Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
DRI on mach64 on sparc (ok, ok... its an experiment!)
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
shimitar
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 23 Nov 2003
Posts: 179
Location: Italy, Torino

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 9:12 am    Post subject: DRI on mach64 on sparc (ok, ok... its an experiment!) Reply with quote

Since no support for dri and mach64 exists in the official kernel, i am trying this out.

I successfully compiled and enabled the DRM modules following the DRI howto:
http://dri.freedesktop.org/wiki/Building

I had to remove some erefrences to AGP in the drm source code because no AGP can be compiled in from the kernel, but the DRI FAQ says that for PCI based cards AGP is only used for otherwise missing symbols.

Now, my DRM module loads fine:
Code:
[drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[drm] Initialized mach64 2.0.0 20060718 on minor 0
[drm] Used old pci detect: framebuffer loaded


wow!

I then copied all the libGL* libraries (following the howto) in X and started it. But it says:
Code:


X Window System Version 7.1.1
Release Date: 12 May 2006
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 7.1.1
Build Operating System: UNKNOWN
Current Operating System: Linux ultra5 2.6.20-gentoo-r4 #3 PREEMPT Fri Jun 1 10:52:34 CEST 2007 sparc64
Build Date: 30 May 2007
        Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
        to make sure that you have the latest version.
Module Loader present
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
        (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
        (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Fri Jun  1 11:52:30 2007
(==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf"
(==) ServerLayout "X.org Configured"
(**) |-->Screen "Screen0" (0)
(**) |   |-->Monitor "Monitor0"
(**) |   |-->Device "Card0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Mouse0"
(**) |-->Input Device "Keyboard0"
[SNIP]
(II) LoadModule: "dri"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/libdri.so
(II) Module dri: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 7.1.1, module version = 1.0.0
        ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.3
(II) Loading sub module "drm"
(II) LoadModule: "drm"
(II) Loading /usr/lib/xorg/modules/linux/libdrm.so
(II) Module drm: vendor="X.Org Foundation"
        compiled for 7.1.1, module version = 1.0.0
        ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 0.3
(II) Loading extension XFree86-DRI
[SNIP]                             
(**) ATI(0): *Default mode "1024x768": 78.8 MHz, 60.1 kHz, 75.1 Hz
(II) ATI(0): Modeline "1024x768"   78.80  1024 1040 1136 1312  768 769 772 800 +hsync +vsync
(**) ATI(0): *Default mode "800x600": 49.5 MHz, 46.9 kHz, 75.0 Hz
(II) ATI(0): Modeline "800x600"   49.50  800 816 896 1056  600 601 604 625 +hsync +vsync
(**) ATI(0): *Default mode "640x480": 31.5 MHz, 37.5 kHz, 75.0 Hz
(II) ATI(0): Modeline "640x480"   31.50  640 656 720 840  480 481 484 500 -hsync -vsync
[SNIP]
(II) ATI(0): I2C bus "Mach64" initialized.
(--) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
(II) do I need RAC?  No, I don't.
(II) resource ranges after preInit:
        [0] 0   1       0xe2000000 - 0xe2000fff (0x1000) MS[B]
        [1] 0   1       0xe1000000 - 0xe1ffffff (0x1000000) MS[B]
        [2] -1  1       0xffffffff - 0xffffffff (0x1) MX[B]
        [3] -1  1       0x000f0000 - 0x000fffff (0x10000) MX[B]
        [4] -1  1       0x000c0000 - 0x000effff (0x30000) MX[B]
        [5] -1  1       0x00000000 - 0x0009ffff (0xa0000) MX[B]
        [6] -1  1       0x00008000 - 0x000080ff (0x100) MX[B]
        [7] -1  1       0x00006000 - 0x000060ff (0x100) MX[B]
        [8] -1  1       0x00004000 - 0x00004fff (0x1000) MX[B]
        [9] -1  1       0x00002000 - 0x00002fff (0x1000) MX[B]
        [10] -1 1       0xe0000000 - 0xe0007fff (0x8000) MX[B]
        [11] -1 1       0xf1000000 - 0xf17fffff (0x800000) MX[B]
        [12] -1 1       0xf0000000 - 0xf0ffffff (0x1000000) MX[B]
        [13] -1 1       0xe0020000 - 0xe003ffff (0x20000) MX[B](B)
        [14] -1 1       0xe2000000 - 0xe2000fff (0x1000) MX[B](B)
        [15] -1 1       0xe1000000 - 0xe1ffffff (0x1000000) MX[B](B)
        [16] 0  1       0x00c00400 - 0x00c004ff (0x100) IS[B]
        [17] -1 1       0x00ffffff - 0x00ffffff (0x1) IX[B]
        [18] -1 1       0x00000000 - 0x00000000 (0x1) IX[B]
        [19] -1 1       0x00000420 - 0x0000042f (0x10) IX[B]
        [20] -1 1       0x00000418 - 0x0000041b (0x4) IX[B]
        [21] -1 1       0x00000410 - 0x00000417 (0x8) IX[B]
        [22] -1 1       0x00000408 - 0x0000040b (0x4) IX[B]
        [23] -1 1       0x00000400 - 0x00000407 (0x8) IX[B]
        [24] -1 1       0x00c00020 - 0x00c0002f (0x10) IX[B]
        [25] -1 1       0x00c00018 - 0x00c0001b (0x4) IX[B]
        [26] -1 1       0x00c00010 - 0x00c00017 (0x8) IX[B]
        [27] -1 1       0x00c00008 - 0x00c0000b (0x4) IX[B]
        [28] -1 1       0x00c00000 - 0x00c00007 (0x8) IX[B]
        [29] -1 1       0x00c00400 - 0x00c004ff (0x100) IX[B](B)
(WW) ATI(0): DRI static buffer allocation failed -- need at least 7680 kB video memory
(II) ATI(0): Largest offscreen areas (with overlaps):
(II) ATI(0):    1024 x 255 rectangle at 0,768
(II) ATI(0):    768 x 256 rectangle at 0,768
(II) ATI(0): Using XFree86 Acceleration Architecture (XAA)
        Screen to screen bit blits
        Solid filled rectangles
        8x8 mono pattern filled rectangles
        Indirect CPU to Screen color expansion
        Solid Lines
        Offscreen Pixmaps
        Setting up tile and stipple cache:
                8 128x128 slots
(==) ATI(0): Backing store disabled
(==) ATI(0): Silken mouse enabled
(II) ATI(0): Direct rendering disabled


What is going on?
Is there a way, you know, to change/fix that memory problem? I have 8MB of memory but only 4MB are used! and of course DRI fails because it needs 7MB.
_________________
Willy Gardiol
willy@gardiol.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gust4voz
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 09 Sep 2003
Posts: 373
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you're using the onboard mach64 from a u5/10 it actually has only 4mb of ram.
I think the blades are in the same league...
_________________
Gustavo Zacarias
Gentoo/SPARC monkey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo on Sparc All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum