Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Failed To Load Spufs
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
KrimeDaddy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Location: n/a

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:31 pm    Post subject: Failed To Load Spufs Reply with quote

I installed gentoo on my ps3.

I followed multiple guides.

I used the livecd-ps3-xfce4-20071212-r1.iso

LiveCD + otheros.bld ----------> kboot :( or XFCE4 running from ISO cd

"installer" didn't work so

I couldn't figure out how to get to a LiveCD root prompt without loading XFCE4

so in XFCE4 i

CTRL ALT F1 and fount a LiveCD prompt YAY!.

but I couldnt umount at the end so I had to start again... :^( (cause I dunno what i doing) (proc and /dev busy :( )

I couldn't figure out how to get to a LiveCD root prompt without loading XFCE4 so I hit "1" "l" for interactive startup

and I told it not to start XFCE4, gnome, x window, or any other gui i know about

and I got a LIVECD # prompt YAY !

I followed instructions for install.

I made sure to change none /spu spufs defaultS 0 0 in the /etc/fstab

(at least I have a 720p gentoo xfce4 mouse gui without the liveCD BUT

but while booting I get one big :(red !

FAILED TO LOAD SPUFS

I am sure I dont want to start learning anything else about packages and flags etc so on and so forth until I figure out how I messed this up.

Thank you for your help.

Ben
_________________
Nope.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chishs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

did my install a little bit different (i kinda sorta know what I'm doing...it was hell getting rid of all the packages I didn't need like xfce and updating everything else to ~ppc64 with insane CFLAGS...yah I'm a ricer and proud of it...). But yah I get the same message and I have no idea what I did wrong (or even if it was something I did). Any help on rectifying the problem would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chishs
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Nov 2005
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sun Mar 02, 2008 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok I fixed the problem I think...if a dev takes a look he'll probably point out something I did wrong or wasn't suppose to do...

WARNING THIS MAY NOT WORK FOR YOU AND MAY EVEN BRAKE YOUR SYSTEM! MY GENTOO HARDLY RESEMBLES WHAT THE STAGE4 TARBALL INSTALLED ORIGINALLY ANYMORE (its more like a horrible amalgam of gentoo, LFS, my own code, some friends code, and overlays you probably haven't even heard of).

1. Use layman to add the toolchain overlay (I don't know if you actually have to do this)
2. Edit /etc/portage/package.keywords with your favorite text editor
3. add:
sys-devel/gcc **
sys-libs/newlib (don't know if this is actually required)
sys-devel/binutils ** (don't know if this is actually required)
sys-devel/patch (don't know if this is actually required)
4.Edit /etc/portage/package.unmask with your favorite text editor
5. add:
sys-devel/gcc
6. Edit /etc/make.conf with your favorite text editor
7. add:
I_PROMISE_TO_SUPPLY_PATCHES_WITH_BUGS=1
8. emerge binutils && emerge gcc
9. Use gcc-config to set the compiler to gcc-4.3.0
10. Edit /etc/make.conf
11. Change your CFLAGS to:
-mcpu=cell -mabi=altivec -maltivec -mspe (I didn't know if this should be specified or not but it has not broken my system) -O2 (and whatever else cflags you like...don't get angry at me if you screw up your system)
12. emerge -e system && emerge -e world (you may want to specify options such as --deep and --update)
13. crossdev --g 4.3.0_alphawhatever --b 2.18-r1 spu-elf (I think this is what worked for me a when I did this but I've seen this step expressed many different ways online and don't remember if I used the one specified on gentoo-wiki so it may not work for you...best ask a dev what the proper step is here)
14. Edit /etc/portage/package.keywords with your favorite text editor
15. add:
sys-libs/libspe
sys-libs/libspe2
16. emerge libspe && emerge libspe2
17. rc-update add elfspe default
18. /etc/init.d/elfspe start
19. Edit /etc/fstab
20. add:
none /spu spufs defaults 0 0
21. mkdir /spu
22. Use layman to add the cell overlay
23. use the .config in /etc/kernel and rebuild your kernel
24. do all of the edits needed for kboot to boot your new kernel
25. reboot
26. ????
27. PROFIT!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kooothor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

soooooo......


I have the same problem (spufs fails to load)
but I don't want to go through these 27 not so sure steps

can someone tell me if an actual solution of the problem exist ?

thx
_________________
Marre de la modération ? Envie de flooder sans limites ? => Flood.fr est fait pour vous !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hal2050
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jul 2008
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I have the same problem (spufs fails to load)
but I don't want to go through these 27 not so sure steps

can someone tell me if an actual solution of the problem exist ?


which kernelversion do you have running on your ps3?

just post the output of
Code:
uname -r


i had the same problem with kernel 2.6.23-r1-ps3. but "mount" showed me, that spufs was properly mounted. so i investigated the .config and found out that spufs wasn't built as a module but was integrated within the kernel. so everything is fine...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Alternative Architectures All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum