Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
baselayout-2 issues
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
El_Presidente_Pufferfish
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 11 Jul 2002
Posts: 1179
Location: Seattle

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no4b wrote:
Once I upgraded to baselayout-2 /etc/conf.d/net.eth0 and /etc/init.d/net.eth0 disappeared. I recreated /etc/conf.d/net.eth0 but I don't know where I can find example of /etc/init.d/net.eth0.


configuration for all net.* devices is done in /etc/conf.d/net
the init script net.eth0 should simply be a link to /etc/init.d/net.lo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
no4b
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 18 Jan 2004
Posts: 774
Location: Tarnów, Poland

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thx.
_________________
GTK2/GNOME - The weakest link!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6362
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 1:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ln -s net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth0

And you're done :)

EDIT: Meh, me is late with this one as the answer is few posts up.
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 783
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:51 pm    Post subject: Need gdm for DISPLAYMANAGER in /etc/conf.d/xdm Reply with quote

I had been using xdm here and gnome wouldn't start with that. (Maybe it shouldln't have worked in the past?)

Also I decided to try rc_parallel="YES" in /etc/rc.conf. It seems to work fine, but complains that mysql failed to start. In fact it seems to have started just fine. Unless I get some reassurance I'm going to use "NO" for now.
Fred
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
katafitos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

udev is blocking openrc for me when I try to upgrade to baselayout-2

Code:
[ebuild  N    ] sys-fs/udev-115-r1  USE="(-selinux)" 0 kB
[ebuild     U ] sys-apps/baselayout-2.0.0 [1.12.11.1] USE="-build (-bootstrap%) (-static%) (-unicode%*)" 23 kB
[ebuild  N    ] sys-apps/openrc-0.2.1-r2  USE="ncurses pam unicode -debug" 139 kB
[blocks B     ] <sys-fs/udev-118-r2 (is blocking sys-apps/openrc-0.2.1-r2)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4394
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

katafitos wrote:
udev is blocking openrc for me when I try to upgrade to baselayout-2

Upgrade udev first.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
katafitos
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Nov 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yngwin wrote:
katafitos wrote:
udev is blocking openrc for me when I try to upgrade to baselayout-2

Upgrade udev first.

I unmasked it using autounmask
I should have thought that.. :oops:
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
meulie
l33t
l33t


Joined: 17 Jun 2003
Posts: 845
Location: a Dutchman living in Norway

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got some problems with rc_depend_strict as well. I have set it to 'NO', but my laptop still whines about net.wlan0 not being available when I try to start, for example, the ssh server even though I am online via ethernet.
_________________
Greetz,
Evert Meulie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hwoarang
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 701
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 10:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does anyone have a problem with nfsmount on shutdown? I get an error mesasege " nfsmount failed to stop"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
octoploid
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Oct 2006
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hwoarang wrote:
Does anyone have a problem with nfsmount on shutdown? I get an error mesasege " nfsmount failed to stop"


Yes, I have similar problems with dmcrypt on shutdown when I use rc_parallel="YES".
No problems with rc_parallel="NO".
_________________
Myself and mine gymnastic ever
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hwoarang
Developer
Developer


Joined: 24 Feb 2007
Posts: 701
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah i see. I have also set "YES". I ll change it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberLord wrote:
ln -s net.lo /etc/init.d/net.eth0

And you're done :)

This doesn't seem to work for me. I have /etc/conf.d/net configured properly. But for some reason it doesn't start on boot. Once I've booted up... "/etc/init.d/net.eth0 start" starts just fine. But it won't start on boot. Any suggestions?

I have net.eth0 in rc-update. What's wrong? What am I missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fred Krogh
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 783
Location: Tujunga, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have net.lo started at the boot level?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
webhawg
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Oct 2002
Posts: 292

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fred Krogh wrote:
Do you have net.lo started at the boot level?

Yes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2448
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still have issues with spamd not starting. I tried all your suggestions but all of them fail for me.

My main issue is actually that I don't know how to make it give me error messages. Output as the following gives me zero information as to what could be wrong:
Code:

spamd          | * Caching service dependencies ...                       [ ok ]
spamd          | * Starting spamd ...
spamd          | * Failed to start spamd                                  [ !! ]
spamd          | * ERROR: spamd failed to start


This is with the --name spamd \ line added to the original init script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberLord
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Sep 2003
Posts: 6362
Location: Blighty

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

spamd is a perl daemon, iirc. As such, it needs special handling. Try starting with a pidfile referenced. If that fails, try starting perl and then pass spamd as the first argument. Like so

start-stop-daemon --start --exec /usr/bin/spamd -- spamd-options
becomes
start-stop-daemon --start --exec /usr/bin/perl -- /usr/bin/spamd spamd-options
_________________
Use dhcpcd for all your automated network configuration needs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
frostschutz
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2005
Posts: 2448
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found the problem... there were some old spamd (perl) instances still running and not cleaned up, and they occupied the socket. killall -9 perl solved that matter (although you shouldn't run this command if you have any other perl services as you may end up killing them too). The init script was hiding error messages by spamd... :(

If anyone is interested in the spamd init script that works for me, I nopasted it here:

http://phpfi.com/310389 (download link in upper right corner)

Make sure to zap (remove pidfile) and kill old perl instances that may occupy the spamd port first, i.e. this worked for me:
Code:

/etc/init.d/spamd zap
killall -9 perl
/etc/init.d/spamd start
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

with current baselayout(2) mysql, spamd and amavisd fail to start.
any help?
thanks.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JeliJami
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2006
Posts: 1086
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any error messages on start?
Code:
/etc/init.d/spamd restart

_________________
Unanswered Post Initiative | Search | FAQ
Former username: davjel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

JeliJami wrote:
any error messages on start?
Code:
/etc/init.d/spamd restart


Starting spamd ...
* Failed to start spamd [ !! ]
* ERROR: spamd failed to start

let me put it better. the services are started and working. but even during boot
i still have 'the failed to start' errors plus /usr/sbin/spamd died. same for amavisd.

i am using openrc-svn
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum