Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
"Windows-like" mouse behaviour
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
orkid
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 94
Location: Toronto, Canada

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 8:05 pm    Post subject: "Windows-like" mouse behaviour Reply with quote

To make life in X a bit easier for those switching from Windows, here is a tip (from googling) about making the mouse work more like a Windows mouse.

As root edit the /etc/X11/XF86Config file. Look for the
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
part of the file; mine looks like this:
Code:
Section "InputDevice"
        Identifier  "Mouse0"
        Driver      "mouse"
        Option      "Protocol" "IMPS/2"
        Option      "Device" "/dev/psaux"
        Option      "Buttons" "5"
        Option      "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
        Option      "Resolution"  "1200"
EndSection


Add the line Option "Resolution" "1200" before the EndSection to make your mouse work 'nicer'. You can play around with the value to get different mouse speeds.

Hope this helps someone!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Fri Jun 21, 2002 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Huh. I switched from Windows and never noticed a mouse motion issue; X seems more 'natural' for me. I dunno... maybe I'm just weird. :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

A optical mouse is great under linux and is all I use, but I have used a roller mouse that does indeed need some tweaking for smooth movement.
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ee99ee2
Guru
Guru


Joined: 18 Jun 2002
Posts: 307
Location: Murfreesboro, TN, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you all are having trouble seeing any difference in it after you edit your XF86Config file, your X server may be using the XF86Config-4 file. Edit that one first, and see if anything changes. Probably, it'll use XF86Config-4 now'a days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AutoBot
l33t
l33t


Joined: 22 Apr 2002
Posts: 968
Location: Usually Out

PostPosted: Sat Jun 22, 2002 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ee99ee2 wrote:
If you all are having trouble seeing any difference in it after you edit your XF86Config file, your X server may be using the XF86Config-4 file. Edit that one first, and see if anything changes. Probably, it'll use XF86Config-4 now'a days.


Are you using gentoo ? Gentoo uses /etc/X11/XF86Config ;)
_________________
This message self destructed a long time ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sa
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Sun Jun 23, 2002 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm..
man XF86Config
...
XFree86 uses a configuration file called XF86Config for
its initial setup. This configuration file is searched
for in the following places when the server is started as
a normal user:

/etc/X11/<cmdline>
/usr/X11R6/etc/X11/<cmdline>
/etc/X11/$XF86CONFIG
/usr/X11R6/etc/X11/$XF86CONFIG
/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
/etc/X11/XF86Config
/etc/XF86Config
/usr/X11R6/etc/X11/XF86Config.<hostname>
/usr/X11R6/etc/X11/XF86Config-4
/usr/X11R6/etc/X11/XF86Config
/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/XF86Config.<hostname>
/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/XF86Config-4
/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/XF86Config
....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wilbertnl
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 01 Jul 2002
Posts: 89
Location: Tulsa, OK, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 02, 2002 12:22 am    Post subject: Cool Tip!! Reply with quote

When I switched back to MS Windows (Once in a while I do that) I always noticed the nicer mouse response.

This tip gives me that same response to Linux, thank you for this little jewel of a tip!
_________________
Wilbert van Bakel
Strive for excellence, not perfection
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
virus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2002 9:25 pm    Post subject: try everything once =) Reply with quote

Being a hardcore bloods music Xpilot player (old 2D multiplayer shoot'em up) I've done lots of experimenting with mouse action... but mainly aiming to get perfect linear mousemovement. (better control)... fiddling with mouseres certainly can give results, but never really gave better ones for me. Mainly I use 'xset m 0 0' for linearity and I'm done =) (first number accel. and second is threshold, behavior varies)

But 'good' settings are highly dependant on the mouse... never had any luck with optical ones... too early highspeed mouseaction convolution for my gaming style =)

Getting good mouse movement in windows has so far proved impossible =)
_________________
The bones! Look at the bones!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Sat Aug 10, 2002 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do I need to put the resolution right before end section?
Changing the resolution, whether to 2 or 300 or 714000 doesn't seem to have any effect on mouse speed

I'm using fluxbox
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 3:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I kept messing with Resolution, but it doesn't seem to effect my mouse speed, it must be something else. I'm using the IMPS/2 Protocol, does that make a difference?
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
virus
n00b
n00b


Joined: 20 Jul 2002
Posts: 20
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If u really want to tweak mouse speed I suggest using xset m <acceleration> <threshold>
example:
Code:
xset m 3 1

in a terminal window and trying different combinations 'til u find somethng u like, then putting that command in ur ~/.xinitrc file (which may or may not exist)
I prefer
Code:
xset m 2 1

_________________
The bones! Look at the bones!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Sun Aug 11, 2002 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the tip, but I want to raise overall speed, not just acceleration
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=8398&highlight=speed+acceleration
Does anyone else have the problem of Resolution not doing anything?
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Russki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 119
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mallrats wrote:
Thanks for the tip, but I want to raise overall speed, not just acceleration
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=8398&highlight=speed+acceleration
Does anyone else have the problem of Resolution not doing anything?

Wat do you expect from Resolution??
As I remember Resolution is a "sampling rate" of the mouse movement. It results in accuracy, not speed or acceleration
_________________
Facts are stupid things.
-Ronald Reagan
[img]http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my bad :oops:
So What exactly is resolution, and what raises my mouse speed?
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Russki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 119
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Mon Aug 12, 2002 5:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mallrats wrote:

So What exactly is resolution,

Well, in XF86Config file they are tolking about resolution in DPI (dots per inch). And that is the most important factor in determining the smoothness and speed of a mouse. This is described by how many signals are sent when the mouse moves one inch. As the number of signals increases, mouse resolution becomes finer and the resulting motion smoother.
But every mouse has it's limits, so "Option "Resolution" "1200"" might not work for you. For example:
AutoBot wrote:
A optical mouse is great under linux and is all I use, but I have used a roller mouse that does indeed need some tweaking for smooth movement.

An optical mouse has usually a higher resolution. (I use "1800" with my Logitech dual optical) Also USB has a greater "bandwidth" than PS/2.
Mallrats wrote:

and what raises my mouse speed?

The only way I know is this:
virus wrote:
If u really want to tweak mouse speed I suggest using xset m <acceleration> <threshold>
example:
Code:
xset m 3 1


Success
_________________
Facts are stupid things.
-Ronald Reagan
[img]http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 2:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"xset m # 1" does indeed raise my mouse speed
However I still get "jaggies" when I move the mouse (It looks like the mouse is climbing steps when I move diagonally
I tried to alleviate this my raising the resolution, but I've had no success with it
What should I be doing to fix the jagged motion?
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Russki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 28 Apr 2002
Posts: 119
Location: Prague, Czech Republic

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have a roller mouse? If so, your problem might be the dirty mechanical parts in your mouse. Try to clean it first.
_________________
Facts are stupid things.
-Ronald Reagan
[img]http://www.danasoft.com/vipersig.jpg[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2002 3:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no, it's optical
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 21, 2003 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Does anyone else have the problem of Resolution not doing anything?

Resolution and SampleRate only work on a few type of mice.

http://www.xfree86.org/4.2.1/mouse.4.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BlackBart
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Oct 2002
Posts: 252

PostPosted: Wed Jan 22, 2003 3:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AutoBot wrote:
ee99ee2 wrote:
If you all are having trouble seeing any difference in it after you edit your XF86Config file, your X server may be using the XF86Config-4 file. Edit that one first, and see if anything changes. Probably, it'll use XF86Config-4 now'a days.


Are you using gentoo ? Gentoo uses /etc/X11/XF86Config ;)


'gentoo' dosn't use a certain XF86Config. It depends on how you set up your X server. (what program you use.) when X starts up it says what config file it is using. If you can't see it check in the X log.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Malakin
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 14 Apr 2002
Posts: 1692
Location: Victoria BC Canada

PostPosted: Thu Jan 23, 2003 8:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

By default xfree86 4.x uses /etc/X11/XF86Config-4 if it exists, and if not then looks for /etc/X11/XF86Config
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Uranus
Guru
Guru


Joined: 07 May 2002
Posts: 438
Location: Portugal, Braga

PostPosted: Mon Feb 03, 2003 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I play a lot of Urban Terror... sometimes I play it on windows coz I'm already there programming or doing something else that explicitly needs windows, and I set my quake3's sensitivity to 9...

when I boot into linux, the sensitivity is way too high ... so I dropped it to 5.5 and set cl_mouse_accel to 0.2 ... it's beautiful! feels much smoother than windows now, and I aim WAYYYYY better :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mallrats
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 414
Location: Cleveland Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Jul 01, 2003 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Malakin wrote:
Resolution and SampleRate only work on a few type of mice.

I know it's been a while. If Resolution and SampleRate don't work for your mouse (they've never worked for any of the many mice I've tested), what can you do to emulate this speedup, short of the Acceleration settings
_________________
BitWise Chat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Przemek
n00b
n00b


Joined: 15 Mar 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 10:30 pm    Post subject: Re: try everything once =) Reply with quote

virus wrote:
Getting good mouse movement in windows has so far proved impossible =)


Turning off the accelerations completely requires some registry changes. I used a .reg file to tweak it for my ET.
It was SOME time ago and I can't remember where did I found it, but it is definitely possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 5153
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 12:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Przemek wrote:
It was SOME time ago..

Wow, so was this thread; that has to be the lengthiest zombie bump I've seen ;p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum