Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
rc-update and postfix start
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:21 pm    Post subject: rc-update and postfix start Reply with quote

Hey...

I think the title says it all..

I have postfix configured correctly for my install, but I am still not very well versed with the rc-update system (and the manual isnt really helping me either)

Would this do the trick?

#rc-update add postfix start default

I would think that the space between postfix and start may casue trouble.

I haven't tried it yet, casue I dont know how to undo an rc-update line hehe.

Any input appreciated.

Thanks,
Matt
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 3:35 pm    Post subject: Re: rc-update and postfix start Reply with quote

Zarathustra[H] wrote:
#rc-update add postfix start default
...
I haven't tried it yet, casue I dont know how to undo an rc-update line hehe.

To add postfix to default runlevel:
Code:
# rc-update add postfix default

To remove postfix from all runlevels:
Code:
# rc-update del postfix

If you don't tell it a level to remove it from, it will scan all levels.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:31 pm    Post subject: Re: rc-update and postfix start Reply with quote

spyderous wrote:
Zarathustra[H] wrote:
#rc-update add postfix start default
...
I haven't tried it yet, casue I dont know how to undo an rc-update line hehe.

To add postfix to default runlevel:
Code:
# rc-update add postfix default

To remove postfix from all runlevels:
Code:
# rc-update del postfix

If you don't tell it a level to remove it from, it will scan all levels.


Awesome thankyou... But postfix requires the argument "start" for the mailserver to start up.

From the command line that is:
#postfix start

How do I deal with that in rc update?

Thanks again,
Matt
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dberkholz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 18 Mar 2003
Posts: 1008
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 7:39 pm    Post subject: Re: rc-update and postfix start Reply with quote

Zarathustra[H] wrote:
But postfix requires the argument "start" for the mailserver to start up.

From the command line that is:
#postfix start

How do I deal with that in rc update?


The init script takes care of it. It's in /etc/init.d/postfix. Take a look:
Code:
PIDFILE=/var/spool/postfix/pid/master.pid

start() {
        ebegin "Starting postfix"
        /usr/sbin/postfix start &>/dev/null
        eend $?
}

stop() {
        ebegin "Stopping postfix"
        /usr/sbin/postfix stop &>/dev/null
        eend $?
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 03, 2003 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome! Thank you very much!
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum