Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
glib-1.2.10-r5 fails to compile
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Genetic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed Feb 21, 2007 9:58 pm    Post subject: glib-1.2.10-r5 fails to compile Reply with quote

Hi there,

glib-1.2.10-r5 fails to compile and I don't have a clue, what's wrong with libtool...

Code:
./libtool: line 297: s,^.*/,,g: No such file or directory
./libtool: line 711: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 711: -e: command not found
*** Warning: inferring the mode of operation is deprecated.
*** Future versions of Libtool will require --mode=MODE be specified.
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
*** Warning: inferring the mode of operation is deprecated.
*** Future versions of Libtool will require --mode=MODE be specified.
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 297: s,^.*/,,g: No such file or directory
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1050: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1074: -e: command not found
: compile: cannot determine name of library object from `'
make[2]: *** [gcache.lo] Error 1
make[2]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 711: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1050: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1074: -e: command not found
: compile: cannot determine name of library object from `'
make[2]: *** [garray.lo] Error 1
*** Warning: inferring the mode of operation is deprecated.
*** Future versions of Libtool will require --mode=MODE be specified.
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1022: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1050: -e: command not found
./libtool: line 1074: -e: command not found
: compile: cannot determine name of library object from `'
make[2]: *** [gcompletion.lo] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5/work/glib-1.2.10'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5/work/glib-1.2.10'
make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2

!!! ERROR: dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5 failed.
Call stack:
  ebuild.sh, line 1614:   Called dyn_compile
  ebuild.sh, line 971:   Called qa_call 'src_compile'
  environment, line 3773:   Called src_compile
  glib-1.2.10-r5.ebuild, line 54:   Called die

!!! (no error message)
!!! If you need support, post the topmost build error, and the call stack if relevant.
!!! A complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5/temp/build.log'.


Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
//Genetic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ce110ut
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 27 Sep 2002
Posts: 199

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

try re-emerging libtool and then re-emerge glib again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
C0ug4rX
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Nov 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 5:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran into this same problem. I hardmasked the current version of libtool (1.5.23b) and used 1.5.22. This at least let me install glib.

Hope that helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genetic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ce110ut wrote:
try re-emerging libtool and then re-emerge glib again.


This doesn't help.

I'm currently trying C0ug4rX' approach, but it's still compiling and I got to go now.

//Genetic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Genetic
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 09 Jun 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 7:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It worked, thank you^^ :)

Didn't think, it was that quick :)

//Genetic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KingLeonidas
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Re: libtool: -e: command not found

Code:
export SED=sed


I had the same problem, but the above seems to fix the problem... weird...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LoSeR_5150
Guru
Guru


Joined: 20 Mar 2005
Posts: 455
Location: San Francisco, CA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also had the same problem and re-merging libtool did not help but
Code:
 export SED=sed
worked for me also. What exactly does this do? And are there any negative side effects or is it safe? Thanks
_________________
Opteron 1356@2.4Ghz
6GB DDR2 800Mhz
128MB Quadro NVS 210S
640GB Western Digital HD
*Gentoo-x86_64-2.6.30-r1

Opteron175@2.2GHz
2GB DDR 400MHz
256MB Quadro 1400 Go
(2) 80GB Segate HDs: RAID0
*Gentoo-x86_64-2.6.30-r1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have opened bug #168198 for this issue.
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OkeyMor57
n00b
n00b


Joined: 28 Feb 2003
Posts: 45
Location: FortWorth

PostPosted: Sat Feb 24, 2007 10:22 am    Post subject: Problem emergeing unixODBC-2.2.11-r1 Reply with quote

I had the same problem compiling unixODBC.
Code:
export SED=sed
did solve the problem. Recompiling libtool did not help. I used libtool-1.5.23b
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ok
Guru
Guru


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 390
Location: germany

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 9:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I sync today and i got the same error.
export SED=sed
was the solution.
Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alistair
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 15 Jul 2005
Posts: 869

PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok wrote:
I sync today and i got the same error.
export SED=sed
was the solution.
Thank you!


Supposably SED=sed isn't the solution. But it is a solution.
_________________
______________
Help the gentoo-java project. Visit Gentoo Java Project

what good are admin powers if you don't abuse them for personal gain - mark_alec
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blax
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: owensboro, ky

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This worked for me as well. The problem is that the configure script is not finding libtool. If you edit configure files yourself (like the makefiles) and set LIBTOOL to /bin/bash /usr/bin/libtool it will compile. Of course then your not using portage to install it....

Regards,
Will Bennett
_________________
-b14x tr0n
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tolstoi
l33t
l33t


Joined: 20 May 2004
Posts: 645

PostPosted: Sat Apr 28, 2007 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it worked for me too, even though I don't understand why. What happens there?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
padoor
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 30 Dec 2005
Posts: 4055
Location: india

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

it emerged the glib with 100s of warnings like reading through null pointers (export SED=sed)
i am emerging toshiba-utils
glib is part of the dep
if toshiba-utils work it may be ok
_________________
reach out a little bit more to catch it (DON'T BELIEVE the advocate part under my user name)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PampersBomba
n00b
n00b


Joined: 25 May 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

i try another way:

editing /etc/portage/package.mask:

=sys-devel/libtool-1.5.23b

than:

emerge libtool and than emerge glib

the libtool 1.5.23b is with bugs, downgrade it to 1.5.22

So Long
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michel7
Guru
Guru


Joined: 04 May 2006
Posts: 461
Location: localhost

PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2007 10:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

another way to solve this problem is

Code:
emerge -C =dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5


because its obsolete ... so you can use this link to safely remove gtk1 and glib-1 from your system ... i didnt found any need for gtk1 and glib1 on my system!

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Get_rid_of_GTK_1.x
_________________
Software is like sex. It's better when it's free
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anmijagy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Jun 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

export SED=sed worked for me, too..

Easy come... ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vipernicus
Veteran
Veteran


Joined: 17 Jan 2005
Posts: 1462
Location: Your College IT Dept.

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 5:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

michel7 wrote:
another way to solve this problem is

Code:
emerge -C =dev-libs/glib-1.2.10-r5


because its obsolete ... so you can use this link to safely remove gtk1 and glib-1 from your system ... i didnt found any need for gtk1 and glib1 on my system!

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Get_rid_of_GTK_1.x

As it turns out some proprietary business applications still use gtk1, like IBM Lotus Notes Client for example.
_________________
Viper-Sources Maintainer || nesl247 Projects || vipernicus.org blog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum