Help with partition
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jeremy15
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:37 pm    Post subject: Help with partition Reply with quote

I am a newbie to Linux and I a trying to install Gentoo. The first problem I ran into was during installation - I have 3 Primary partitions already. /dev/hda1 is Windows, /dev/hda2 is ubuntu, /dev/hda3 is an extended partition containing hda5, a linux swap for ubuntu. I have 10 GiBs of unallocated space. How can I partition this for Gentoo? Is the same swap used for both Linux distros? Should I put the ubuntu partition inside of the extended part with the swap? Or create a new extended with hda6 and 7, Gentoo swap and root. Please help, as I am totally confused.
erik258
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Is the same swap used for both Linux distros?

There are potential problems with this, but that's how I'd do it. The problems are
1) if the swap format between gentoo and ubuntu are incompatible each will have to reformat the swap partition before
reusing. It doesn't seem likely that this is the case though. I would imagine both would be happy to share.

2)
if you expect to suspend the system to swap (swsusp/suspend2) to hibernate you'll be writing that data to your swap partition. Booting into the other OS which isn't going to recognize this system will use the swap itself, with the effect of 'unplugging' that 'running', hibernated system.

The second one is a big one. I can't speak for the stability of ubuntu or its robustness, so I don't know what would happen in this case. I guess the real solution would be to disable the gentoo boot line in grub.conf when ubuntu was suspending to swap. In your case, though, I would just allow them seperate swap partitions.

Quote: