Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
How do I install this source?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:16 am    Post subject: How do I install this source? Reply with quote

Ok I don't know how to install gnome-do 0.5 from source.... here are the files:
Code:
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 # ls
AUTHORS    Do.Addins    Makefile.include  config.log    depcomp              intltool-update.in  m4
COPYING    Do.DBus      aclocal.m4        config.sub    install-sh           libdo               missing
COPYRIGHT  Makefile.am  autom4te.cache    configure     intltool-extract.in  libtool             po
Do         Makefile.in  config.guess      configure.ac  intltool-merge.in    ltmain.sh

Problem is, I can do ./configure, and that works fine.. then I see that Makefile.am, so I used the command "automake" then I don't know what to do...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Usually it goes like this:
Code:
./configure
make
make install


Is there some reason why you don't want to use the version that is already in portage?

http://www.gentoo-portage.com/gnome-extra/gnome-do
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its outdated, I know how it normally goes but it doesn't work:
Code:
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 # make
make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found.  Stop.
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 # make install
make: *** No rule to make target `install'.  Stop.
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 #
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Then your configure step must have failed.

Edit: the normal thing to try in this case, is to copy the existing ebuild into a local portage overlay and bump the version. Then you let portage handle all the details.


Last edited by yabbadabbadont on Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh fail... you're right...
Code:
checking for NDESK_DBUS_GLIB_10... configure: error: Package requirements (ndesk-dbus-glib-1.0) were not met:

No package 'ndesk-dbus-glib-1.0' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables NDESK_DBUS_GLIB_10_CFLAGS
and NDESK_DBUS_GLIB_10_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.

freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 #

Didn't even notice.. how do i get ndesk-dbus-glib-1.0?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was editing my previous post while you were replying apparently... :D

Edit: give me a couple of minutes and I'll see if I can type up the instructions for you to do what I suggested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright, im waiting :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't think I needed to do it... found it on the gentoo wiki here: http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Create_an_Updated_Ebuild
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wtf lol ok.. wouldn't it be easier to just install that library im missing and then compile this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hawk__0 wrote:
wtf lol ok.. wouldn't it be easier to just install that library im missing and then compile this?

Trust me, the answer to your question is, in all probability, no. :lol:

(Myself, and many, many others have learned that the hard way. ;))

Edit: Besides, once you have an updated ebuild, the package will be managed by portage. That will make it much safer, and also easier to update to newer versions in the future.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get confused at this step:
Code:
mkdir -p /usr/local/portage/net-irc/xchat


So can i name that whatever I want? because obviously enough, gnome-do is not net-irc...

edit:
nvm i somehow skipped a line while reading lol
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now I am retarded when it comes to masks, wth is this?

Code:
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 # echo 'dev-dotnet/dbus-glib-sharp ~x86' >> /etc/portage/package.keywords
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 # emerge -pv gnome-do

These are the packages that would be merged, in order:

Calculating dependencies |
!!! All ebuilds that could satisfy ">=dev-dotnet/dbus-sharp-0.4" have been masked.
!!! One of the following masked packages is required to complete your request:
- dev-dotnet/dbus-sharp-0.6.1a (masked by: ~x86 keyword)
- dev-dotnet/dbus-sharp-0.6.0 (masked by: ~x86 keyword)

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page or
refer to the Gentoo Handbook.
(dependency required by "dev-dotnet/dbus-glib-sharp-0.4.1" [ebuild])



EDIT:
Fixed that problem, now i have some ebuild problem with 'gnome-desktop-sharp-2.0':
Code:

checking for GNOME_SHARP_20... yes
checking for GNOME_DESKTOP_SHARP_20... configure: error: Package requirements (gnome-desktop-sharp-2.0) were not met:

No package 'gnome-desktop-sharp-2.0' found

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables GNOME_DESKTOP_SHARP_20_CFLAGS
and GNOME_DESKTOP_SHARP_20_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.


!!! Please attach the following file when seeking support:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1/work/gnome-do-0.5.0.1/config.log
 *
 * ERROR: gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line  901:  Called gnome2_src_compile
 *             environment, line  795:  Called gnome2_src_configure
 *             environment, line  809:  Called econf
 *               ebuild.sh, line  513:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *            die "econf failed"
 *  The die message:
 *   econf failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1/temp/environment'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'
 *

 * Messages for package gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1:

 *
 * ERROR: gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1 failed.
 * Call stack:
 *               ebuild.sh, line   49:  Called src_compile
 *             environment, line  901:  Called gnome2_src_compile
 *             environment, line  795:  Called gnome2_src_configure
 *             environment, line  809:  Called econf
 *               ebuild.sh, line  513:  Called die
 * The specific snippet of code:
 *            die "econf failed"
 *  The die message:
 *   econf failed
 *
 * If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
 * A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1/temp/build.log'.
 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/gnome-extra/gnome-do-0.5.0.1/temp/environment'.
 * This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/portage/'
 *
 * GNU info directory index is up-to-date.
 * IMPORTANT: 9 config files in '/etc' need updating.
 * See the CONFIGURATION FILES section of the emerge
 * man page to learn how to update config files.
freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 # emerge --search gnome-desktop-sharp
Searching...   
[ Results for search key : gnome-desktop-sharp ]
[ Applications found : 0 ]
 

freeman gnome-do-0.5.0.1 #


Last edited by hawk__0 on Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:58 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When it tells you that a package is masked by keyword, it means that you'll have to add it to /etc/portage/package.keywords before you will be allowed to install it. Keyword masked packages are considered, by the gentoo devs, to be unstable. There is a level of masking beyond keyword masked called hard masked. I wouldn't mess with any that are hard masked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try installing the old version that is in portage. If it works, then that means that they have changed the package dependencies in the newer version. In which case it would probably be best to just open a bug against the existing ebuild and ask for a newer version to be added to portage.

Edit: Especially since there is no gnome-desktop-sharp package in portage.... I think you're out of luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hawk__0
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Mar 2008
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

alright thanks... so if i delete this ebuild i made, it should go back to old gnome-do, correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yabbadabbadont
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 14 Mar 2003
Posts: 4791
Location: 2 exits past crazy

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 5:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It should. You'll want to be sure to remove any extra packages that you may have added to /etc/portage/package.keywords though. (leave gnome-do in there as the version in the tree is keyword masked too)

Edit: Unless some of its dependencies are also masked... ugh.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum