For once I'm glad I have a buggy motherboard
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rgviza
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 12:27 am    Post subject: For once I'm glad I have a buggy motherboard Reply with quote

Background:
I'm a crusty old computer guy. I've been installing and using red hat >groan< since about 1997. First just at home trying to figure out this thing called linux. I got pretty good at the whole red hat way of doing things with rpm, httpd etc and it paid off.

A couple of years later I jumped at a job to do php and java on linux for a bank. I was lucky enough to have a guy around that would show me the ropes on admin and other important stuff. I'm a developer so system security wasn't too big on my agenda. At that time I was focused on building things. When I got there we had a red hat 7 box (red hat 9 was out and this was way unpatched rofl) with a off the shelf "secure build" of apache running on it. A couple of years later the big ssl worm came around and I got my baptism by fire of building things from source. I had been experimenting on a development server with handbuilding and had great success working in features like GD and truetype, back when it was painful and there were no packages 8)I also needed features like cURL/ssl the distro packagers were slacking on.

After that I only ran my LAMP/OpenSSL setups compiled from source. It's just easier. I didn't want to be waiting on a patch for a 0day for weeks like with that vendor (that shall remain unnamed) . I actually had to patch it the day fix was released or they were shutting us down that day. They told us that's how it was on the day we needed to fix it.

I noticed my httpds ran a lot better after that, and realized why. Ever since then I've always wanted to do a distro built from source by me but could never find the time.