Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2.6.23-kamikaze2: "nsits"
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bushwakko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

are wrote:
bushwakko wrote:
after following all suggestions from powertop, disabling bluetooth and turning on usb suspend I get:

Cn Avg residency P-states (frequencies)
C0 (cpu running) ( 4.8%) 2.34 Ghz 0.0%
C1 0.0ms ( 0.0%) 2.17 Ghz 0.0%
C2 1.1ms ( 6.5%) 2.00 Ghz 0.0%
C3 2.6ms (88.7%) 1000 Mhz 100.0%


Wakeups-from-idle per second : 402.4 interval: 5.5s
no ACPI power usage estimate available

Top causes for wakeups:
36.1% ( 91.6) <interrupt> : uhci_hcd:usb2, ohci1394, libata
29.9% ( 75.8) <interrupt> : extra timer interrupt
7.2% ( 18.4) <interrupt> : wifi0
6.9% ( 17.6) firefox-bin : futex_wait (hrtimer_wakeup)
5.2% ( 13.2) <kernel module> : usb_hcd_poll_rh_status (rh_timer_func)
4.0% ( 10.2) Xorg : do_setitimer (it_real_fn)

if I don't use my mouse for a while I might get:

Wakeups-from-idle per second : 271.0 interval: 10.0s
no ACPI power usage estimate available

Top causes for wakeups:
34.5% ( 64.7) <interrupt> : extra timer interrupt
18.2% ( 34.2) firefox-bin : futex_wait (hrtimer_wakeup)
9.3% ( 17.5) Xorg : do_setitimer (it_real_fn)
8.7% ( 16.4) <interrupt> : wifi0
8.6% ( 16.1) <interrupt> : acpi
6.4% ( 12.0) <kernel module> : usb_hcd_poll_rh_status (rh_timer_func)

also, my soundcard still doesn't work:

[ 366.245108] hda_codec: STAC922x, Apple subsys_id=106b1e00
[ 366.273365] ACPI: PCI interrupt for device 0000:00:1b.0 disabled
[ 366.273741] HDA Intel: probe of 0000:00:1b.0 failed with error -16


Are you sure, that you activated all the dynticks hires-timers stuff? You still have a lot of wakeups and they seem to be timer related. Why your processors stay outside C3 while idle (12% C0 to C2)???
Although I have another laptop, the technical base ist similar. So less than 100 wakeups should be possible.

Best regards
are


I have enabled both high res timers and tickless system.

here is my config: http://www.generation.no/~wakko/.config

I do btw run ubuntu.
_________________
Macbook Pro 15"
Core 2 Duo 2,33ghz
2gb Ram
ATI Mobility x1600 256mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bushwakko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

do you guys use any startup stuff like powernowd cpufreqd cpufrequtils?
_________________
Macbook Pro 15"
Core 2 Duo 2,33ghz
2gb Ram
ATI Mobility x1600 256mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buddabrod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 241
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bushwakko wrote:
do you guys use any startup stuff like powernowd cpufreqd cpufrequtils?
No.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bushwakko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

buddabrod wrote:
bushwakko wrote:
do you guys use any startup stuff like powernowd cpufreqd cpufrequtils?
No.


what handles disk spindown and such for you?

btw: does just using the mouse get it up to lik 1500 wakeups per second?
_________________
Macbook Pro 15"
Core 2 Duo 2,33ghz
2gb Ram
ATI Mobility x1600 256mb


Last edited by bushwakko on Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dottout
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

try laptop-mode-tools. for cpufreq I suppose that most of us use ondemand governor, no need to run a daemon for it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
are
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Jan 2006
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bushwakko wrote:
do you guys use any startup stuff like powernowd cpufreqd cpufrequtils?

No, sorry i'dont. Please could you show your dmesg after startup? Look there for output regarding hires-timers, idles acpi.

regards
are
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bushwakko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 25 Mar 2003
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there anything I can to to find out what extra-timer-interrupts is?
_________________
Macbook Pro 15"
Core 2 Duo 2,33ghz
2gb Ram
ATI Mobility x1600 256mb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gigs94
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 52
Location: DC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:38 pm    Post subject: Automating kamikaze-sources Reply with quote

I thought I'd share my little shell script to automatically get new kamikaze-sources whenever they are available.

get_kamikaze.sh
Code:
#!/usr/bin/env bash

KAMIKAZE_PORTAGE_OVERLAY_DIR="/usr/portageOverlay/sys-kernel/kamikaze-sources"
KAMIKAZE_EBUILD_HTTP="http://kamikaze.waninkoko.info/ebuilds"

cd $KAMIKAZE_PORTAGE_OVERLAY_DIR

wget -r -l1 --no-parent -nH --cut-dirs=1 $KAMIKAZE_EBUILD_HTTP

# remove stuff that we don't need
#FYI: kamikaze-sources-2.6.22-r7.ebuild can't find linux-2.6.22-kamikaze7.bz2 anymore so it can't build the manifest.
rm -rf kamikaze-sources-2.6.22-r7.ebuild index.html* *.gif klight-sources-*

firstEbuild=$(ls kamikaze-sources-* | head -1)

ebuild $firstEbuild digest


Then you just add to crontab:
Code:

00 04 * * * ~/get_kamikaze.sh > ~/get_kamikaze.out 2>&1


Then when you run emege -N world kamikaze-sources will appear automagically when there is a new version (but hopefully, you already knew that). And let me know if there is a better way to do this...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ingmarv
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Posts: 188
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 2:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Automating kamikaze-sources Reply with quote

gigs94 wrote:
I thought I'd share my little shell script to automatically get new kamikaze-sources whenever they are available.

get_kamikaze.sh
Code:
#!/usr/bin/env bash

KAMIKAZE_PORTAGE_OVERLAY_DIR="/usr/portageOverlay/sys-kernel/kamikaze-sources"
KAMIKAZE_EBUILD_HTTP="http://kamikaze.waninkoko.info/ebuilds"

cd $KAMIKAZE_PORTAGE_OVERLAY_DIR

wget -r -l1 --no-parent -nH --cut-dirs=1 $KAMIKAZE_EBUILD_HTTP

# remove stuff that we don't need
#FYI: kamikaze-sources-2.6.22-r7.ebuild can't find linux-2.6.22-kamikaze7.bz2 anymore so it can't build the manifest.
rm -rf kamikaze-sources-2.6.22-r7.ebuild index.html* *.gif klight-sources-*

firstEbuild=$(ls kamikaze-sources-* | head -1)

ebuild $firstEbuild digest


Then you just add to crontab:
Code:

00 04 * * * ~/get_kamikaze.sh > ~/get_kamikaze.out 2>&1


Then when you run emege -N world kamikaze-sources will appear automagically when there is a new version (but hopefully, you already knew that). And let me know if there is a better way to do this...


The custom-kernels overlay ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buddabrod
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Oct 2006
Posts: 241
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bushwakko wrote:
buddabrod wrote:
bushwakko wrote:
do you guys use any startup stuff like powernowd cpufreqd cpufrequtils?
No.


what handles disk spindown and such for you?
hdparm or bios. CPU frequency is handled by ondemd governor.

Quote:
btw: does just using the mouse get it up to lik 1500 wakeups per second?
Yes it can.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gigs94
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 52
Location: DC

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Automating kamikaze-sources Reply with quote

Ingmarv wrote:
The custom-kernels overlay ?


Ah... well, yeah. So something like this then:

So, I retract my previous implementation, and advise this instead:

Code:

emerge -av layman
layman -S
layman -a custom-kernels
emerge -av kamikaze-sources


And then run layman -S whenever you run emerge --sync and you'll get the latest kamikaze-sources.

Sorry this is a bit off-topic... but thought it was good information for anyone that is new to building these builds (like I am).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow. ext4 is fast. :| I compiled several heavy programs like xorg-server on a partition with these mount options:
/dev/hda4 on /var/tmp/portage type ext4dev (rw,noatime,delalloc,mballoc,data=writeback,nobh)

It was stable too. Someone said that mballoc wasn't stable, but it worked perfectly for me. :) I am using version 1.40.2 of e2fsprogs as well. I haven't noticed anything odd with them yet. Maybe this will give you hope and allows some people to update from 1.39 since a lot of changes went into 1.40.x.

So far so good. I have two experimental filesystems on my computer now. :P BTRFS and ext4. Whooo! Way to go me. I bet my hard drive hates me right about now. :twisted:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hornett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Waninkoko,

I would like to use just some of your patches but not others. I have downloaded the broken out patchset, but I have trouble applying the powertop patches. Each hunk fails. Is there anywhere I can find out which order they need to be applied, or which patch depends on which others to work?

Thanks for your hard work! :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wrc1944
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 15 Aug 2002
Posts: 2767
Location: Gainesville, Florida

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds good! :D Maybe I'll give it another try, (but this time not on / :wink: )

I just googled for BTRFS info- here's 2 links for those interested in the basics. Thanks StifflerStealth for cluing me in about this new FS- I'm always interested in stuff like this. How's BTRFS working out so far, and what partition do you have it on?

http://oss.oracle.com/projects/btrfs/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Btrfs

(EDIT: I just realized- maybe we ought to stop what seems like hijacking the kamikaze2 thread??? :roll: )
_________________
Main box- Gigabyte GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ rev.-4.0
Amd FX 8320, 3.5 GHz, 16GB GSkill DDR3 1866mhz
Samsung SATA 1000GB, Radeon HD 6570 2GB DDR3
Gentoo ~x86, ~amd64, glibc-2.19, gcc-4.9.0, kernel 3.16.1-gentoo (USE=experimental "native")
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dottout
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wrc1944 wrote:
Sounds good! :D Maybe I'll give it another try, (but this time not on / :wink: )

I just googled for BTRFS info- here's 2 links for those interested in the basics. Thanks StifflerStealth for cluing me in about this new FS- I'm always interested in stuff like this. How's BTRFS working out so far, and what partition do you have it on?

http://oss.oracle.com/projects/btrfs/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Btrfs

(EDIT: I just realized- maybe we ought to stop what seems like hijacking the kamikaze2 thread??? :roll: )

lol :D indeed, I was thinkin about the same thing, this 3d by now looks like a bunch of friends in a pub
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5699
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

there's already a thread on btrfs in this forum, please search for it ;)

and performance-wise it's already faster than default reiser4, but reiser4 with cryptcompress is still the fastest (on /usr/portage & / )
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dodo1122
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2006
Posts: 347
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dottout wrote:
wrc1944 wrote:
Sounds good! :D Maybe I'll give it another try, (but this time not on / :wink: )

I just googled for BTRFS info- here's 2 links for those interested in the basics. Thanks StifflerStealth for cluing me in about this new FS- I'm always interested in stuff like this. How's BTRFS working out so far, and what partition do you have it on?

http://oss.oracle.com/projects/btrfs/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Btrfs

(EDIT: I just realized- maybe we ought to stop what seems like hijacking the kamikaze2 thread??? :roll: )

lol :D indeed, I was thinkin about the same thing, this 3d by now looks like a bunch of friends in a pub


Yeah, but where else could we all talk? :D How about waninkoko creates an official IRC channel for kamikaze, like #kamikaze-sources on freenode, and then we could talk there? :P


dodo
_________________
#zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dottout
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Mar 2006
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice idea
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StifflerStealth
l33t
l33t


Joined: 03 Jul 2002
Posts: 955

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you want to know more about BTRFS on Gentoo, try this thread:
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-565360-start-75-postdays-0-postorder-asc-highlight-.html

Page 4 has a post by me with the fixed live ebuilds. The version 0.8 and love ebuilds posted before that have a slight bug in them. I mention what it is in a post right before I post the live ebuilds. The live ebuilds are stable. ;) A lot of bug fixes are in them. :)

Other than that, BTRFS is very nice. It's stable and it does handle /var/tmp/portage very well. I don't know which is better at it: ext4 or btrfs. I have BTRFS partition holding both /var/tmp/ccache and the repos. :) I have one partition" /dev/hda6 formatted BTRFS and that is broken into subvolumes. That feature is sweet. I can make a new partition without formatting the harddrive. A lot is explained the 4 pages of that thread. I don't think I will move repos off of btrfs, because it handles small files beautifully. :) Repos on ext3 was slow in comparison. btrfs really has it nailed when it comes to small files and the gentoo repo is thousands of small files, so you really need something that can handle that.

The developer is always looking for extra support, so if you find bugs, report them or if you know how to fix, he loves patches and gives credit. :)

Glad you are interested in btrfs. :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Waninkoko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hornett wrote:
Hello Waninkoko,

I would like to use just some of your patches but not others. I have downloaded the broken out patchset, but I have trouble applying the powertop patches. Each hunk fails. Is there anywhere I can find out which order they need to be applied, or which patch depends on which others to work?

Thanks for your hard work! :)


Check the "series" file to know the right order.

PD: I've got btrfs working on kamikaze3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4394
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dodo1122 wrote:
Yeah, but where else could we all talk? :D How about waninkoko creates an official IRC channel for kamikaze, like #kamikaze-sources on freenode, and then we could talk there? :P

Well in the meantime, I wouldn't mind if you'd use #berkano on freenode for that. It's not like it's a very busy channel anyway... 8)
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Waninkoko
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 May 2005
Posts: 549

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kamikaze-sources has its official channel!! #kamikaze
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hornett
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 12 Aug 2004
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks but the patch still wouldn't apply. No obvious reason why it was failing either. Doesn't matter tho, I just applied the lot in the end. Compiling now :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dodo1122
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Sep 2006
Posts: 347
Location: York, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waninkoko wrote:
kamikaze-sources has its official channel!! #kamikaze


Nice,

/me /join #kamikaze 8)

dodo
_________________
#zen-sources on irc.rizon.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
post-factum
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Aug 2007
Posts: 14
Location: /ukraine/novi sanzhary

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried kamikaze2, but hibernation fails with suspend2. Tuxonice 3.0-rc1 works fine in general.

2.6.22-kamikaze9 worked fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 5 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum