Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Installing 2006.1 on a Mylex DAC960
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
evilbob01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:29 am    Post subject: Installing 2006.1 on a Mylex DAC960 Reply with quote

Hello I am a noob and am trying to get gentoo to install on my system with a Mylex DAC960 I have used the Mylex software to setup a raid 5 array and have booted off the live Cd and then used modprobe DAC960. I now see some stuff in /dev/rd/ like c0d0 - c0d22 When I run the GUI installer it doesn't find any drives to partition, when I run the command line installer it crashes out when i get to partitioning.

any suggestions

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vaxbrat
l33t
l33t


Joined: 05 Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Location: DC Burbs

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:41 am    Post subject: generic raid installation Reply with quote

I'm not familiar with your RAID, but I do run Gentoo on a Compaq DL-380 with its SMART raid array. Gentoo didn't see any drives to work with until after I had used the HP Smart Start disk to setup a logical drive for the system disk. Perhaps you need to run a bios utility or specialty cd-rom to configure one or more drives in your array as a logical volume. Then after you get the system up, you can look into whatever tools you can get to configure additional logical volumes from the running system.

You may need to look out for the nomenclature of the resulting logical volumes. In the case of SMART, you don't see a /dev/sda<something> but rather a /dev/ida/c<number>d<number> name. I'm mother hen to a few Penguin RAID servers running RHEL 4. There, the logical drives do show up as a scsi lookalike ie /dev/sd<letter>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evilbob01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Apr 12, 2007 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick reply. I have the software utility and I have made a raid 5 array and A logical disk (Mylex calls them system disks) then I initialized the system disk. found some nice instructions here http://support.ap.dell.com/support/edocs/dta/ATTILA/3default.htm

I still cannot see any drives when I run the gui installer though and the command line installer crashes out. any ideas?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wolf31o2
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 31 Jan 2003
Posts: 628
Location: Mountain View, CA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

evilbob01 wrote:
any ideas?

Yeah, file a bug so the installer team can look into it and actually fix the problem.

The installer does disk detection using sysfs. Some drivers, like the CCISS and DAC960, do things differently from the rest of the drivers. Because of this, we have to special case them in the installer. None of us have a DAC960 available, so it likely simply wasn't tested/supported.
_________________
Ex-Gentoo Developer
Catalyst/Genkernel Development Lead
http://wolf31o2.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evilbob01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:32 pm    Post subject: Thanks Reply with quote

Thanks again for the reply. I will file a Bug as soon as I can.

-Filed 3-13-07- I will update this post when it is resolved.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
evilbob01
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Apr 2007
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 9:48 pm    Post subject: Resolved Reply with quote

Comment #1 From Andrew Gaffney 2007-04-13 21:12:15 0000

That's because the installer doesn't yet support installing on raid arrays that
create retarded device nodes. This *might* be fixed in a newer version. You can
just do a normal install for now. Resolving this as later.



There it is. guess no raid for me :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Polynomial-C
Developer
Developer


Joined: 01 Jun 2003
Posts: 1391
Location: germany

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 6:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

when I installed Gentoo on my Mylex AceeleRAID 170 card back in 2003, I used knoppix to boot the system, partitioned the RAID-5 with knoppix by hand (use fdisk, this will definitely work) and then installed Gentoo by using the Install-HowTo from the point where it says how to install the stage-archive. This worked without problems and I'm now running Gentoo on that RAID-5.
Maybe this helps you a bit.

Cheers
Poly-C
_________________
The manual said "Requires Windows7 or better" so I installed GNU/Linux...

my portage overlay

Need a stage1 tarball? (Unofficial builds)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum