Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Compiz Fusion [HOWTO]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
enzobelmont
Guru
Guru


Joined: 06 Apr 2004
Posts: 345
Location: Chiapas, Mexico

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:52 pm    Post subject: Compiz Fusion [HOWTO] Reply with quote

just install layman (search forums)

retrieve and sync xeffect overlay:
Code:

layman -a xeffects
layman -s xeffects


i just edited these files:
/etc/portage/package.keywords and /etc/portage/package.unmask
added this:
Code:


x11-wm/compiz **
x11-wm/compiz-fusion **
x11-wm/emerald **
x11-themes/emerald-themes **

x11-libs/compizconfig-backend-kconfig **
x11-libs/libcompizconfig **
x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-extra **
x11-libs/compiz-bcop **
x11-apps/ccsm **
dev-python/compizconfig-python **
x11-libs/compizconfig-backend-gconf **
x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-main **
x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported **



emerge compiz-fusion and voila!

is there any other easiest method??

sorry my english... :P
_________________
Mens sana in corpore sano... Gentoo laetificat cor hominis
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OddFox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 270
Location: Spokane, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I setup my Compiz Fusion the same way basically but for some reason I have no way to configure any of my plugins. ccsm loads but doesn't affect anything, regardless of which backend I use (gconf, flat and kconfig) and the only window decorator that works is kde-window-decorator. Emerald flat out won't load.

It seems more smooth and stable so far than Beryl, but I'd really like to figure out why I'm seemingly stuck with a stock setup.
_________________
Now the rainy season reminds me of Maria
The way she danced, the color of her hair
Now I'm locked inside a stall at the cantina
Eating the bananas and the cocaine off the mirror
Looking for a ticket to take me away from here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guru369
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not that easy...

See:
Code:

checking whether byte ordering is bigendian... no
configure: Using PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/lib/pkgconfig:/usr/qt/3/lib/pkgconfig
checking for i686-pc-linux-gnu-pkg-config... no
checking for pkg-config... /usr/bin/pkg-config
checking pkg-config is at least version 0.9.0... yes
checking for COMPIZ... yes
checking for BCOP... configure: error: Package requirements (bcop >= 0.1.1) were not met:

Requested 'bcop >= 0.1.1' but version of bcop is 0.1.0

Consider adjusting the PKG_CONFIG_PATH environment variable if you
installed software in a non-standard prefix.

Alternatively, you may set the environment variables BCOP_CFLAGS
and BCOP_LIBS to avoid the need to call pkg-config.
See the pkg-config man page for more details.


!!! Please attach the following file when filing a report to bugs.gentoo.org:
!!! /var/tmp/portage/x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-9999/work/plugins-extra/config.log

!!! ERROR: x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-9999 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1637:   Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 983:   Called qa_call 'src_compile'
  ebuild.sh, line 44:   Called src_compile
  compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-9999.ebuild, line 47:   Called econf
  ebuild.sh, line 586:   Called die

!!! econf failed
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
!!! A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/x11-plugins/compiz-fusion-plugins-extra-9999/temp/build.log'.

!!! This ebuild is from an overlay: '/usr/local/layman/xeffects'



and bcop is reporting the right version....

Code:

monster dekela # bcop -version
compiz-bcop 0.1.3
monster dekela #

_________________
Gentoo Rulz!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shuffle2
n00b
n00b


Joined: 16 Dec 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 2:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

guru: maybe you just need to do a revdep-rebuild?
It's working fine for me....I just start it with "compiz --replace ccp --sm-disable" if i want to go back, "kwin --replace" works for me.

problems i have: pager gets humongously wide, this is probably not something i can fix.....but it's really annoying. I also get all the problems oddfox describes :'(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 300
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The xeffects method is fine if you intend to use ccsm to manage your settings.

If you're like me and want to use gconf for managing settings you're better off not using the xeffects ebuilds. The compiz one doesn't properly install the gconf schema; the compiz-fusion-plugin ones don't even generate a schema.
_________________
Have you ever seen Geneva™, Monaco®, or New York®?
Geneva, Monaco, and New York are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., some registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MoridinBG
n00b
n00b


Joined: 24 May 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any way to use it with dual monitors?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Unsupported Software.
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mantaar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 17 May 2007
Posts: 219

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MoridinBG wrote:
Any way to use it with dual monitors?

That will depend very much on the graphics card and rendering method you use and whether or not you use Xinerama (with nVidia you don't have to)...
_________________
Error compiling committee.c: too many arguments to function.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5710
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@enzobelmont:

you forgot this script :wink: (works fine here with nvidia)

Code:
# compiz-start script
#
# hacky autodetection of neccessary options for XGL/AIGLX/NVIDIA
#
# Hanno Boeck, http://www.hboeck.de/
#
# Licensed under the same conditions as compiz itself (MIT or GPL)

if [ ! -x /usr/bin/glxinfo ]; then
   echo "glxinfo not found, please install mesa-progs."
   exit -1
fi

GLX_WITH_DIRECT=`glxinfo|grep -c GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap`
GLX_WITH_INDIRECT=`LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1 glxinfo|grep -c GLX_EXT_texture_from_pixmap`
GLX_RENDER=`glxinfo|grep -c "OpenGL renderer string: Mesa GLX Indirect"`


COMPIZ_OPTIONS="--replace"

if [ $GLX_WITH_DIRECT -eq 3 ]; then
   if [ $GLX_RENDER -eq 0 ]; then
      echo NVIDA detected
      export __GL_YIELD="NOTHING"
   else
      echo XGL detected
   fi
elif [ $GLX_WITH_INDIRECT -eq 3 ]; then
   echo AIGLX detected
   export LIBGL_ALWAYS_INDIRECT=1
fi

if [ ! -z $KDE_FULL_SESSION ] && [ -x /usr/bin/kde-window-decorator ]; then
   echo Using KDE decorator
   kde-window-decorator --replace &
else
   echo Using GTK decorator
   gtk-window-decorator --replace &
fi

compiz $COMPIZ_OPTIONS gconf move resize minimize place decoration wobbly fade cube rotate scale switcher zoom dbus


@OddFox:

try:
Code:
compiz --replace ccp --sm-disable
,
Code:
emerald --replace

_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tw04l124
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 03 Oct 2006
Posts: 1478
Location: A t z e l, lower austria

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Should I uninstall beryl and install compiz-fusion instead?

http://wiki.gentoo-xeffects.org/Compiz_Fusion

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanas3712
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sure. It's at the point now where you shouldn't really lose anything doing so. Not going to say you will do it without problems as it seems they occur even if they haven't for me, but you "shouldn't" have any.. hopefully.

It went pretty seamlessly for me on the systems I've converted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
IvanMajhen
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Jun 2006
Posts: 385
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just created kde session for compiz.
Copied startkde to startcompiz and modified it: (/usr/kde/3.5/bin)
added KDEWM=/usr/bin/compiz-start before test -n "$KDEWM" && KDEWM="--windowmanager $KDEWM"

Then modified compiz-start, so that it only uses ccp plugin and starts emerald.

Then copied /usr/share/xsession/kde-3.5.desktop kde-3.5-compiz.desktop and modified it to call startcompiz and changed name:
Name=KDE 3.5 with compiz :lol:

With this pager applet in kde is normal size.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jonnevers
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 1593
Location: Gentoo64 land

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

two days ago, i did what the OP did. last night I finally got the group/tab plugin to work. I had to emerge compiz-fusion-plugins-extra TWICE for the group/tab plugin to work properly. I'm not exactly sure why but it has to do with a missing symlink after the first emerge, I believe.

it works just fine now though. the group/tab plugin is AMAZING. even more amazing, perhaps, the the first iteration of compiz was!

i execute it via:
Code:
compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp &
emerald --replace &


@vonz, I had the same stance as you "i want to use gconf, etc" and well, frankly gconf support is broken. and since I wanted compiz-fusion anyway, I just went with the flat file backend.... and let me tell you it works PERFECTLY. I don't think I'll ever go back to using gconf, it's a waste of time, YMMV.

but I went above and beyond for the group plugin. I modified the group.xml file to allow button events to trigger the tab changing.

Code:
vi /usr/share/compiz/group.xml.....
    <option name="change_tab_left" type="action">
        <short>Change Tab Left</short>
        <long>The key for switching to the tab left of the current one.</long>
        <allowed key="true" button="true"/>
        <default>
            <key>&lt;Super&gt;Left</key>
            <button>&lt;Super&gt;Button4</button>
        </default>
    </option>

and the <super>Button5 for tab right. Button4 and Button5 are my mouse wheel. so freaking cool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OddFox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 270
Location: Spokane, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:

@OddFox:

try:
Code:
compiz --replace ccp --sm-disable
,
Code:
emerald --replace


You, sir, are a genius. :D Everything works quite wonderfully now!
_________________
Now the rainy season reminds me of Maria
The way she danced, the color of her hair
Now I'm locked inside a stall at the cantina
Eating the bananas and the cocaine off the mirror
Looking for a ticket to take me away from here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OddFox wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:

@OddFox:

try:
Code:
compiz --replace ccp --sm-disable
,
Code:
emerald --replace


You, sir, are a genius. :D Everything works quite wonderfully now!


don't wanna sount stupid but where do i put the two line in compiz-start?
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OddFox
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 28 Nov 2002
Posts: 270
Location: Spokane, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 4:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@tranquilcool: I just put them into an executable file I named compizmeup and put it in /usr/local/bin, but I'd be thinking you should modify it like so:

Code:
COMPIZ_OPTIONS="--replace ccp --sm-disable"


That won't auto-start Emerald as the window decorator, however, so at the end of the file you can try adding

Code:
compiz $COMPIZ_OPTIONS gconf move resize minimize place decoration wobbly fade cube rotate scale switcher zoom dbus &
emerald --replace


I'm not using those precise commands though, compizmeup contains:

Code:
compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp &
emerald --replace &

_________________
Now the rainy season reminds me of Maria
The way she danced, the color of her hair
Now I'm locked inside a stall at the cantina
Eating the bananas and the cocaine off the mirror
Looking for a ticket to take me away from here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OddFox wrote:
@tranquilcool: I just put them into an executable file I named compizmeup and put it in /usr/local/bin, but I'd be thinking you should modify it like so:

Code:
COMPIZ_OPTIONS="--replace ccp --sm-disable"


That won't auto-start Emerald as the window decorator, however, so at the end of the file you can try adding

Code:
compiz $COMPIZ_OPTIONS gconf move resize minimize place decoration wobbly fade cube rotate scale switcher zoom dbus &
emerald --replace


I'm not using those precise commands though, compizmeup contains:

Code:
compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp &
emerald --replace &




this line in compiz-start causes compiz to seg fault;
compiz $COMPIZ_OPTIONS gconf move resize minimize place decoration wobbly fade cube rotate scale switcher zoom dbus

i think it's the gconf. dunno.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5710
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just use

Quote:
I'm not using those precise commands though, compizmeup contains:
Code:
compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp &
emerald --replace &

_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guru369
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 225

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shuffle2 wrote:
guru: maybe you just need to do a revdep-rebuild?
It's working fine for me....I just start it with "compiz --replace ccp --sm-disable" if i want to go back, "kwin --replace" works for me.

problems i have: pager gets humongously wide, this is probably not something i can fix.....but it's really annoying. I also get all the problems oddfox describes :'(


Revdep-rebuild is passing with flying colors...

No Compiz-Fusion for me :cry:

Please help..

Dekel
_________________
Gentoo Rulz!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
just use

Quote:
I'm not using those precise commands though, compizmeup contains:
Code:
compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp &
emerald --replace &



doesn't work.
this is the error;

compiz: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/compiz/libpng.so: undefined symbol: png_check_sig
_________________
this is a strange strange world.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5710
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranquilcool wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:
just use

Quote:
I'm not using those precise commands though, compizmeup contains:
Code:
compiz --replace --sm-disable --ignore-desktop-hints ccp &
emerald --replace &



doesn't work.
this is the error;

compiz: symbol lookup error: /usr/lib/compiz/libpng.so: undefined symbol: png_check_sig


you probably updated your system after the compiz-install ?

please reinstall it (compiz-fusion) or run
Code:
revdep-rebuild -i -p

_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gergan Penkov
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jul 2004
Posts: 1464
Location: das kleinste Kuhdorf Deutschlands :)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

this will not help, as the make system is borked, they don't link the plugin to libpng.
A very hacky patch to resolve the issue:
Code:

--- configure.ac.orig   2007-06-26 20:25:09.000000000 +0200
+++ configure.ac        2007-06-26 20:27:41.000000000 +0200
@@ -100,6 +100,10 @@
 PKG_CHECK_MODULES(DECORATION, $DECORATION_REQUIRES)
 AC_SUBST(DECORATION_REQUIRES)
 
+PNGPLUGIN_REQUIRES="libpng"
+PKG_CHECK_MODULES(PNGPLUGIN, $PNGPLUGIN_REQUIRES)
+AC_SUBST(PNGPLUGIN_REQUIRES)
+
 PKG_CHECK_EXISTS(xrender >= 0.9.3,
                 [have_xrender_0_9_3=yes], [have_xrender_0_9_3=no])
 
--- plugins/Makefile.am.orig    2007-06-26 20:28:39.000000000 +0200
+++ plugins/Makefile.am 2007-06-26 20:30:33.000000000 +0200
@@ -46,6 +46,7 @@
 libclone_la_SOURCES = clone.c
 
 libpng_la_LDFLAGS = -module -avoid-version -no-undefined
+libpng_la_LIBADD = @PNGPLUGIN_LIBS@
 libpng_la_SOURCES = png.c
 
 libblur_la_DEPENDENCIES = $(top_builddir)/libdecoration/libdecoration.la

_________________
"I knew when an angel whispered into my ear,
You gotta get him away, yeah
Hey little bitch!
Be glad you finally walked away or you may have not lived another day."
Godsmack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 300
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jonnevers wrote:
@vonz, I had the same stance as you "i want to use gconf, etc" and well, frankly gconf support is broken. and since I wanted compiz-fusion anyway, I just went with the flat file backend.... and let me tell you it works PERFECTLY. I don't think I'll ever go back to using gconf, it's a waste of time, YMMV.

Actually, it's not the gconf support but rather the xeffects ebuild that is broken. I modified it to inherit the gnome2 eclass and, in the case of the compiz-fusion ebuilds, to pass '--enable-schemas' during configure.

I have been running it perfectly, without ccsm, ever since.
_________________
Have you ever seen Geneva™, Monaco®, or New York®?
Geneva, Monaco, and New York are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., some registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tranquilcool
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 25 Mar 2005
Posts: 1044

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vonr wrote:
jonnevers wrote:
@vonz, I had the same stance as you "i want to use gconf, etc" and well, frankly gconf support is broken. and since I wanted compiz-fusion anyway, I just went with the flat file backend.... and let me tell you it works PERFECTLY. I don't think I'll ever go back to using gconf, it's a waste of time, YMMV.

Actually, it's not the gconf support but rather the xeffects ebuild that is broken. I modified it to inherit the gnome2 eclass and, in the case of the compiz-fusion ebuilds, to pass '--enable-schemas' during configure.

I have been running it perfectly, without ccsm, ever since.


ok working perfectly for you but let's see your modifications.

all said compiz-fusion will be hot but for now, at least for me, it's still too bleeding cutting edge.
back to beryl for now.
_________________
this is a strange strange world.


Last edited by tranquilcool on Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vonr
Guru
Guru


Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 300
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tranquilcool wrote:
ok working perfectly for you but let's see your modifications.

Eh? What I posted was related to gconf schemas.

Have a look at the patch Gergan Penkov posted for your libpng issue.
_________________
Have you ever seen Geneva™, Monaco®, or New York®?
Geneva, Monaco, and New York are trademarks of Apple Computer, Inc., some registered in the U.S. and other countries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14  Next
Page 1 of 14

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum