Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[PALUDIS] Support thread (current v. 0.24.6) - Part 3
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next  
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Recompiling libtool worked for me.
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

john.doe wrote:
Recompiling libtool worked for me.


Ah. Didn't think of that. *giving it a go*
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ferdy
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 04 May 2002
Posts: 483
Location: España

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krisse wrote:
Packages sys-apps/attr and sys-apps/acl fail with paludis, but emerges fine with portage.


Stop setting CC and CXX in bashrc, see http://paludis.pioto.org/faq.html#ccache for information on how to set up ccache.

Cheers.

- ferdy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2007 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john.doe wrote:
Recompiling libtool worked for me.


It did do the trick. Thanks!

Ferdy wrote:
Stop setting CC and CXX in bashrc, see http://paludis.pioto.org/faq.html#ccache for information on how to set up ccache.


If I don't set CC and CXX, i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ seems to be used instead of the ccache version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tytanick
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 01 Feb 2006
Posts: 162
Location: Poland, Gdansk

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 5:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have another problem with my paludis, this is the log:

Quote:
Unhandled exception:
* In program paludis -pi world:
* When performing install action from command line:
* When executing install task:
* When adding PackageDepSpec 'virtual/baselayout':
* When adding installed package 'virtual/baselayout-1.12.10-r4::installed_virtuals':
* When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
* When adding PackageDepSpec 'sys-apps/baselayout':
* When adding installed package 'sys-apps/baselayout-1.12.10-r4::installed':
* When adding run dependencies as post dependencies:
* When adding PackageDepSpec 'virtual/init':
* When fetching metadata for 'virtual/init-0':
* When loading VDBRepository entry for 'virtual/init-0' from '/var/db/pkg':
* When loading key 'USE':
* When validating use flag name 'lirc_devices_with-driver=devinput':
* Name 'lirc_devices_with-driver=devinput' is not a valid use flag name (paludis::UseFlagNameError)


what should i do?, google told me notehing, and website paludis too
_________________
Contact with me: http://www.tytanick.eu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hollovoid7
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 126
Location: Phelps NY

PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2007 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Excellent work on this, works flawless here so far :)
_________________
MAO
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 10:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's getting better & better *thumbs up*

but one thing still annoys me:

why on earth do I need to rebuild gcc, binutils, whatever package ... with the 'multislot' useflag with paludis if it already was built with portage?
(after that 1 rebuild it doesn't annoy anymore, thank god :wink: )
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
it's getting better & better *thumbs up*

but one thing still annoys me:

why on earth do I need to rebuild gcc, binutils, whatever package ... with the 'multislot' useflag with paludis if it already was built with portage?
(after that 1 rebuild it doesn't annoy anymore, thank god :wink: )

multislot is broken. Specifically,
ciaranm wrote:
SLOT, like other metadata variables, is required to be independent of user configuration.
There's a possible solution being discussed, but that's some time away.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5678
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 12:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dleverton wrote:
kernelOfTruth wrote:
it's getting better & better *thumbs up*

but one thing still annoys me:

why on earth do I need to rebuild gcc, binutils, whatever package ... with the 'multislot' useflag with paludis if it already was built with portage?
(after that 1 rebuild it doesn't annoy anymore, thank god :wink: )

multislot is broken. Specifically,
ciaranm wrote:
SLOT, like other metadata variables, is required to be independent of user configuration.
There's a possible solution being discussed, but that's some time away.


thanks, dleverton,

I hope
Quote:
some time away
will be in the near future :wink:

anyway: I my opinion the portage & paludis devs should rather work together than against each other (<-- is this already history?)
-> bundling forces was always the best way, isn't it? :roll:
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 819
Location: PL

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i can't get sys-fs/aufs from sunrise to build at all. it works with portage though (which ALWAYS changes permission on all its directories, and i have to change them back - how do i turn it off?).

Quote:
>>> Done src_unpack
>>> Starting src_compile
* Preparing aufs module
make -j2 HOSTCC=i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc CC=i686-pc-linux-gnu-gcc LDFLAGS= KDIR= -f local.mk all
make -C M=/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/work/aufs-20070402/fs/aufs modules
make: *** M=/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/work/aufs-20070402/fs/aufs: No such file or directory. Stop.
make: *** [fs/aufs/aufs.ko] Error 2

!!! ERROR in sys-fs/aufs-20070402:
!!! In linux-mod_src_compile at line 3328
!!! Unable to make KDIR= -f local.mk all.

!!! Call stack:
!!! * linux-mod_src_compile (/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/temp/loadsaveenv:3328)
!!! * src_compile (/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/temp/loadsaveenv:4085)
!!! * ebuild_f_compile (/usr/libexec/paludis/src_compile.bash:51)
!!! * ebuild_main (/usr/libexec/paludis/ebuild.bash:363)
!!! * main (/usr/libexec/paludis/ebuild.bash:381)

die trap: exiting with error.

Install error:
* In program paludis -i aufs --dl-deps-default discard:
* When performing install action from command line:
* When executing install task:
* When installing 'sys-fs/aufs-20070402':
* Install error: Install failed for 'sys-fs/aufs-20070402::sunrise'


i put --dl-deps-default discard only to prevent paludis from pulling 2.6.21 sources in.

does anyone have a clue what is wrong there? my source symlink is ok, the sources are configured and properly accessible

Code:
make: *** M=/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/work/aufs-20070402/fs/aufs: No such file or directory.  Stop.

that's quite weird, because the directory IS there.
_________________
~amd64, ~x86
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dleverton
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 Aug 2006
Posts: 517

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yoshi314 wrote:
Quote:
make -C M=/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/work/aufs-20070402/fs/aufs modules

The problem there is that the parameter to the -C switch is missing. In the ebuild there is
aufs-20070402.ebuild wrote:
Code:
BUILD_PARAMS="KDIR=${KV_DIR} -f local.mk"
in global scope, which attempts to use the KV_DIR variable before it's set (in pkg_setup). It works in Portage because Portage sources the ebuild multiple times, accumulating the environment between calls. The solution would be to move that line somewhere where it will be executed later (the end of pkg_setup is probably as good as anywhere).

yoshi314 wrote:
Code:
make: *** M=/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/work/aufs-20070402/fs/aufs: No such file or directory.  Stop.

that's quite weird, because the directory IS there.

You really have a directory called M=/mnt/debian/workdirs/portage/portage/sys-fs/aufs-20070402/work/aufs-20070402/fs/aufs? :wink:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 819
Location: PL

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

of course i omitted the M= from there ;-)

hmm i'll see if that helps. that's most likely the only ebuild that prevents me from using paludis exclusively.
_________________
~amd64, ~x86
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Release notes for 0.24.0 wrote:
Ranged dependencies using foo/bar[>=1&<2] or foo/bar[=1|=2] are now allowed.


This might be a stupid question, but how do I make that work for target in a paludis --install target, or some such, operation?
Or, does ranged deps only work in conf.-files etc.?


Yoshi314, stumbled upon a comment by you on Ciarans web thingy, about the e17 repo and paludis? It was old, so this probably isn't relevant anymore, but for what it's worth I've been using paludis with the e17 repo for months without problems or annoyances.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timbers2k
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a problem with the check_linkage.rb script. This is the output:
Code:
Checking linkage for package-manager installed files
  * app-emulation/vmware-server-1.0.3.44356::installed
  * app-office/openoffice-2.2.0::installed
  * app-text/acroread-7.0.9-r1::installed
  * dev-java/sun-jdk-1.5.0.11-r1::installed
  * dev-java/sun-jdk-1.6.0-r2::installed
  * www-client/mozilla-firefox-2.0.0.3::installed
  * x11-misc/googleearth-4::installed

Finding merge targets

Building dependency list
Building target list...
Building dependency list...

These packages will be installed:

* dev-java/sun-jdk-1.6.0-r2 {:1.6} [R] X alsa -doc -examples -jce nsplugin
* app-emulation/vmware-server-1.0.3.44356 {:0} [R]
* www-client/mozilla-firefox-2.0.0.3 {:0} [R] -bindist -debug -filepicker -gnome -ipv6 java -mozdevelop -moznopango -restrict-javascript -xforms -xinerama -xprint linguas: -af -ar -be -bg -ca -cs -da -de -el -en_GB -es -es_AR -es_ES -eu -fi -fr -fy -fy_NL -ga -ga_IE -gu -gu_IN -he -hu -it -ja -ka -ko -ku -lt -mk -mn -nb -nb_NO -nl -nn -nn_NO -pa -pa_IN -pl -pt -pt_BR -pt_PT -ru -sk -sl -sv -sv_SE -tr -zh -zh_CN -zh_TW
* dev-java/sun-jdk-1.5.0.11-r1 {:1.5} [R] X alsa -doc -examples -jce nsplugin
* app-office/openoffice-2.2.0 {:0} [R] -binfilter -branding cairo cups dbus -debug -eds firefox -gnome gstreamer gtk java kde ldap -mono -odk pam -seamonkey -sound -webdav linguas: -af -ar -as_IN -be_BY -bg -bn -br -bs -ca -cs -cy -da -de -dz -el -en -en_GB -en_US -en_ZA -eo -es -et -fa -fi -fr -ga -gl -gu_IN -he -hi_IN -hr -hu -it -ja -km -ko -ku -lt -lv -mk -ml_IN -mr_IN -nb -ne -nl -nn -nr -ns -or_IN -pa_IN -pl -pt -pt_BR -ru -rw -sh_YU -sk -sl -sr_CS -ss -st -sv -sw_TZ -ta_IN -te_IN -tg -th -ti_ER -tn -tr -ts -uk -ur_IN -ve -vi -xh -zh_CN -zh_TW -zu
* app-text/acroread-7.0.9-r1 {:0} [R] cups ldap nsplugin linguas: -da -de -en -es -fi -fr -it -ja -ko -nb -nl -pt -sv -zh_CN -zh_TW
* x11-misc/googleearth-4 {:0} [R]

Total: 7 packages (7 rebuilds)

This is after I already ran it once and let it reinstall the same seven packages. revdep-rebuild says the system is consistent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Timbers2k:
Same behaviour here.check_linkage.rb reinstalls all binary packages.It was mentioned in part 2.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4006030.html#4006030
_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spb
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 2135
Location: Cambridge, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krisse wrote:
This might be a stupid question, but how do I make that work for target in a paludis --install target, or some such, operation?
Or, does ranged deps only work in conf.-files etc.?
They should work on the command line, if you can persuade your shell not to mangle the fancy characters. Try more quotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nikaya
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 13 May 2006
Posts: 1471
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

krisse wrote:
Release notes for 0.24.0 wrote:
Ranged dependencies using foo/bar[>=1&<2] or foo/bar[=1|=2] are now allowed.


This might be a stupid question, but how do I make that work for target in a paludis --install target, or some such, operation?
Or, does ranged deps only work in conf.-files etc.?

I just looked at irc #paludis and a guy (his name is not important :wink:) has a message for you:
Quote:

<ciaranm> http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4066952.html?sid=170b057c866be376b09781cd3f605508#4066952 <-- someone tell that guy that ranged deps work, but his shell munges the fancy characters so he needs to use quotes

_________________
Notes on Dhamma
How to waste your time: look for an explanation of consciousness, ask to know what feeling is. (Nanavira Thera)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
krisse
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Mar 2005
Posts: 318
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john.doe wrote:
<ciaranm> http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4066952.html?sid=170b057c866be376b09781cd3f605508#4066952 <-- someone tell that guy that ranged deps work, but his shell munges the fancy characters so he needs to use quotes


Thanks. Escaping also worked, obviously.

What the problem was however, in my case, was the paludis-wrapper from paludis-extras.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Timbers2k
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 03 Oct 2003
Posts: 215

PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

john.doe wrote:
@Timbers2k:
Same behaviour here.check_linkage.rb reinstalls all binary packages.It was mentioned in part 2.
http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4006030.html#4006030


OK, I see that, but openoffice and firefox are not binary packages. They certainly took enough time to compile on this system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zxy
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 06 Jan 2006
Posts: 1160
Location: in bed in front of the computer

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@krisse thanks for reporting the problem with the wrapper. I'm currently away for some time (cca a week ...), so I can't look into it. If this isn't fixed before I come back, I'll look into it then.

It would be cool if you could describe what was going on with the wrapper here: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-543692.html
_________________
Nature does not hurry, yet everything is accomplished.
Lao Tzu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krisse wrote:
john.doe wrote:
<ciaranm> http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-4066952.html?sid=170b057c866be376b09781cd3f605508#4066952 <-- someone tell that guy that ranged deps work, but his shell munges the fancy characters so he needs to use quotes


Thanks. Escaping also worked, obviously.

What the problem was however, in my case, was the paludis-wrapper from paludis-extras.


until zxy's box is up again, here is the diff with the new _paludis_wrapper.bash, this should hopefully fix the problem :)

Code:
Index: src/app-paludis/paludis-wrapper/_paludis_wrapper.bash
===================================================================
--- src/app-paludis/paludis-wrapper/_paludis_wrapper.bash       (revision 483)
+++ src/app-paludis/paludis-wrapper/_paludis_wrapper.bash       (working copy)
@@ -68,6 +68,8 @@
 fi

 export PALUDIS_HOOKS_ASK_PPID=${PPID}
-cmd=$(echo ${cmd} | sed -e "s/(\([^)]*\))/'(\1)'/g")
+cmd=$(echo ${cmd} | sed -e "s#=[^/]*/[^ ]*#'&'#g" \
+       -e "s#[^ /]*/[^ ]*\[[^ ]*\]#'&'#g" \
+       -e "s#--add-to-world-spec (\([^)]*\))#--add-to-world-spec '(\1)'#" )
 trap "exit " EXIT SIGINT SIGTERM
 eval ${cmd}



EDIT:
BTW, I don't think I'll play with portage-utils anymore, so.. it would probably be nice if someone was is willing to maintain it. Actually there isn't much to do if you decide not to implement upstream changes&new features
_________________
The End of the Internet!


Last edited by truc on Wed May 23, 2007 5:26 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yoshi314
l33t
l33t


Joined: 30 Dec 2004
Posts: 819
Location: PL

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 12:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Yoshi314, stumbled upon a comment by you on Ciarans web thingy, about the e17 repo and paludis? It was old, so this probably isn't relevant anymore, but for what it's worth I've been using paludis with the e17 repo for months without problems or annoyances.
i think it was mainly my fault, mostly due to eclassdirs settings or something. anyway it works now and --dl-reinstall-scm is a killer-feature :]
_________________
~amd64, ~x86
shrink your /usr/portage with squashfs+aufs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kenji Miyamoto
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 28 May 2005
Posts: 1452
Location: Looking over your shoulder.

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: Paludis --sync Timeout Reply with quote

I can't seem to synchronize paludis-extras:
Code:
# paludis --sync paludis-extras
Sync paludis-extras
rsync: failed to connect to drzile.dyndns.org: Connection timed out (110)
rsync error: error in socket IO (code 10) at clientserver.c(104) [receiver=2.6.9]

Sync error:
  * In program paludis --log-level warning --sync paludis-extras:
  * When performing sync action from command line:
  * When executing sync task:
  * When syncing repository 'paludis-extras':
  * When syncing repository 'paludis-extras':
  * sync of '/usr/local/paludis-extras' from 'rsync://drzile.dyndns.org/paludis-extras' failed

Sync paludis-extras failed


 * Regenerating cache for installable repositories...
Regenerating cache for virtuals...
Regenerating cache for gentoo...
Regenerating cache for kdethemes...
Regenerating cache for xeffects...
Regenerating cache for paludis-extras...
 * Done regenerating cache for installable repositories

q-reinitialize> q: Updating ebuild cache ...
q-reinitialize> q: Finished 24016 entries in 0.341015 seconds


q-reinitialize> q: Updating ebuild metacache ...
q-reinitialize> q: Finished 23 entries in 0.000329 seconds

update-eix> Diffing databases (11772 - 11772 packages)

 * Cleaning write cache for ebuild format repositories...
rm -fr /var/cache/paludis/metadata/kdethemes/*
rm -fr /var/cache/paludis/metadata/xeffects/*
 * Done cleaning write cache for ebuild format repositories

 * No unread news items found
I've checked my firewall logs, and there are no dropped packets. Is the server down?
_________________
[ Kawa-kun, new and improved!! ]

Alex Libman seems to be more of an anarchist than a libertarian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
truc
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 25 Jul 2005
Posts: 3199

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 10:43 pm    Post subject: Re: Paludis --sync Timeout Reply with quote

Kenji Miyamoto wrote:
Is the server down?


truc wrote:
until zxy's box is up again

I'm afraid so, and zxy is not there at the moment, good news is, that since the server is down for a while now, there isn't anything new, so you're not missing anything :P
_________________
The End of the Internet!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slycordinator
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 31 Jan 2004
Posts: 3057
Location: Redmond, WA

PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2007 6:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

krisse wrote:
Ferdy wrote:
Stop setting CC and CXX in bashrc, see http://paludis.pioto.org/faq.html#ccache for information on how to set up ccache.


If I don't set CC and CXX, i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ seems to be used instead of the ccache version?


OR

You could actually read what he linked to.

From the link it says to add the following to bashrc

Code:
export PATH="/usr/lib/ccache/bin/:${PATH}"
export CCACHE_DIR="/var/tmp/ccache"


Now take a look at the first directory mentioned there (/usr/lib/ccache/bin/). Notice how all those files are symlinks to the ccache binary?

So if you set that PATH variable like that then calling i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ will, in fact, be calling the ccache binary because the first file named i686-pc-linux-gnu-g++ that it finds will be the one located in /usr/lib/ccach/bin/ and it'll be a symlink for ccache.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 2 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum