Partition 5?

I'm confused as to how this works lol.

Regards,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NathanZachary
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Jan 2007
Posts: 2605

PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2008 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GRUB is always a source of confusion for people. You have to write the configuration file specifically for your system. In your case, it should be like this:

Code:

default 0
timeout 5
title=Gentoo
root (hd1,0)
kernel /boot/whatever_you_named_your_kernel root=/dev/sdb3

title=Micro$oft Windoze XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1


I'll try to briefly explain each line:

1. default means that it will load the first entry, which is the first instance of "title="
2. timeout means it will hold at the menu for 5 seconds before automatically loading the default entry
3. title= is just the title line, and it really doesn't affect much (it displays your choices in the GRUB menu at boot time)
4. the root (hd1,0) means that your /boot is on the second harddrive (hd1) and the first partition (0) [GRUB starts numbering at 0, not 1]
5. the kernel location, and the root= is the actual location of root
6. don't worry about the XP stuff, it just makes it work :P
_________________
“Truth, like infinity, is to be forever approached but never reached.” --Jean Ayres (1972)
---avatar cropped from =AimanStudio---
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 3 of 9

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum