Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
netzero/juno?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Squinky86
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2003 8:53 pm    Post subject: netzero/juno? Reply with quote

I was looking at a recent Lindows review when I noticed that Lindows advertises the ability to connect to netzero or juno. If it works with the free accounts, it might be worth it to have a backup for the occasional moments when my cable modem goes down.
The lindows source packages for the dialers can be found at http://www.lindows.com/lindows_products_details.php?id=9394&pg=specs for netzero and http://www.lindows.com/lindows_products_search.php?q=juno for the juno files. Click on specifications and scroll down to get the tar.gz file.
I haven't gotten my modem to work in Gentoo yet, but once I do, I'd be interested in hacking around these java files and seeing if I can get them to connect to netzero/juno.
Note that you must place a file in a certain directory to get things to even start working
Code:

# mkdir /usr/share/lindowsos-dialer-netzero
# cp ./knzppp-lindows /usr/share/lindowsos-dialer-netzero/

It would be interesting to see if someone can get this going.
Note also that it requires kppp (Sorry gnome users.)
_________________
Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
oiper
Guru
Guru


Joined: 01 May 2003
Posts: 316
Location: Alabama, US

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2004 10:26 pm    Post subject: hey Reply with quote

did you ever get it working?
_________________
www.bearscanfly.org - Because hiking is cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
superman_440
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Sep 2003
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri Mar 05, 2004 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

They have a .deb that you can download right now from the juno website, and I was able to run the client without anything special installed. If I had a dialup modem I could tell you if it works. My mom has juno back home, and now that we can get the juno running in linux, I'm going to start weening the family off of windows. :wink:
Now I just have to figure out how to control it remotely and how to get it to connect during the night...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirwzd
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Jul 2004
Posts: 68
Location: Leominster, Massachusetts USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 02, 2005 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The netzero deb works fine, but does NOT play nicely with others...

It works with both my free account and my sisters paid account.

Yes there is a way to do this without their software but that will not be discussed here and they do tend to notice after a while and will boot you off.

I am currently using the linuxant hsfmodem drivers on my laptop.

Disclaimer: Note the warnings on the netzero site that they only support Linspire so if you sign up and this doesn't work, you are SOTL!

The tarball mentioned in the first post just allows you to connect to Netzero so you can sign up for the account and download the deb file containing the full software. It requires kppp, the actual netzero dialer does not. Note that you can also create new accounts with the netzero.deb files if you can get this file another way.

A) If you already have the netzero.deb file, skip straight to step B).

The easiest way is to sign up under another connection and download the deb from there. I am not sure what is inlcuded on the CD's they distribute. My guess is this file is included by default with the Linspire install. (Although I wonder if this is redistributable...if so..Live CD?. The Netzero deb is not)

If you need to use this for some reason:

1) Download the tar.gz file from:

http://www.lindows.com/lindows_products_details.php?id=9394&pg=specs

2) Untar the files:
Code:
tar zxvf lindowsos-dialer-netzero_1.0.3.tar.gz

3) Enter the extracted lindowsos-dialer-netzero directory:
Code:
cd lindowsos-dialer-netzero

4) Edit nzlindows.sh and change:
Code:
cp /usr/share/lindowsos-dialer-netzero/knzppp-lindows $HOME/.kde/share/config/kppprc

To:
Code:
cp knzppp-lindows $HOME/.kde/share/config/kppprc

5) Run the following while in the same directory:
Code:
java -cp jvlclient.jar lxclient.Untdlx nzlw.gif ./nzlindows.sh

6) Make an account and download the netzero.deb file.

B) Once you have the netzero.deb file:

1) I converted the .deb to a tgz file with alien (emerge alien if you dont have it):
Code:
alien -t netzero.deb

You should now have netzero-6.2.0b5.tgz in the same directory. To list the contents and file locations run:
Code:
 tar -ztf netzero-6.2.0b5.tgz

2) I then copied the .tgz file to / an unpacked (as root):
Code:
cp netzero-6.2.0b5.tgz
tar zxvf netzero-6.2.0b5.tgz

3) It appears they only expect you to run this as root (Does Linspire have you run as root all the time???!!!) so a few permissions need to be changed in opt. I changed the following (Yes this should be narrowed down some):
Code:
chgrp -R dialout /opt/nzclient
chmod g+w /opt/nzclient
chmod g+w /opt/nzclient/*
chmod +s /opt/nzclient/nzppp

Note that we are making /opt/nzclient/nzppp setuid root above

This is so non-root users can connect. This may be able to be done another way.

4) Add your user to the dialout group.

5) Optionally copy the icon to your desktop:
Code:
cp "/root/Desktop/NetZero Internet"  <users homedir>/Desktop


6) To connect:

Before you continue, especially if you have another ppp or pptp vpn connection you need to use, back-up the contents of the /etc/ppp directory!!!!

This is beacuse nzppp is an altered version of PPPsetup 2.28. This will overwrite the following files every time it is run:

/etc/ppp/ip-up
/etc/ppp/pap-secrets
/etc/ppp/chap-secrets
/etc/ppp/options
/etc/ppp/chat-script

Code:
tar jcvf ppp_before.tar.bz2 /etc/ppp /etc/resolv.conf
cp ppp_before.tar.bz2 <somewhere safe>


I restore them before making my PPTP connection to work. The netzero connection will overwrite the files it needs to when it is run. Annoying.

It also expects your modem to be accessable under /dev/modem

If you copied the icon, click it to connect. If not run the following to connect:
Code:
/opt/nzclient/runclient.sh


Last edited by wirwzd on Thu May 19, 2005 2:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Squinky86
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 309
Location: Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2005 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice howto! Hey mods, can we get this split into the DTT forum? I'm going to try this tomorrow night when I get back!
_________________
Me
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jmflyer
n00b
n00b


Joined: 31 Dec 2004
Posts: 10
Location: PDX

PostPosted: Tue May 10, 2005 5:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wirwzd, Great directions!

If could add some additional information: This also requires the JRE. If you don't have it installed/linked (ie: open a terminal and type java, if that doesn't work then it isn't setup correctly), then the application will fail almost immediately after launching it.

Not a big thing, but may hinder a noob like myself :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
W3BMAST3R101
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Jun 2004
Posts: 198
Location: Oregon, USA

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2005 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you explain how you got it to work without the software? I live where dial-up is the only way to use the internet :-P I have IPCop as the router since both my parents use windows and they'll never switch. Is it possible to get it to work with IPCOP? I'd like to save $10 a month if that is possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truekaiser
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Mar 2004
Posts: 643

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thank you. this helped me get my brother to use linux on his old machine but i need to add somthing here for the instructions.
the first part on how to obtain the netzero.deb doesn't work. if you try it you get booted off.

also the font in the netzero window for connecting to it is too small so how can i incress it's size?
_________________
"My father rode a camel. I drive a car. My son flies a jet-plane. His son will ride a camel."
—Saudi saying
Too late to do anything about it, so just sit back and enjoy the fireworks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum