Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
fish:// no longer works
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
darkphader
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 1131
Location: Motown

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 3:38 pm    Post subject: fish:// no longer works Reply with quote

The fish:// protocol no longer works on my Gentoo box. I get:
Code:
An error occurred while loading fish://<hostname>/:
The process for the fish://<hostname> protocol died unexpectedly.
to all hosts.

Any ideas?

Chris
_________________
What I need is an exact list of specific unknown problems we might encounter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cyker
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2006
Posts: 1498

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This reply has no helpful content whatsoever, but I just have got to ask...

What does fish:// do??! :shock:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkphader
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 1131
Location: Motown

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 9:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fish:// allows graphical file operations (using konqueror and ssh) to remote systems

http://docs.kde.org/stable/en/kdebase/kioslave/fish.html
_________________
What I need is an exact list of specific unknown problems we might encounter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bssteph
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 651
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My fish:// is also dead in the exact same manner. It was working a couple days ago, but not now. Not sure what the deal is.

~amd64, no overlays, not finding anything obviously relevant in my logs that would have been installed to break fit. The protocol *does* log in (I can see it in my logs on the remote machine), but dies soon after. Don't think it's the perl file that fish:// uploads in order to work; if you remove the existing ~/.fishsrv.pl it is not re-uploaded, so the protocol is dying before then.
_________________
Website - All sorts of nonsense (some of it actually Linux related)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bssteph
l33t
l33t


Joined: 26 Feb 2003
Posts: 651
Location: Wisconsin

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I rebuilt kdebase-kioslaves with USE="debug" and it works? As illogical as it seems, it's working fine now. I've got too many other things to do to see if that is really what triggered it or not.
_________________
Website - All sorts of nonsense (some of it actually Linux related)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 8:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

fish:// is working for me on ~x86. Maybe try 'revdep-rebuild'
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
darkphader
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 09 May 2002
Posts: 1131
Location: Motown

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

~amd64 here as well, could be platform specific

i'll try it with the debug flag when i get some time and see what happens
_________________
What I need is an exact list of specific unknown problems we might encounter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rsa4046
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 640
Location: The Big H, a bit SSW

PostPosted: Thu May 03, 2007 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bssteph wrote:
I rebuilt kdebase-kioslaves with USE="debug" and it works? As illogical as it seems, it's working fine now. I've got too many other things to do to see if that is really what triggered it or not.

Adding debug flag worked for me on ~amd64, thanks for the tip.
_________________
I love gentoo, but I am certainly no guru, despite what it says above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mark_alec
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 11 Sep 2004
Posts: 6066
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could one of you submit a bug report about this to http://bugs.gentoo.org
_________________
www.gentoo.org.au || #gentoo-au
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rsa4046
l33t
l33t


Joined: 07 Feb 2005
Posts: 640
Location: The Big H, a bit SSW

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mark_alec wrote:
Could one of you submit a bug report about this to http://bugs.gentoo.org

Mark, I filed bug #177035. Cheers, Rolf
_________________
I love gentoo, but I am certainly no guru, despite what it says above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hiziki_gard
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Jan 2006
Posts: 50
Location: dark side of the moon

PostPosted: Fri May 04, 2007 3:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fish:// is working just fine here on ~amd64. I am running kdebase-kioslaves-3.5.6-r1
_________________
default-linux/amd64/2007.0, gcc-4.2.3, glibc-2.7-r2, 2.6.25-hh5 x86_64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4394
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not working here: kdebase-kioslaves-3.5.6-r1 on ~amd64. USE=debug doesn't help either.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Art Vandalay
Guru
Guru


Joined: 16 Sep 2003
Posts: 334
Location: Melbourne - VIC

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmmm have realised my fish:// isn't working either....i get 'malformed url' whenever i try to use it.

did you guys resolve it?

using ~x86 kdebase-kioslaves-3.5.6-r1, have tried with both debug and -debug USE flag....no difference
_________________
I might not have morals...but at least I have standards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yngwin
Developer
Developer


Joined: 19 Dec 2002
Posts: 4394
Location: Suzhou, China

PostPosted: Tue May 15, 2007 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That looks like a different issue. Fish should work fine on x86, it's on amd64 where it has a problem. And that upstream bug hasn't been fixed yet.
_________________
"Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves." - Abraham Lincoln
Free Culture | Defective by Design | EFF
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
StaffanP
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Oct 2002
Posts: 22
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I noticed the same problem just now, and I'm on x86.

Yesterday fish:// worked, today it didn't. The only related packages I've emerged since yesterday is kdelibs-3.5.6-r9 and kdenetwork-3.5.6-r2, so I suspected there's something wrong with kdenetwork.

I just downgraded it to kdenetwork-3.5.6-r1 and now fish:// works again! (After logging out and in again.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taiger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I' have the same problem on x86.

:(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

me too. sftp:// also don't works.
Code:
kde-base/kdenetwork-3.5.6-r1  USE="arts kdeenablefinal ssl xinerama -debug -jingle -kdehiddenvisibility -rdesktop -sametime -slp -wifi"

konqueror writes that is the error but not what kind of error is it :-(
Code:
Beim Laden von sftp://my.address.net ist folgender Fehler aufgetreten:

thats all what i get :-(
PS. can somebody post the error in english?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xanadu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 318
Location: Hour West of Philly (USA)

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

firex wrote:
Code:
Beim Laden von sftp://my.address.net ist folgender Fehler aufgetreten:

thats all what i get :-(
PS. can somebody post the error in english?


Here ya go:

Code:
An error occurred while loading sftp://ftp.sunsite.edu:
Unknown error
 Error encountered while talking to ssh.


And yes, just to say it, I too am having this issue. I think we have got that part of it figured out... :) I guess the only solution right now is to downgrade to kde-base/kdenetwork-3.5.6-r1 ??
_________________
I'm not a prophet or a stone-age man
I'm just a mortal with potential of a super man

-David Bowie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cruzki
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm in a ~amd64 machine and fish is work correctly :S
Yesterday I update to gcc-4.2 and do an emerge -uDN, so the system is up to date.

PS: I use a RSA key to connect to the host, I don't know if this is point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xanadu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 318
Location: Hour West of Philly (USA)

PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2007 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cruzki wrote:
I'm in a ~amd64 machine and fish is work correctly :S
Yesterday I update to gcc-4.2 and do an emerge -uDN, so the system is up to date.

PS: I use a RSA key to connect to the host, I don't know if this is point.


Out of curiosity, have you re-started KDE since you updated kdenetwork? I ask because on my main Desktop fish:// was still working fine until I restarted KDE. I had found it odd that it was broke on my my laptop after updating and not the desktop. I started thinking about what could be different and the only thing I could think of was restarting KDE. That made my desktop break. :?
_________________
I'm not a prophet or a stone-age man
I'm just a mortal with potential of a super man

-David Bowie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Xanadu
Guru
Guru


Joined: 10 Oct 2002
Posts: 318
Location: Hour West of Philly (USA)

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 3:00 pm    Post subject: Minor Update Reply with quote

I posted this in the kde bug report ( http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=145123 ):

Code:
Gentoo x86 32bit here.  Same problems on two machines.

HOWEVER

Once I updated my kernel to 2.6.21-suspend2-r4, is when it breaks.  If I boot back to 2.6.19-suspend2-r3, fish/sftp  works 100%.  I don't know where to start debuging that one (I'm not a code-ist).  So I'm not sure that this bug is *DIRECTLY* due to a KDE problem.

I'm going to post this same finding in a thread over in Gentoo's forums about this finding. 

P.S.
Obviously, I'm using Gentoo's names for these kernels, but the versions themselves are universal.



So for the Gentoo folks here, can y'all post what kernel you're running so a better idea can be found the range of this problem?

P.S.
I'll update the Gentoo bug report too.
_________________
I'm not a prophet or a stone-age man
I'm just a mortal with potential of a super man

-David Bowie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taiger
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Nov 2003
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using kernel gentoo-2.6.21, but fish stop work 3 week after my kernel upgrade
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kriko
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Mar 2006
Posts: 92
Location: Slovenia

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Someone tried this with older kernel? Because it works for me too, if I use 2.6.18, and stops working when I boot 2.6.21.
Using x86_64 platform.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
firex
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 05 Jan 2004
Posts: 145
Location: Hamburg

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 5:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my kernel is:
Code:
$ uname -r
2.6.21-gentoo
i did revdep-rebuild
then found out that my kded crashed (offten) i started it manualy and now sftp starts to work again.
fish don't work yet :-(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toralf
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 01 Feb 2004
Posts: 2699
Location: Hamburg/Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cyker wrote:
This reply has no helpful content whatsoever, but I just have got to ask...

What does fish:// do??! :shock:
In short: it makes transparent ssh operation for you. Therefor you can browse and work with (with an appropriate application) remote directories as they were local dirs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum