Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Up key not working on keyboard [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Valkyr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 3:37 pm    Post subject: Up key not working on keyboard [Solved] Reply with quote

Hi,

I bought a usb keyboard to connect to my laptop, and everything is working perfectly, even the multimedia keys, except the keypad up button is not working.
Which is very annoying. It is working in a plain terminal but not under xfce.

I use evdev as keyboard driver
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier     "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver         "evdev"
    Option         "CoreKeyboard"
    Option         "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option         "XkbModel" "evdev"
    Option         "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection


When using xev the output looks weird when i press the up key:
Up key xev output:
Code:
FocusOut event, serial 31, synthetic NO, window 0x2800001,
    mode NotifyGrab, detail NotifyAncestor

FocusIn event, serial 31, synthetic NO, window 0x2800001,
    mode NotifyUngrab, detail NotifyAncestor

KeymapNotify event, serial 31, synthetic NO, window 0x0,
    keys:  2   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   
           0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0


Compared to the Down key sev output:
Code:
KeyPress event, serial 31, synthetic NO, window 0x2800001,
    root 0x1a6, subw 0x0, time 1535324, (359,235), root:(364,325),
    state 0x0, keycode 116 (keysym 0xff54, Down), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XmbLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False

KeyRelease event, serial 31, synthetic NO, window 0x2800001,
    root 0x1a6, subw 0x0, time 1535388, (359,235), root:(364,325),
    state 0x0, keycode 116 (keysym 0xff54, Down), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes:
    XFilterEvent returns: False


Reading some posts i think some keycode is bound twice but how do i know which keycode this is?
Or is there another solution.

Thanks in advance,


Last edited by Valkyr on Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:54 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just encountered the same issue with the arrow keys not working with the evdev keyboard driver. According to this post on the xorg mailing list it is probably caused by your desktop environment overwriting the keyboard model.

In order to make my keyboard work again, I had to go into the KDE keyboard configuration tool and choose "Evdev-managed keyboard" (it was set to "Generic 105-Key (Intl) PC"). Under Gnome there should be a similar setting. I assume this is true for Xfce as well, although I've never used it.

Your keyboard configuration in xorg.conf looks fine, with both the driver and the XkbModel set to "evdev". The fact that it works without a desktop environment shows that the raw X environment is set up correctly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkyr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I installed xfkc a keyboard layout utility for xfce. But it's showing that xfce already uses the xorg settings for keyboard layout, which is evdev-managed keyboard. Even setting it explicitely doesn't provide a solution.

Running
Code:
setxkbmap -keycodes evdev
also doesn't help.
I'm running a bit out of options here, for this very annoying problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ok
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 390
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today I had the same issue, because I didn't had the time to figure out what exactly the problem is I emerge lower version of the following programs I last updated:
    sys-apps/hal-0.5.9.1-r3
    app-misc/hal-info-20070516
    x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-1.1.5-r2
Now the up-key and my own layout is working.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkyr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I emerged the same versions as the ones you have downgraded to, but it does not fix the problem on my machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerardo
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 05 Feb 2004
Posts: 228
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem since the upgrade of the above packages. When I downgrade, problem is solved.

Does anyone know what to change so it works again with the new packages?
With these, gdm login-screen is on US-keyboard although in xorg.conf I have "be". Also numerous do not correctly: up is help, down doesn't work, AltGr is enter, ...
here's my part of xorg.conf
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard0"
        Driver "kbd"
        Option  "CoreKeyboard"
        Option  "XkbRules" "xorg"
        Option  "XkbModel" "pc105"
        Option  "XkbLayout" "be"
        Option  "XkbVariant" ",winkeys"
EndSection

I have tried this also (from the wiki) , but no success:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier "Keyboard0"
        Driver "evdev"
        Option "evBits"  "+1"
        Option "keyBits" "~1-255 ~352-511"
        Option "Pass"    "3"
        Option  "CoreKeyboard"
        Option  "XkbLayout" "be"
        Option  "XkbVariant" ",winkeys"
EndSection

[/code]
_________________
Windoze : Plug and Pay...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ok
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 390
Location: germany

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 1:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Valkyr wrote:
I emerged the same versions as the ones you have downgraded to, but it does not fix the problem on my machine.
Did you restart hald and X? Or reboot?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gami
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2006
Posts: 297

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The latest versions of the packages mentioned above do work. I have to add, though, that I also run the latest 1.4.90 version of the xorg-server and the latest versions of all xorg drivers.

With this said:

@gerardo:

Set your XkbModel in xorg.conf to "evdev". XkbModel "pc105" does not work with the evdev driver, regardles of whether it is set through xorg.conf, setkxbmap or any other means.

@all:

after updating to the 0.5.10 version of hal restart /etc/init.d/hald for it to take effect. You need to restart /etc/init.d/xdm for the new evdev xorg driver to be taken up.

Then, make sure that your desktop environment doesn't overwrite the keyboard model as indicated in my earlier message above.

My keyboard configuration may be of some help:

Code:
Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard1"
    Driver "evdev"
    Option "XkbModel" "evdev"
    Option "XkbLayout" "gb"
EndSection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheAl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Jan 2004
Posts: 134

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok wrote:
Today I had the same issue, because I didn't had the time to figure out what exactly the problem is I emerge lower version of the following programs I last updated:
    sys-apps/hal-0.5.9.1-r3
    app-misc/hal-info-20070516
    x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev-1.1.5-r2
Now the up-key and my own layout is working.


Use hal-info-20070618 is the way to fix it !

Now, I've see that x11-drivers/xf86-input-evdev is out in version 1.2, so maybe the hal-info-20071030 is ok to use with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkyr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried different versions of hal, hal-info amd xf86-input-evdev, but none of them give me a working up key.

I did notice that pressing super + up key works, so i use that as a workaround, untill i find a solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lepaca Kliffoth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 28 Apr 2004
Posts: 737
Location: Florence, Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-641870.html
_________________
It isn't enough to win - everyone else must lose, and you also have to rub it in their face (maybe chop off an arm too for good measure).
Animebox!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Valkyr
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 30 Jan 2004
Posts: 123
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I finally found the cause of my problem, for me it had nothing to with the different versions of the packages.
Removing the screenshot shortcut (print-screen button) from compiz-fusion's keybindings gives me a working up key again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
boaglio
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 May 2004
Posts: 60
Location: Sao Paulo - Brazil

PostPosted: Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Valkyr wrote:
I finally found the cause of my problem, for me it had nothing to with the different versions of the packages.
Removing the screenshot shortcut (print-screen button) from compiz-fusion's keybindings gives me a working up key again!


I've got the very same problem here, up key doesn't work, but it's related to KDE4:

:arrow: running with FluxBox or KDE3, up key works fine
:arrow: running with KDE4, up key doesn't work (that's REALLY bothers me) :x
:arrow: enabling KDE4 keyboard layouts, I get something even worse: my up key starts up the KSnapShot application. If I check Ksnapshot shortcuts, it's ALT+PRINT; even if I change it to NONE, the problem remains :(

Any ideas anyone? Should I move back to KDE3? :cry:

<update>
It looks like that solved my problem:

emerge -C =khotkeys-4.0.1

</update>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum