Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] kernel-2.6.23 Kernel Panic: No init found
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GivePeaceAChance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 480

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 11:55 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] kernel-2.6.23 Kernel Panic: No init found Reply with quote

This is the message I'm getting currently with my second Gentoo install/partition. I've added init=3 to my kernel options in menu.lst, but it still doesn't like it. I also tried make clean bzImage modules_install and copying the kernel over to /boot again, but that didn't do anything.

Any ideas?

EDIT: /etc/inittab

Code:

#
# /etc/inittab:  This file describes how the INIT process should set up
#                the system in a certain run-level.
#
# Author:  Miquel van Smoorenburg, <miquels@cistron.nl>
# Modified by:  Patrick J. Volkerding, <volkerdi@ftp.cdrom.com>
# Modified by:  Daniel Robbins, <drobbins@gentoo.org>
# Modified by:  Martin Schlemmer, <azarah@gentoo.org>
#
# $Header: /var/cvsroot/gentoo-x86/sys-apps/sysvinit/files/inittab,v 1.5 2005/12/22 02:03:23 vapier Exp $

# Default runlevel.
id:3:initdefault:

# System initialization, mount local filesystems, etc.
si::sysinit:/sbin/rc sysinit

# Further system initialization, brings up the boot runlevel.
rc::bootwait:/sbin/rc boot

l0:0:wait:/sbin/rc shutdown
l1:S1:wait:/sbin/rc single
l2:2:wait:/sbin/rc nonetwork
l3:3:wait:/sbin/rc default
l4:4:wait:/sbin/rc default
l5:5:wait:/sbin/rc default
l6:6:wait:/sbin/rc reboot
#z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# TERMINALS
c1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty1 linux
c2:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty2 linux
c3:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty3 linux
c4:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty4 linux
c5:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty5 linux
c6:2345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 38400 tty6 linux

# SERIAL CONSOLES
#s0:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS0 vt100
#s1:12345:respawn:/sbin/agetty 9600 ttyS1 vt100

# What to do at the "Three Finger Salute".
ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -r now

# Used by /etc/init.d/xdm to control DM startup.
# Read the comments in /etc/init.d/xdm for more
# info. Do NOT remove, as this will start nothing
# extra at boot if /etc/init.d/xdm is not added
# to the "default" runlevel.
x:a:once:/etc/X11/startDM.sh

_________________
I am not a Linux Guru, but a n00b with a lot of questions. :)


Last edited by GivePeaceAChance on Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:34 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wormo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 526
Location: SB County California

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FIrst, a little explanation about an obviously confusing message...

"no init found" is referring to the kernel not being able to find the program init, rather than not knowing which runlevel to start. The kernel frankly doesn't care what runlevel you run or what your inittab is like, because that is all the init program's business. That bit about "try passing init= option" is actually a feature for people who stash their init program in some weird place that the kernel doesn't normally look. From the kernel's perspecitve, "init" is some-program-started-personally-by-the-kernel, the traditional name for this program being "init". Someone could use "init=/bin/sh" and have the kernel boot directly into a shell prompt if they felt like it. However, passing "init=3" is not likely to be useful, unless you happen to have named your master system startup program "3" ;)

So, the real question is "why does the kernel think I don't have an init program in any of the normal places??"
That usually happens when your system is set up for a 2-stage boot with an initramfs and the initramfs did not properly do its job of making the real root partition accessible. If the kernel can't see the root partition, it can't find the init program.

Couple options:

  • compile all drivers needed to access root partition as builtin rather than modules so kernel needs no initramfs to get to root partition
  • rebuild the initramfs and get one that works properly
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GivePeaceAChance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 480

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So in layman's terms, I should be looking in my kernel configuration for anything related to initramfs, then, and make sure that it's not configured as a module? Could you take a look at this thread of mine, because based off what you said, I have a sneaking suspicion the way i set up my partitioning scheme may have something to do with it:

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-640931.html

Thanks for the help!
_________________
I am not a Linux Guru, but a n00b with a lot of questions. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wormo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 526
Location: SB County California

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, now I'm a little confused. Does the problem only happen when you attempt to boot your new gentoo partition, or did the original install get hosed up too? Are you using the same kernel files for both partitions? Also, let's take a look at your grub entries for both partitions.

[edit] I read over your other thread again, and see that your original install still works. If it works with the first partition, your kernel must have the right drivers to get to your filesystem, whether it uses an initramfs or not. So let's focus on things that are not shared between the two partitions. Comparing grub entries is a good place to start. [/edit]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GivePeaceAChance
Guru
Guru


Joined: 26 May 2007
Posts: 480

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey Wormo, thanks for the help. Your help in the other thread made all the difference, and now it gets past that part at least. The last I booted into my new Gentoo, my fstab was messed up, so I've copied over the correct fstab file and I've begun emerging kdebase-startkde. We'll see how it goes from there, but as far as this problem is concerned, I think it's solved. :)
_________________
I am not a Linux Guru, but a n00b with a lot of questions. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wormo
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 29 Nov 2004
Posts: 526
Location: SB County California

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, have fun with your new install :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum