Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Update 0.1.4.0_beta10 [git] --toolchain, --perl
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2766
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
And isn't it about time you joined us on IRC? irc.freenode.net/#friendly-coders


I am a bit overextended at the moment so I can not take on any additional work.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed pkgcore mentioned a couple times in this thread. Is it possible to use pkgcore with this update script instead of emerge? I've glanced at the script and I see a variable '$resolver' with a reference to pkgcore and palaudis. I tried setting 'resolver="pkgcore" in /etc/update, but that didn't work.
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UberPinguin
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Nov 2005
Posts: 510
Location: 2416.94 Miles From Home

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ryker wrote:
I've noticed pkgcore mentioned a couple times in this thread. Is it possible to use pkgcore with this update script instead of emerge? I've glanced at the script and I see a variable '$resolver' with a reference to pkgcore and palaudis. I tried setting 'resolver="pkgcore" in /etc/update, but that didn't work.
Yes. Use your favorite editor to modify /etc/update, and add a emerge=pmerge line. This will cause update to use pkgcore for both the dependency resolution and the package installation. Alternatively, you can set emerge=smerge. This will cause update to use pkgcore for dependency resolution, but use portage for the actual package installs.
_________________
aidanjt wrote:
You see, instead of arguing from ignorance, and fear, there is only one way to verify a theory. And that's not by clutching a black book and begging the sky fairy for deliverance from the mad scientists and their big machines.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryker
Guru
Guru


Joined: 28 May 2003
Posts: 412
Location: Portage, IN

PostPosted: Tue Jul 08, 2008 1:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UberPinguin wrote:
ryker wrote:
I've noticed pkgcore mentioned a couple times in this thread. Is it possible to use pkgcore with this update script instead of emerge? I've glanced at the script and I see a variable '$resolver' with a reference to pkgcore and palaudis. I tried setting 'resolver="pkgcore" in /etc/update, but that didn't work.
Yes. Use your favorite editor to modify /etc/update, and add a emerge=pmerge line. This will cause update to use pkgcore for both the dependency resolution and the package installation. Alternatively, you can set emerge=smerge. This will cause update to use pkgcore for dependency resolution, but use portage for the actual package installs.


Thank you.
_________________
Athlon 64 3200+, 80G WD sata hd + 200G IDE, 1G Geil DDR400, MSI K8T Neo
IntelCore2Duo 2.0Ghz MSI laptop,100G SATA hd, 2G RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deefster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On Griz's version from the front page, it looks like some messages slip through the filter for libtool.

I'm guessing it's not by design, so I'm reporting it.
Code:
** Rebuilding dev-libs/DirectFB - 19 of 25
* Checking DirectFB-0.9.25.1.tar.gz
* Unpacking DirectFB-0.9.25.1.tar.gz to dev-libs/DirectFB-0.9.25.1
* Patching:...done
** Compiling Source ...
/bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../include            -I../../lib            -/bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../include            -I../../lib            -/bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../include            -I../../lib            -/bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../includelib -DDATADI-I../../libare/dire..  -/bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile x86_64-pc-linux-gnu-gcc -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I../.. -I../../includelib -DDATADI-I../../libare/dire..  -/bin/sh ../../libtool --mode=compile
---snip----
* Each DirectFB update in the 0.9.xx series
* breaks DirectFB related applications.
* Please run "revdep-rebuild" which can be
* found by emerging the package 'gentoolkit'.


Last edited by deefster on Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oops, sorry deefster, I posted updated version online (try !update in #friendly-coders or in pm to bot [no ! req'd]) but you can't browse that directory from web, and I've been offline in terms of Gentoo for a while (Gentoo politics wrt asshat {ex,}devs can be bad for your career..;) so didn't get the version on here updated. TBH I thought it was in the 0721 version I first put on the bot. My bad, apologies: normal service is now resumed.. ;-)

@drescherjm: None of us use bash-completion, so if you want it done, you're gonna have to come online and "play the client" or it ain't gonna happen. From what I've seen it should be simple since Gentoo has bash-completion helpers, and in any case we simply want it to use the same formulation as emerge (minus --long-opts). Give time to get time or wait til someone else feels motivated to put in half an hour.. ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2766
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
@drescherjm: None of us use bash-completion, so if you want it done, you're gonna have to come online and "play the client" or it ain't gonna happen.


This is not a high priority item at the moment but I will still try to find the time sometime in the next few months.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm that one wasn't very good.. new version should be much more stable (there were some unmask fixes plus an adjustment to toolchain so it does python before portage/pkgcore, or w/e the PM-deps are set to; for paludis I have no clue, so if you use it let us know.) Some other minor fixes I'm sure, but overall it seems to be working a lot better. Famous last words.. ;p

HTH.

PS: deefster can you edit your post so there's less libtool cruft filling the page? ta :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deefster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@steveL

done.

On a separate topic, I read somewhere that update supports (or will support) update-live-ebuilds. Is that true? If so, what are the flags to spawn update-live-ebuilds?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ta deefster.
deefster wrote:
On a separate topic, I read somewhere that update supports (or will support) update-live-ebuilds. Is that true? If so, what are the flags to spawn update-live-ebuilds?

It's more the other way round: ule calls update as another "package manager" (which made me feel good about it as a wrapper.;) I posted a config file so that ule will call update correctly a while back. Should be fairly simple for you to play with; let us know if you need anything changed on the update side.

It would be nice to have it built in, but afaict the functionality should be in portage soon enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deefster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cool, it works
I had tried it before, and it wasn't calling update like I thought it should. I believe the issue was that I hadn't been using update when I originally installed the live ebuilds, so it defaulted to the original program (emerge).
I ended up setting FORCE_DEFAULT_EMERGE_PROGRAM in ule.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Tue Aug 19, 2008 2:16 pm    Post subject: 20080814 Reply with quote

Bugfix, should be more stable wrt to USE flag editing.

I'm getting a strange bug with checkType failing, I think this might be due to the dropCache setting (trying with it at 0 now) so if you have any issues with packages suddenly being skipped (you'll see a debug output with checkType in red) try setting dropCache=0 in /etc/update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deefster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've noticed an issue with GLSA not picking up changes. It lists applicable GLSA's then reports 0.

Is this a known issue?
Version=0.1.4.0_pre3
Code:

** Checking GLSAs.. this will take a while ;)
* GLSA  200808-05
[Upgrade] net-misc/dhcp-3.1.1 [3.0.3-r9]
* GLSA  200808-09
[Upgrade] net-nds/openldap-2.3.43 [2.3.41]
* GLSA  200807-16
[Upgrade] dev-lang/python-2.4.4-r14 [2.5.2-r6]
# There are no GLSAs to install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4103
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The update script has been pushed to a git server

git clone git://weaver.gentooenterprise.com/update.git

A trac's to capture bugs and request is being setup at the moment to aid in tracing bugs and bug resolving
http://weaver.gentooenterprise.com/update

When I/we/them/??? get around it an overlay might also get made to capture this and a few other projects
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

deefster wrote:
I've noticed an issue with GLSA not picking up changes.
Is this a known issue?

Yeah sorry about that deefster (been in the bot for a bit) should be fixed in Griz's version on front page. Just working on warning for e2fsprogs-libs (requires yet more infrastructure) and user-configured actions after install of pkg (atm it only does ones immediately after the package has installed.) BTW, feel free to drop by #friendly-coders if you should need something fixed at any point. Sometimes I'm a bit slow to upload, especially if it's going through changes, but bot always has latest testing version (/msg friendlyToaster update).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Source files have all been moved to this directory: http://weaver.gentooenterprise.com/src/update/ which is browseable in case you need to try an older version or want to check what the latest one is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:47 am    Post subject: Bump ;) Reply with quote

Fix for bug #1 Yay we have a trac :D
Bug reports should be filed here for better management and collaboration: http://weaver.gentooenterprise.com/update/

Keep telling us stuff you'd like, etc in this thread, if you're not sure how to frame it as an enhancement, or you just want to chat about it first. Positive feedback is good too ;p

Yes we know portage 2.2 support (eg --jobs) could be better, but we're trying to get all the features so far working; at least -C (--depclean) is functional finally and I haven't forgotten the tmpfs thing, Pol.
We'll probably do a rewrite for 0.1.5 to fully exploit portage 2.2, since --keep-going means we shouldn't need the continuation algorithm anymore.

edit: doh! it's -C for depClean and -A for glsA


Last edited by steveL on Sat Sep 06, 2008 5:38 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swimmer
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 1289
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you very much for the always ongoing development & improvements!!!

Even using stable portage it's a pleasure to have update helping me keep the system clean & lean ;-)

Best regards
swimmer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks very much swimmer, that kinda comment makes it much more fun to code :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deefster
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Apr 2004
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:26 pm    Post subject: feature request Reply with quote

Feature request to capture and print out the output from portage when a package has fetch restriction.

Code:
>>> Emerging (1 of 1) app-emulation/virtualbox-ose-additions-2.0.2 to /

!!! app-emulation/virtualbox-ose-additions-2.0.2 has fetch restriction turned on.
!!! This probably means that this ebuild's files must be downloaded
!!! manually.  See the comments in the ebuild for more information.

 * Please download the package from:
 *
 * http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/2.0.2/VBoxGuestAdditions_2.0.2.iso
 *
 * and then put it in /usr/portage/distfiles
 * Fetch failed for 'app-emulation/virtualbox-ose-additions-2.0.2'
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Naib
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 4103
Location: Removed by Neddy

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 4:17 pm    Post subject: Re: feature request Reply with quote

deefster wrote:
Feature request to capture and print out the output from portage when a package has fetch restriction.

Code:
>>> Emerging (1 of 1) app-emulation/virtualbox-ose-additions-2.0.2 to /

!!! app-emulation/virtualbox-ose-additions-2.0.2 has fetch restriction turned on.
!!! This probably means that this ebuild's files must be downloaded
!!! manually.  See the comments in the ebuild for more information.

 * Please download the package from:
 *
 * http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/2.0.2/VBoxGuestAdditions_2.0.2.iso
 *
 * and then put it in /usr/portage/distfiles
 * Fetch failed for 'app-emulation/virtualbox-ose-additions-2.0.2'


open a bug at the update trac's ;)
_________________
A free press is the unsleeping guardian of every other right that free men prize; it is the most dangerous foe of tyranny. Where men have the habit of liberty, the Press will continue to be the vigilant guardian of the rights of the ordinary citizen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm if it's not doing that already it's a regression deefster; that functionality has been in it from near the beginning (first page of thread.) Please file a bug and it won't get forgotten.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_gustafsson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 243
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I use cfg-update together with update, and it has been working very good for quite a while, but now I always get the below message after update has run revdep-rebuild:
Code:
...
Dynamic linking on your system is consistent... All done.
** Running cfg-update
cfg-update: missing valid options
Try `cfg-update --help' for more information.

It seems like update is not running:
Code:
# cfg-update -u


Am I doing anything wrong?

/Mats
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
steveL
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 2410
Location: The Peanut Gallery

PostPosted: Mon Sep 29, 2008 7:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

m_gustafsson wrote:
It seems like update is not running:
Code:
# cfg-update -u


Am I doing anything wrong?

No Mats, not at all. I imagine it's a problem with cfg-update changing location; atm we only run it with -u if the etcUpdater is /usr/bin/cfg-update; it's line 5482 here, in function checkConfigUpdates(); it'll be easier to search for that function as my version is in the middle of being worked on. You could make that line:
Code:
if [[ $etcUpdater = */cfg-update ]]; then
   "$etcUpdater" -u
and see if that helps.

Edit: we will of course add that fix to the one we're working on atm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m_gustafsson
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 18 Mar 2007
Posts: 243
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 30, 2008 7:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I did the change and run it, but of course there were no config files to be updated, so I don't know if it works.
One strange thing though is that cfg-update is located in /usr/bin:
Code:
# which cfg-update
/usr/bin/cfg-update


/Mats
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Documentation, Tips & Tricks All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11  Next
Page 7 of 11

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum