Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
sandbox (cannot run C compiled programs)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ackward
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Sep 2002
Posts: 192

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

loftwyr wrote:
You may need to go to /usr/bin and delete all the files starting with i686. You shouldn't have them but eselect compiler screwed you over.


Thank you, that worked! It was driving me mad.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyoung100
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 1411

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can we have a moderator sticky this after merging it with some of the other Topics along the same line??
_________________
The Birth and Growth of Science is the Death and Atrophy of Art -- Unknown
Registerd Linux User #363735
Adopt a Post | Strip Comments| Emerge Wrapper
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pajamabama
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 21
Location: In another time's forgotten space

PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 6:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can someone explain why this solution works? The removal of i686 things from bin? Like some others on the thread, I've found that it works, but I'm not really comfortable deleting stuff from /usr/bin, mostly because I don't really know what they are. Which set of executables is it supposed to be using if not the 686 ones?

I'd just like to understand what I did and why it worked. Thanks :D

EDIT:
Right, I saw above. It should be using the x86_64 bins. That makes sense.
_________________
HP Pavilion dv6000t
Intel Centrino Duo 2.0GHz
nVidia GeForce Go 7400
Sabayon Linux 5.2 x64

----------------------
The real question is what time is it and why the hell am I still screwing around with my computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
angelos
Developer
Developer


Joined: 31 Aug 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, to summarize this for everyone and maybe clarify a bit:
Code:
error: cannot run C compiled programs.

-> enable CONFIG_IA32_EMULATION in your kernel
Code:
error: C compiler cannot create executables

-> rm /usr/bin/i686-pc-linux-gnu-*

You have to delete those because they're broken links most likely created by eselect-compiler.
Then I've read something about an emerge wrapper and that uname -m has to display i686, this is not true. sandbox is built as 64bit and 32bit on a multilib system, uname -m has to be x86_64 in both cases and the 64bit gcc is used in both cases (using -m32 to build the 32bit version). fix_libtool.sh and revdep-rebuild won't help here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Shingoshi
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Jan 2007
Posts: 128
Location: Salem, Oregon USA

PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2008 4:48 am    Post subject: Sandbox crashing "emerge portage" Reply with quote

eyoung100 wrote:
Sorry about the signature problem. (I had left off a 4) It's fixed.

Have you tried what the emerge suggests?
Code:
FEATURES=-sandbox emerge sandbox


Forgive me for being out of the loop! But since I am brand new to Gentoo, and there is NO statement about where to change this "FEATURES=-sandbox emerge sandbox", I keep getting the same problem. I tried changing this in /etc/make.conf, but nothing is working.

And let me point out, that if I have correctly place that line in /etc/make.conf, your mentioning it here, as it is in the output from the terminal, doesn't include the required parenthesis. Not using them causes the system to fail.

I too am erroneously getting this ABI=32, which immediately struck me as odd, since I am running 64bit.

Shingoshi
_________________
The immediate equalization of all knowledge among all beings.
Xneutato - The Cluster-Distributed Package Development and Management Framework
http://portato.origo.ethz.ch/forum/23
Shingoshi's User Styles for Firefox
http://userstyles.org/users/3665
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Loibisch
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2008 6:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You just enter it on the command line as it is...don't add it to make.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Holysword
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Nov 2006
Posts: 805
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the same problem, and non of the posted solutions did worked.
One thing that no one has mentioned (and I dunno if its a normal thing) is that when I try to emerge gcc with a

USE="multilib" emerge gcc

It does not enable multilib use flag ( it keeps as (-multilib) no matter what I do ). Is that right??
_________________
"Nolite arbitrari quia venerim mittere pacem in terram non veni pacem mittere sed gladium" (Yeshua Ha Mashiach)
Who will save us from pulseaudio and systemd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eelke
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 May 2004
Posts: 406
Location: Earth, Netherlands, Friesland

PostPosted: Sat Mar 29, 2008 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I have discovered what is really going on. When you install an amd64 system the default profile is a multilib profile. For a multilib setup you should have IA32 executable support in your kernel. If you want to have a pure 64-bit system you have forgotten to change your profile during installation. To select the right profile do:

Code:
ln -snf /usr/portage/profiles/default-linux/amd64/2007.0/no-multilib /etc/make.profile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anstein
n00b
n00b


Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2010 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had the same problem with sandbox after doing a (required) emerge -e world:

error: cannot run C compiled programs.

It took some time to sort this out. Actually some package seems to dislike the softlink from /lib to /lib64 and replaces it with a real directory, so the root directory did look something like:

/lib
/lib32
/lib64

instead of:

/lib -> lib64
/lib32
/lib64

This causes all sorts of problems as the 32 bit run time linker is actually stored in /lib64, searched at runtime in /lib, ...

After merging the contents of /lib to /lib64 and restoring the soft link from lib to lib64 the sandbox emerge went smoothly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on AMD64 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum