Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
2007 install - mount points
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tux900
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:57 pm    Post subject: 2007 install - mount points Reply with quote

I have Windows installed and I'm trying to install Gentoo 2007 from livecd gtk.
My question is do i have to manually define the Windows mount points along with the Linux mount points or will the installation automatically find the Windows partitions and include them when Grub boots up?

I know what fstab should look like for the linux part of my system:
Code:

/dev/hda6   /boot     ext2    defaults,noatime 
/dev/hda7   none      swap    sw               
/dev/hda8   /         ext3    noatime 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jseymour
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2006
Posts: 202
Location: Gainesville Florida

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will have to manually add the windows partitions and make sure your kernel is built with support for your windows file system (fat or ntfs).

A line from my fstab (may be a better way :) )
Code:
/dev/sda1      /windows   ntfs       noauto,rw,user      0 0

_________________
WebServerMasters
Gentoo Installation Flash Tutorials
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bdm
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Jan 2006
Posts: 305
Location: Canada, Barrie, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you need a howto on how to mount an NTFS partition, look no further! http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Mount_Windows_partitions_%28DOS%2C_FAT%2C_NTFS%29
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tux900
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could somebody please help me define the Windows mount points?

It looks like /dev/hda2 will me the main Windows mount moint?

This is how my hd is mapped:

Code:

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1               1         654     5253223+  12  Compaq diagnostics
/dev/hda2   *         655        2613    15735667+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda3            2614       14593    96229350    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5            2614        7713    40965718+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda6            7714        7725       96358+  83  Linux
/dev/hda7            7726        7916     1534176   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda8            7917       14593    53632971   83  Linux
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
djdunn
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Dec 2004
Posts: 810

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

you have to make sure you have vfat and ntfs in the kernel

Code:

/dev/hda2   /win1 ntfs  noauto,rw,user 0 0
/dev/hda1   /win2 ntfs  noauto,rw,user 0 0
/dev/hda3   /win3 fat32 noauto,rw,user 0 0

_________________
“Music is a moral law. It gives a soul to the Universe, wings to the mind, flight to the imagination, a charm to sadness, gaiety and life to everything. It is the essence of order, and leads to all that is good and just and beautiful.”

― Plato
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 8:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tux900 wrote:
Could somebody please help me define the Windows mount points?

It looks like /dev/hda2 will me the main Windows mount moint?

This is how my hd is mapped:

Code:

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1               1         654     5253223+  12  Compaq diagnostics
/dev/hda2   *         655        2613    15735667+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda3            2614       14593    96229350    f  W95 Ext'd (LBA)
/dev/hda5            2614        7713    40965718+   7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda6            7714        7725       96358+  83  Linux
/dev/hda7            7726        7916     1534176   82  Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/hda8            7917       14593    53632971   83  Linux


define the folders at will e.g.
Code:

/dev/hda2 /media/ntfs1 ntfs noauto,ro,user 0 0
/dev/hda5 /media/ntfs2 ntfs noauto,ro,user 0 0


don't ever use the kernel built-in write-support for ntfs :!:

use ntfs3g instead :idea:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cwr
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Dec 2005
Posts: 1969

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How you set up mount points is to some extent a matter of taste. I keep /mnt free
for mounting temporary attachments, and have a set of points under /media; in
my case, /media/dos, /media/server, /media/win, /media/dvd

Each of the /media entries has the appropriate filesystem type in /etc/fstab; for
example, /media/dos has

/dev/hda3 /media/dos vfat etc...

so that a simple "mount /media/dos" will mount the FAT partition. In your case,
I suppose I'd use /media/win, /media/win2, /media/win3 with the appropriate
file systems in /etc/fstab.

Will
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tux900
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm slightly confused by the different responses.

I noticed kernelOfTruth and djdunn used different schemes for the mount points.

I also understand that i should never use rw for ntfs as an option?

I know i have to include /dev/hda2 and probably /dev/hda5 as the main mount points but i'm just not certain about /dev/hda1 and /dev/hda3. (keep in mind i have a C: and D: drive)

Also will the noauto option prevent Windows as an option when grub boots?


i know, a lot of questions. :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 6111
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tux900 wrote:
I'm slightly confused by the different responses.

I noticed kernelOfTruth and djdunn used different schemes for the mount points.

I also understand that i should never use rw for ntfs as an option?

I know i have to include /dev/hda2 and probably /dev/hda5 as the main mount points but i'm just not certain about /dev/hda1 and /dev/hda3. (keep in mind i have a C: and D: drive)

Also will the noauto option prevent Windows as an option when grub boots?


i know, a lot of questions. :)


hm, let's see:

Quote:
/dev/hda1 1 654 5253223+ 12 Compaq diagnostics
/dev/hda2 * 655 2613 15735667+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda3 2614 14593 96229350 f W95 Ext'd (LBA)


/dev/hda1 seems to be a partition, where your windows xp / vista recovery system resides in, you can't do anything with out, except formatting & then using :roll: , just leave it out of fstab

/dev/hda3 is just an extended partition (there are altogether 4 primary partitions allowed including the extended, the partitions after hda3 are in the big "container" hda3 (extended partition)), if you need more info on extended and primary partitions ask google / utfg :wink:

Quote:
I noticed kernelOfTruth and djdunn used different schemes for the mount points.


it's up to you were to arrange them, I'd keep them in a common folder, to know that they're windows / ntfs-partitions ...

if you need write access to ntfs partitions install ntfs3g & udev should mount them automatically to some mount-points (don't set them up in /etc/fstab) ...
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.9.0
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/pulseaudio-equalizer-ladspa

Hardcore Gentoo Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tux900
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks!

I'll mount /dev/hda2 and /dev/hda5.

Just one more question: If i use the noauto option will it prevent Grub from showing Windows as a boot option? In which case i would have to use auto?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drysh
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 06 Apr 2005
Posts: 203
Location: São Paulo, Brazil

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Grub uses menu.lst to show the boot options, not fstab. You don't even have them in fstab to be able to boot in windows. The only difference with auto and noauto is that in the first case the partitions will be mounted when you boot, and in the second case you will have to type mount /your/mount/directory to be able to use them. I usualy mount windows with ro and auto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tux900
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Apr 2007
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 12:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UGHHH! :twisted: :evil:

This is my second failed install now and i don't *think* it's my fault...

FATAL ERROR: could not load /lib/modules/2.6.19-gentoo-r5/modules read-only something... that was right after i tried to set up my options for the network.

at least this time i didn't have to spend hours saving my partitions... :D

I'm trying fedora core...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum