Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Asus P5W DH Delux traps [partly solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NO you don't!

The driver intel8x0 is NOT, in no case, relevant for the Realtek ALC882!

I am shure for, lets say 99%

Remove SND_HDA_INTEL and modprobe intel8x0! No sound.
Remove it or not.. I can not find a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0wn_under
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 300
Location: Sheffield, England

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

l_bratch wrote:
I'm having no such luck sadly...

It's the built in RTL8187 card on the USB bus, built in to an ASUS P5W DH Deluxe motherboard. It shows up no new network interface at all. Kernel is 2.6.23-gentoo, and it's amd64.

Here is the dmesg output:

wmaster0: Failed to select rate control algorithm
wmaster0: Failed to initialize rate control algorithm
rtl8187: Cannot register device
rtl8187: probe of 1-7.3:1.0 failed with error -2
usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187


Did anyone ever work out a definite way to fix this problem? I'm not using an ASUS but I'm getting the same error on my USB wifi card.
_________________
This sig left intentionally blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No progress here, I've played around but given up for now. Hopefully a new release will change something...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5675
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get this output:

Quote:
wmaster0: Selected rate control algorithm 'simple'
[25915.547561] phy1: hwaddr 00:15:af:03:7e:da, rtl8187 V1 + rtl8225z2
[25915.547575] usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187


kernel-config:
http://nopaste.com/p/aAJgdTyIM
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could you post your lsusb -v output to see if we even have the same card?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0wn_under
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 300
Location: Sheffield, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

l_bratch wrote:
Could you post your lsusb -v output to see if we even have the same card?

I doubt we have the same card but they are both using the rtl 8187 chipset and are giving the same error so if you can fix one it will hopefully fix the other.

I'll post the lsusb next time I turn on the machine with that card on it.
_________________
This sig left intentionally blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
UVI
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Oct 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi.

I've Asus P5B premium with JMicron chipset,
lspci
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2833 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation SATA Controller 1 IDE (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation SATA Controller 2 IDE (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0191 (rev a2)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Unknown device 4364 (rev 12)
03:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
03:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
05:02.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d0)


I've installed gentoo on PATA Hdd.

My problem is that all other 2 SATA disk are invisible also for command fdisk-l . 8O
Probably I've wrong some kernel gentoo-sources-2.6.22-r8's configuration. I've tried various solutions, but all without success. :cry: :cry: :cry:

Does anyone can help me?
:roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5675
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

@I_Bratch:

here you go:

http://nopaste.com/p/afQXS7zIG
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Mon Oct 22, 2007 12:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
@I_Bratch:

here you go:

http://nopaste.com/p/afQXS7zIG
Yours is /completely/ identical other than the serial number, yet works for you.

I'll give your kernel config a try later on and see if that helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UVI wrote:
Hi.

I've Asus P5B premium with JMicron chipset,
lspci
Code:
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Memory Controller Hub (rev 02)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Root Port (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.4 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Port 5 (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.3 USB Controller: Intel Corporation Unknown device 2833 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation SATA Controller 1 IDE (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation SMBus Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.5 IDE interface: Intel Corporation SATA Controller 2 IDE (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Unknown device 0191 (rev a2)
02:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. Unknown device 4364 (rev 12)
03:00.0 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
03:00.1 IDE interface: JMicron Technologies, Inc. JMicron 20360/20363 AHCI Controller (rev 02)
05:02.0 Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7133/SAA7135 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev d0)


I've installed gentoo on PATA Hdd.

My problem is that all other 2 SATA disk are invisible also for command fdisk-l . 8O
Probably I've wrong some kernel gentoo-sources-2.6.22-r8's configuration. I've tried various solutions, but all without success. :cry: :cry: :cry:

Does anyone can help me?
:roll:


AHCI enabled in Kernel? Jmicron driver enabled in the kernel?
IDE mode set to AHCI in the BIOS?

<*> Serial ATA (prod) and Parallel ATA (experimental) drivers --->
<*> AHCI SATA support
<*> JMicron PATA support (for the PATA ports of the jmicron)

I actually can't tell you if this works, cause all my disks are connected to the ICH7 ports.
Only one CD-ROM is connected to the parallel port of the jmicron. Never tested the eSATA/SATA port...

Hope I could help.
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kernelOfTruth wrote:
I get this output:

Quote:
wmaster0: Selected rate control algorithm 'simple'
[25915.547561] phy1: hwaddr 00:15:af:03:7e:da, rtl8187 V1 + rtl8225z2
[25915.547575] usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187


kernel-config:
http://nopaste.com/p/aAJgdTyIM



Okay, here is an example of the working driver:

Code:
root@freax $ /etc/init.d/net.wlan0 start
 * Starting wlan0
 *   Starting wpa_supplicant on wlan0 ...
ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported
WEXT auth param 4 value 0x0 - ioctl[SIOCSIWAUTH]: Operation not supported                       [ ok ]th param 5 value 0x1 -
 *   Starting wpa_cli on wlan0 ...                                                       [ ok ]
 *     Backgrounding ...


Code:
root@freax $ iwconfig
wlan0     IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"StarLanWPA"
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.417 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:B5:F8:2B:7E
          Bit Rate=5.5 Mb/s
          Retry min limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr=2346 B
          Encryption key:7D66-BB66-2EC1-B6FC-1234-234D-4456-B1D1 [2]
          Link Quality=46/64  Signal level=41/65
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0

wifi0     no wireless extensions.

ath0      IEEE 802.11g  ESSID:"StarLanWPA"  Nickname:""
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.417 GHz  Access Point: 00:0F:B5:F8:2B:7E
          Bit Rate:24 Mb/s   Tx-Power:18 dBm   Sensitivity=1/1
          Retry:off   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:1110-E9F7-F78E-DE12-5BF4-F954-933D-56CF   Security mode:restricted
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=33/70  Signal level=-63 dBm  Noise level=-96 dBm
          Rx invalid nwid:64403  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:0  Invalid misc:0   Missed beacon:0


and here a screenshot from wpa_gui showing wlan0 (the RTL8187)
http://omploader.org/vNXIx

Just to proof that it is working.

And here's my kernelkonfig (vanilla-2.6.23):
http://rafb.net/p/xgRMkM73.html

Here's my conf.d/net:
Code:
#############################################################################################
#WLAN (intern) RTL8187
#############################################################################################
mode_wlan0="managed"
wpa_supplicant_wlan0="-Dwext -c /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant_RTL8187.conf"
config_wlan0=( "dhcp" )
dhcpcd_wlan0="-R -G"
#############################################################################################


and here my /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant_RTL8187.conf
Code:
ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ctrl_interface_group=wheel
update_config=1

network={
        ssid="StarLanWPA"
        psk="SecretPass"
        proto=RSN
        key_mgmt=WPA-PSK
        pairwise=CCMP
}


regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phsdv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 1:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:
NO you don't!

The driver intel8x0 is NOT, in no case, relevant for the Realtek ALC882!

I am shure for, lets say 99%

Remove SND_HDA_INTEL and modprobe intel8x0! No sound.
Remove it or not.. I can not find a difference.
I do agree with you about the modprobe intel8x0. I already corrected that in one of my previous posts.
Where I do not agree is the SND_HDA_INTEL. First lspci shows:
Code:
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801G (ICH7 Family) High Definition Audio Controller (rev 01)
For this chip we could use the SND_HDA_INTEL module. Secondly the Realtek ACL882 is the codec that works together with the ICH7. We have both ICH7 (sound card) and ACL882 (codec chip) on our motherboards. We can choose to use either AC97 or HDA_intel. With my setup I am using INTEL HDA. My lsmod (relevant modules only) for proof:
Code:
# lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_seq_oss            30464  0
snd_seq_midi_event      7040  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                46800  4 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          7308  2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            37152  0
snd_mixer_oss          15104  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_hda_intel          16536  5
snd_hda_codec         159488  1 snd_hda_intel
snd_pcm                60932  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              19332  3 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    43876  17 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_pcm,snd_timer
snd_page_alloc          8712  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
And yes, I am still happy. Listing to 6channel audio with a main PCM volume while I write this :-)

Alsa mixer as I have it:
Code:
┌─────────────────────[AlsaMixer v1.0.14 (Press Escape to quit)]──────────────────────┐
│ Card: HDA Intel                                                                     │
│ Chip: Realtek ALC882                                                                │
│ View: [Playback] Capture  All                                                       │
│ Item: Headphone                                                                     │
│             ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     ┌──┐     │
│             │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │
│             │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │  │     │
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     >
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     >
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     >
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     >
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     >
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     >
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │
│             │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │  │     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │▒▒│     │  │     │
│    ┌──┐     └──┘     ├──┤     ├──┤     ├──┤     ├──┤     ├──┤     ├──┤     ├──┤     │
│    │OO│              │OO│     │MM│     │MM│     │OO│     │OO│     │OO│     │MM│     │
│    └──┘              └──┘     └──┘     └──┘     └──┘     └──┘     └──┘     └──┘     │
│            78<>78   74<>74    0<>0     0<>0      74       77     74<>74    0<>0     │
│ <Headphon>  PCM     Front   Front Mi Surround  Center    LFE      Side     Line     │
└─────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────┘
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jupp I knwon.

Just a littel question: Does your line-in work?

My alsamixer looks like this (had to tak a screenie, cause it wouldn't fitt in the textbox, the whole one):
http://omploader.org/vNXIz
All settings are wired cause I tried to get Line-In working.

And these are my loaded modules:
Code:
snd_pcm_oss            44960  0
snd_mixer_oss          19976  1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy           6532  0
snd_seq_oss            35728  0
snd_seq_midi_event     10632  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                58952  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device         11292  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
vboxdrv              1635656  0
snd_bt87x              19940  0
saa6588                14236  0
wlan_xauth              3584  0
wlan_wep                8704  0
wlan_tkip              13696  0
wlan_scan_ap           11344  0
wlan_ccmp              10432  3
wlan_acl                6984  0
ath_rate_onoe           8268  0
ath_rate_amrr           8968  0
wlan_scan_sta          14992  1
ath_rate_sample        14592  1
nvidia               7012084  36
ath_pci               100664  0
tuner                  66344  0
wlan                  178752  12 wlan_xauth,wlan_wep,wlan_tkip,wlan_scan_ap,wlan_ccmp,wlan_acl,ath_rate_onoe,ath_rate_amrr,wlan_scan_sta,ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
snd_hda_intel         338244  3
snd_pcm                83632  3 snd_pcm_oss,snd_bt87x,snd_hda_intel
snd_timer              27936  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
rtl8187                37200  0
eeprom_93cx6            4864  1 rtl8187
ath_hal               259520  3 ath_rate_sample,ath_pci
bttv                  225332  0
video_buf              29196  1 bttv
ir_common              39684  1 bttv
compat_ioctl32         11136  1 bttv
btcx_risc               7496  1 bttv
tveeprom               20432  1 bttv
videodev               31584  1 bttv
v4l2_common            22400  4 tuner,bttv,compat_ioctl32,videodev
snd                    67688  15 snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_bt87x,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore              12064  1 snd
snd_page_alloc         13456  3 snd_bt87x,snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
v4l1_compat            14404  2 bttv,videodev
sky2                   49740  0



I found an other option that one should use:
Code:
options snd-hda-intel position_fix=1


But there are millions of post regarding snd-hda-intel ... so who kows... actually I just hope the X-FI gets working drivers sometime so I can drop that ugly OBS
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phsdv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:
Just a littel question: Does your line-in work?
Yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 2:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

phsdv wrote:
blubbi wrote:
Just a littel question: Does your line-in work?
Yes


*grml* mine doesn't!

I'll have to investigate further...
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0wn_under
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 300
Location: Sheffield, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d0wn_under wrote:
l_bratch wrote:
I'm having no such luck sadly...

It's the built in RTL8187 card on the USB bus, built in to an ASUS P5W DH Deluxe motherboard. It shows up no new network interface at all. Kernel is 2.6.23-gentoo, and it's amd64.

Here is the dmesg output:

wmaster0: Failed to select rate control algorithm
wmaster0: Failed to initialize rate control algorithm
rtl8187: Cannot register device
rtl8187: probe of 1-7.3:1.0 failed with error -2
usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187


Did anyone ever work out a definite way to fix this problem? I'm not using an ASUS but I'm getting the same error on my USB wifi card.


I fixed this, the kernel I'd built didn't have auto-module load turned on (it is off by default) so some modules were being loaded and some not (we don't know why some were). After a rebuild and reboot all is now working.
_________________
This sig left intentionally blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5675
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nice 8)
_________________
Unofficial minimal livecd x86/amd64 w/reiser4+truecrypt (by Neo2)
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

d0wn_under wrote:
d0wn_under wrote:
l_bratch wrote:
I'm having no such luck sadly...

It's the built in RTL8187 card on the USB bus, built in to an ASUS P5W DH Deluxe motherboard. It shows up no new network interface at all. Kernel is 2.6.23-gentoo, and it's amd64.

Here is the dmesg output:

wmaster0: Failed to select rate control algorithm
wmaster0: Failed to initialize rate control algorithm
rtl8187: Cannot register device
rtl8187: probe of 1-7.3:1.0 failed with error -2
usbcore: registered new interface driver rtl8187


Did anyone ever work out a definite way to fix this problem? I'm not using an ASUS but I'm getting the same error on my USB wifi card.


I fixed this, the kernel I'd built didn't have auto-module load turned on (it is off by default) so some modules were being loaded and some not (we don't know why some were). After a rebuild and reboot all is now working.
Could you tell me what modules you do have running? I have auto module learning turned on anyway, plus I've modprobed anything new since the addition of the rtl8187 driver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0wn_under
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 300
Location: Sheffield, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Next time I turn on the laptop I'll get a dump and let you know. If you don't get anything soon PM me to remind me.
_________________
This sig left intentionally blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jniklast
n00b
n00b


Joined: 12 Mar 2005
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey i_bratch, like I said earlier in this thread, I somehow got the 8187 to work, after I had the same error like you before. And now that I compared my .config with an older one I found, I think the only other option I activated was CONFIG_INET_XFRM_MODE_TRANSPORT=y a.k.a IP: IPSec transport mode, maybe you try it!
Otherwise I really have no clue what did the trick for me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news - I got it working.

I changed all the wireless stuff and the driver itself from modules to built in, and the interface came up straight away when I rebooted.

Thanks for your help everyone that tried.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
d0wn_under
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2003
Posts: 300
Location: Sheffield, England

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

l_bratch wrote:
Good news - I got it working.

I changed all the wireless stuff and the driver itself from modules to built in, and the interface came up straight away when I rebooted.

Thanks for your help everyone that tried.


just out of interest, do you have module auto loading turned on in the kernel? grep for CONFIG_KMOD to see (I think)
_________________
This sig left intentionally blank.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Tue Oct 23, 2007 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's turned off again now, but I did turn it on for testing whilst I was trying to get rtl8187 working as a module.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just to let you know:

ata2.00: failed to IDENTIFY (I/O error, err_mask=0x104)
Quote:
Sollution:
FIXED! the patch was accepted for 2.6.23.x It should be merged in on of the next 2.6.23.[2/3/4] releases
You can get the patch (p5wdh-workaround-2.6.23.1.patch here: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8923 )

Warning:
Be aware of this bug and dont hotplug devices on this PMP!
http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=9010

I don't know if this bug is fixed with the mentioned patch above... I can't try right now.
Comment:
I have reported a bug here: http://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=8923
Thans shiver! He suggested this in my other post: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-536306-highlight-ata2.html
Does anyone have it working without this workaround?

_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
l_bratch
Guru
Guru


Joined: 08 Feb 2005
Posts: 489
Location: Jersey

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2007 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anybody had any issues with fancontrol since 2.6.23 with this board?

I used to control the speed with fancontrol, but since the upgrade pwmconfig reports:
Quote:
/usr/sbin/pwmconfig: There are no pwm-capable sensor modules installed

sensors still gives the same output:
Quote:
w83627ehf-isa-0290
Adapter: ISA adapter
VCore: +1.31 V (min = +0.00 V, max = +1.74 V)
in1: +12.14 V (min = +13.46 V, max = +13.15 V) ALARM
AVCC: +3.36 V (min = +2.00 V, max = +4.06 V)
3VCC: +3.36 V (min = +3.06 V, max = +0.99 V) ALARM
in4: +1.69 V (min = +2.04 V, max = +1.40 V) ALARM
in5: +1.60 V (min = +1.52 V, max = +2.04 V)
in6: +5.12 V (min = +6.53 V, max = +6.53 V) ALARM
VSB: +3.33 V (min = +4.08 V, max = +4.08 V) ALARM
VBAT: +3.25 V (min = +4.08 V, max = +4.05 V) ALARM
in9: +1.62 V (min = +1.51 V, max = +1.53 V) ALARM
Case Fan: 0 RPM (min = 55 RPM, div = 128) ALARM
CPU Fan: 1767 RPM (min = 1344 RPM, div = 4)
Aux Fan: 3040 RPM (min = 2667 RPM, div = 2)
fan4: 992 RPM (min = 378 RPM, div = 16)
fan5: 0 RPM (min = 0 RPM, div = 128)
Sys Temp: +47 C (high = -33 C, hyst = -5 C) ALARM
CPU Temp: +39.5 C (high = +80.0 C, hyst = +75.0 C)
AUX Temp: +117.5 C (high = +80.0 C, hyst = +75.0 C) ALARM

So evidently the sensors are still detected and working.

Any suggestions?

Edit:

Sorry, I fixed this. Updated lm_sensors to 2.10.4 as per the lm_sensors website which got pwmconfig working (and gives far more output in sensors!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum