Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Handbrake dependencies
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Tactical Fart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:58 pm    Post subject: Handbrake dependencies Reply with quote

I'm following the compile guide here (http://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/CompileGuide) and when I try to compile i get failures because it can't find certain packages. Is there a dependency list for gentoo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yumyum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Nov 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Iceland

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 4:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would help to know what compile says about what's missing.
_________________
Would you mind telling me why there is ricearoni in my coffee!?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobspencer123
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you are compiling just the lib and cli version it looks like it only requires GCC, G++, and Subversion.

If you want the gui ... I would start with the deps listed for ubuntu in the guide you posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kukibl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 10 Jun 2008
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just checked Gentoo's bugzilla and there is Handbrake ebuild.

http://bugs.gentoo.org/show_bug.cgi?id=89432

Ebuild:

http://bugs.gentoo.org/attachment.cgi?id=202205

Don't know much about ebuilds, but I guess these lines are relevant:

Code:
RDEPEND="
   gtk? (   >=x11-libs/gtk+-2.8
         dev-libs/glib
         dev-libs/dbus-glib
         sys-apps/hal
         net-libs/webkit-gtk
         x11-libs/libnotify
         media-libs/gstreamer
         media-libs/gst-plugins-base
   )"
DEPEND="sys-libs/zlib
   dev-lang/yasm
   >=dev-lang/python-2.4.6
   || ( >=net-misc/wget-1.11.4 >=net-misc/curl-7.19.4 )
   $RDEPEND"



Maybe you can follow this guide to install it:

http://www.gentoo-wiki.info/HOWTO_Installing_3rd_Party_Ebuilds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tactical Fart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 6:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After using the voyageur overlay and adding "media-video/handbrake ~64amd" to unmask.keywords I was able to emerge handbrake. But I get this in the end.

*
* ERROR: media-video/handbrake-0.9.3 failed.
* Call stack:
* ebuild.sh, line 49: Called src_compile
* environment, line 2258: Called die
* The specific snippet of code:
* emake || die "make HandBrakeCLI failed";
* The die message:
* make HandBrakeCLI failed
*
* If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if rele
vant.
* A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/media-video/handbrake-0.
9.3/temp/build.log'.
* The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/media-video/handb
rake-0.9.3/temp/environment'.
* This ebuild is from an overlay named 'voyageur': '/usr/local/portage/layman/v
oyageur/'
*

I think I screwed up somewhere. Also I'm only trying to get the CLI to work. The GUI is nice but I have a thing for ssh, and I want to be able to go "screen HandBrakeCLI blah blah blah" and still expect it to be done when I get home. I'm running a 64-bit system if it matters (Intel E8400). I'm beginning to think this might be important (with the ~amd64 mask and all). Ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bobspencer123
Guru
Guru


Joined: 19 Dec 2005
Posts: 544

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

although I am terrible at debugging compile failures ... I do know this ... you need to post at least 4-5 more lines of output above what you actually posted for someone to recognize a possible known error. So try adding a little more the emerge output ... it might even be better to post the entire build log.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quick23t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not sure how much it will help but, I built handbrake with the GUI from source last night, it required gstreamer, gpac, yasm, libnotify, dbus-glib and webkit-gtk to complete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tactical Fart
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Aug 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quick23t wrote:
Not sure how much it will help but, I built handbrake with the GUI from source last night, it required gstreamer, gpac, yasm, libnotify, dbus-glib and webkit-gtk to complete.


This is what I needed. Thank you so much.

To all of my fellow gentooers out there, here is a command that will get it running in no time. I THINK it will work but I would like someone to test it before I attest to it. (There are , like, two different subversion instructions on handbrake's source compile page and I think they both work, but I've only been successful with one.)

Code:
emerge subversion gstreamer hal GStreamer GStreamer-Interfaces gpac yasm libnotify dbus-glib webkit-gtk && svn checkout svn://svn.handbrake.fr/HandBrake/trunk hb-trunk && cd hb-trunk && ./configure --launch


*note, every bit of code starting after the first "&&" (does this have a technical term?) is cut and pasted (with "&&"s added) from handbrake's compiling page. I created this command for the convenience of others. I don't want credit because there might be another person out there that made one like this, and I don't want to cause any drama.*

Also, it mattered, I had USE FLAGS +X and +sgv set. I'm not sure if it matters because I had them set before I emerged the packages Quick23t suggested.

For now though... Problem is solved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
i92guboj
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 9814
Location: Córdoba (Spain)

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Multimedia to Unsupported Software.
_________________
Gentoo Handbook | My website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jomen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 536
Location: Leipzig, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't usually ask such questions but just try it out instead - please forgive my ignorance.
There is an IMO excellent program called "transcode" (media-video/transcode) and a nice GUI called "dvdrip" (media-video/dvdrip) which I'm using.
Has anyone used both handbrake and dvdrip and can provide a short comparison?
Is there anything one can do what the other can't - or better or not as well?

Thanks in advance!
_________________
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quick23t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's more of a personal preference, dvdrip can do both H.264 (changing defaults and commands) and SMP (by using the cluster options) but both take additional time to set up. Handbrake defaults to H.264 and is SMP aware, which is just easier for me..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jomen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 Jan 2006
Posts: 536
Location: Leipzig, Germany

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you!

I only have one core ;) and a cluster only after setting up another PC or laptop - which I tried once for the fun of it.
Changing to h264 or anything other is a click away and does not bother me so much as to try an ebuild not in portage yet. Too lazy.
Thanks again for your input!
_________________
Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Quick23t
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Aug 2009
Posts: 66
Location: Phoenix, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No problem. I often (maybe too often) stray outside of portage for what I need. For me personally, it is just sometimes easier to grab source from the author and compile it, than to deal with ebuild failures. That's the beauty of linux for me. Each OS takes on it's own personality and DNA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum