Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No Network
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
madkris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 1:57 pm    Post subject: No Network Reply with quote

Code:
* Starting eth0
*   You are using a deprecated configuration syntax for eth0
*   You are advised to read /etc/conf.d/net.example and upgrade it accordingly
*   Bringing up eth0
*     dhcp
*     network interface eth0 does not exist
*     Please verify hardware or kernel modules (driver)
# ifconfig -a
eth1   Link encap: Ethernet   Hwaddr:  00:18:F3:AA:F6:1E
         BROADCAST MULTICAST   MTU:1500   Metric:1
         RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overrun:0 frame:0
         TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overrun:0 carriers:0
         collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
         RX bytes:0 (0.0 Kb)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 Kb)
         Interrupt:19  Base  address:0xa800

lo      Link encap: Local Loopback
        inet addr: 127.0.0.1  Mask: 255.0.0.0
        inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
        UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436 Metric:1
        RX packets:129 errors:0 dropped:0 overrun:0 frame:0
        TX packets:129 errors:0 dropped:0 overrun:0 carriers:0
        collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
        RX bytes:10280 (10.0 Kb)  TX bytes:10280 (10.0 Kb)

i tried doing the following:
Code:
# cd /usr/src/linux
# make menuconfig
Device Drivers  --->
  Network device support  --->
      Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)  --->
      [*] Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)
      [*] EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers
      <*>   VIA Rhine support


reboot, still no network.

then i tried doing the following:
Code:
# cd /usr/src/linux
# make menuconfig
Device Drivers  --->
  Network device support  --->
      Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)  --->
      [*] Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)
      [*] EISA, VLB, PCI and on board controllers
      <M>   VIA Rhine support
# lspci | grep Ethernet
00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev7c)
# lsmod | grep rhine
via_rhine         22152   0
mii                   7168    1  via_rhine
# echo via_rhine >> /etc/modules.autoload.d/kernel-2.6


reboot, unfortunately still no luck. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JC99
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Aug 2003
Posts: 782
Location: Toronto

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you post your /etc/conf.d/net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madkris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/etc/conf.d/net
Code:
routes_eth0=( "default via 10.10.31.254" )
iface_eth0="dhcp"
dhcpcd_eth0=""
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psomas
Developer
Developer


Joined: 23 Sep 2006
Posts: 212
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does lsmod give?...
is the module loaded?...
_________________
myblog
FOSS NTUA Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madkris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

psomas wrote:
what does lsmod give?...
is the module loaded?...


a bunch of modules,one of them,the via_rhine is what i believe the module that i need.
Code:
# lsmod | grep rhine
via_rhine         22152   0
mii                   7168    1  via_rhine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psomas
Developer
Developer


Joined: 23 Sep 2006
Posts: 212
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you get ip from dhcp,and you don't have any other network cards, you could try commenting out everything in conf.d/net...
_________________
myblog
FOSS NTUA Community
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madkris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

psomas wrote:
if you get ip from dhcp,and you don't have any other network cards, you could try commenting out everything in conf.d/net...


here's the result
Code:
* Starting eth0
*  Caching service dependecies
*  Starting up eth0
*     Configuration not set for eth0 - assuming DHCP
*     Bringing up eth0
*     dhcp
*     network interface eth0 does not exist
*     Please verify hardware or kernel modules (driver)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
D4rk
n00b
n00b


Joined: 13 Jan 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you realy don't have other network cards, then you card is maped to eth1 not eth0,
just change eth0 to eth1 in /etc/conf.d/net .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madkris
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eureka! works now.. thanks a bunch. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum