Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Some questions on AMD64
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Gothenburg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:21 pm    Post subject: Some questions on AMD64 Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm installing gentoo on my brothers 64 bit dual core machine and I'm running into some issues.
Since I'm on x86 myself (athlon) I wasn't really conscious of some of the 32/64 bit problems before.


    * Is it possible to have a java 1.5+ runtime plugin for 64 bit firefox? (No, blackdown 1.4 won't do) How? The various howtos I've browsed seem to be dated.
    * Will I be able to use win32codecs on a 64 bit mplayer built from source?
    * How about transgaming cedega for amd64. Any hints?
    * Are there any more gotchas I should look out for?


TIA!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Some questions on AMD64 Reply with quote

jel wrote:

* Will I be able to use win32codecs on a 64 bit mplayer built from source?

you dont have to. recent ffmpeg and faad do the windows codecs fine in 64bit ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Gothenburg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Some questions on AMD64 Reply with quote

SoylentGreen wrote:
jel wrote:

* Will I be able to use win32codecs on a 64 bit mplayer built from source?

you dont have to. recent ffmpeg and faad do the windows codecs fine in 64bit ;)


Cool! Thanks for the reply!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ttuegel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Posts: 176
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:27 pm    Post subject: Re: Some questions on AMD64 Reply with quote

jel wrote:

    * Is it possible to have a java 1.5+ runtime plugin for 64 bit firefox? (No, blackdown 1.4 won't do) How? The various howtos I've browsed seem to be dated.
    * Will I be able to use win32codecs on a 64 bit mplayer built from source?
    * How about transgaming cedega for amd64. Any hints?
    * Are there any more gotchas I should look out for?

For the Java runtime, look into nspluginwrapper, which lets you use 32-bit plugins in a 64-bit browser. Alternatively, try Konqueror, which interacts with Java directly without the aid of plugins.

You will not be able to use win32codecs, but you will be able to use win64codecs :D In practice, I don't find much anymore that isn't natively supported by mplayer or xine anyway.

Haven't tried Cedega myself, but I'm under the impression it's not supported on amd64. Regular Wine works as well as it does on other platforms, though it has to be compiled as a 32-bit executable (ebuild takes care of this).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Some questions on AMD64 Reply with quote

ttuegel wrote:

Haven't tried Cedega myself, but I'm under the impression it's not supported on amd64.

just checked the ebuild, and it looks like its supposed to work on amd64. no, didnt try it either, though :P
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Gothenburg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 2:59 pm    Post subject: Re: Some questions on AMD64 Reply with quote

ttuegel wrote:

For the Java runtime, look into nspluginwrapper, which lets you use 32-bit plugins in a 64-bit browser. Alternatively, try Konqueror, which interacts with Java directly without the aid of plugins.


Okay, I have the jre1.5.0.11 javaplugin in /opt/sun-jre-bin-1.5.0.11-i586/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
When I do /usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/x86_64/linux/npconfig -i on it I get

Quote:
localhost ~ # /usr/lib/nspluginwrapper/x86_64/linux/npconfig -i /opt/sun-jre-bin-1.5.0.11-i586/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so
nspluginwrapper: /opt/sun-jre-bin-1.5.0.11-i586/plugin/i386/ns7/libjavaplugin_oji.so is not a valid NPAPI plugin


What gives?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

if use x86 ; then
                        install_mozilla_plugin /opt/${P}/plugin/i386/$plugin_dir/libjavaplugin_oji.so
                else
                        eerror "No plugin available for amd64 arch"
                fi

hmm..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 4:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, if i look at
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/5000011400.xml

it says it works with mozilla browsers. maybe something wrong with the ebuild 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ttuegel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Posts: 176
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoylentGreen wrote:
hey, if i look at
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/5000011400.xml

it says it works with mozilla browsers. maybe something wrong with the ebuild 8O


Something is: look at that path. The ebuild is for 32-bit Java.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well, i am @ ~amd64, now see here:
Code:

[ebuild  N    ] dev-java/sun-jre-bin-1.6.0-r1  USE="X alsa (-nsplugin)" 22,094 kB

[...]

http://distfiles.gentoo.org/distfiles/jdk-6-dlj-linux-amd64.bin

as you can see, this is a amd64 binary. why is nsplugin disabled (hardcoded) 8O
i dont think this is correct?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 259
Location: Gothenburg

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoylentGreen wrote:

why is nsplugin disabled (hardcoded) 8O
i dont think this is correct?


Because SUN haven't released a 64 bit version of their Web Start (browser plugin) for the jre, as far as I can tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jel wrote:
SoylentGreen wrote:

why is nsplugin disabled (hardcoded) 8O
i dont think this is correct?


Because SUN haven't released a 64 bit version of their Web Start (browser plugin) for the jre, as far as I can tell.

well, if you look at the link i quoted above:
http://www.java.com/en/download/help/5000011400.xml
it looks like they did? and this is 1.5.0, hmm..
if so, nspluginwrapper is not needed, and the hardcodec "-nsplugin" should be removed from the amd64 profile.

well, maybe i miss something, but if the sun website tells it works using mozilla 1.5x.. hmm..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ttuegel
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Jan 2005
Posts: 176
Location: Illinois, USA

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right, I remember reading about the Web Start on amd64 issue. Web Start != browser plug-in, rather, it lets you download and install Java applications from a remote repository. Essentially, it's a package manager for Java. And even on platforms where it exists (not amd64 linux) and where it works (not linux at all), it seldom knows what it's doing (windows). I seem to remember somewhere that you can just make a symbolic link from javaws to java and retain all the functionality without the UI, but that's not the issue here.

(EDITed for clarity.)


Last edited by ttuegel on Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:29 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoylentGreen
l33t
l33t


Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 904
Location: The Hostel

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ttuegel
whats right? please quote, or add to whom you are refering to.
thx!
and happy easter ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aggamemnon
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 04 Mar 2004
Posts: 99
Location: Bristol, UK

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2007 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cedega works. I was playing Homeworld 2 earlier in the week :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum