Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Asus P5W DH Delux traps [partly solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi TBerben,
The delay you experience at boot is caused by your bios.
Go into your bios Almost at the bottom of the first (opening)
page you have IDE Configuration
Click it.On the next page you'll find Configure SATA as:
Here it should read AHCI.
If not change it to AHCI.
I had this problem and sometimes the HD_Led would stay lit
continuously.
After I set this one disk of the 2 I have changed name.
I started out with config SATA as Standard IDE and my disks were
/dev/sda and /dev/sdb.
After the change it was sda and sdc.
I hope this will help others too because it is apparently typical for this board.
Gerard.
PS I am sorry I ever bought this board.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thms.
n00b
n00b


Joined: 11 Jul 2007
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 2:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using the P5W DH Deluxe with kernel 2.6.23 r9 (gentoo sources) and alsa version 1.0.14, and I'm having a problem with the sound volume: it is 10 or 20% lower than with windows XP.
My alsamixer volume is at 100, everything is at 100.
I already tryed to build snd-hda-intel as module and using alsaconf, but still having the same problem.

Anyone had/has the same problem ? Is there a fix ?
If someone can post his alsa config / version / modules / ...
I want to try with blubbi's kernel config but it has been cut off by the forum..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All,
Please refer to my post at the top of this page.
I have WinXP on the first partition of the first disk.
With the bios set to AHCI it won't boot!
So now when I want to use windows I have to change the bios back to normal IDE.
Sorry I ever bought this MB.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gerard van Vuuren wrote:
Hi All,
Please refer to my post at the top of this page.
I have WinXP on the first partition of the first disk.
With the bios set to AHCI it won't boot!
So now when I want to use windows I have to change the bios back to normal IDE.
Sorry I ever bought this MB.
Gerard.


XP does not have a AHCI driver.

Now you have 5 choices

1) Switch to IDE when booting Windows
2) Stay with IDE (Linux can handle this ;-) )
3) Reinstall XP and hit F3 (to install third party drivers from a floppy) [I think it was F3]
4) Install the AHCI driver in your current XP installation, thats kinda tricky.... but somwhere I found a howto: http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=444831
!!!!READ THE ENTIRE THREAD!!!!
5) The most simple sollution: kill XP
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
phsdv
Guru
Guru


Joined: 13 Mar 2005
Posts: 372
Location: Europe

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

blubbi wrote:
Now you have 6 choices

1) Switch to IDE when booting Windows
2) Stay with IDE (Linux can handle this ;-) )
3) Reinstall XP and hit F3 (to install third party drivers from a floppy) [I think it was F3]
4) Install the AHCI driver in your current XP installation, thats kinda tricky.... but somwhere I found a howto: http://forums.pcper.com/showthread.php?t=444831 !!!!READ THE ENTIRE THREAD!!!!
5) The most simple sollution: kill XP
6) Run XP in a virtual machine like virtualbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My box doesn't have a floppy drive.
I don't think the installer is smart enough to read from a second cd.
I think I'll just leave it as it is.I bought this setup with XP Prof 64bit.
I will probably not need XP but I might as well leave it in.
Thanks for ur time.
@phsdv:what were you going to tell me?
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Wed May 28, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is a Windows XP unattendend install DVD out there in the p2p network which has AHCI drivers included... so you could download one of these slipstreamed XP install DVDs and make a fresh install.

kind regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Blubbi,
I tried the solution you posted:When I try to extract the Intel file it just quits after
the usage agreement.
I'll see what I can come up with tomorrow or later.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fmb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I have problem with WiFi on p5w. I'm curently using .23 kernel, but had the same issue on .24. The thing is everything works until it suddenly stops. Here's my thread where noone seems to know what to do with it. Maybe someone here will know about it?

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-695389.html?sid=0428170673ccc628affaefbb5423a479
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5738
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Wed Jun 11, 2008 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fmb wrote:
Hi,

I have problem with WiFi on p5w. I'm curently using .23 kernel, but had the same issue on .24. The thing is everything works until it suddenly stops. Here's my thread where noone seems to know what to do with it. Maybe someone here will know about it?

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-695389.html?sid=0428170673ccc628affaefbb5423a479


what stops you from testing .25 and .26-rc* kernels ? ;)
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.3.0-r2
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fmb
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Mar 2007
Posts: 39
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jun 12, 2008 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, I did take a shot with .25 yesterday, and it's all the same, no luck. I dunno, sometimes it can download 20MB and still work, and sometimes it gives up after 300KB... Frustrating, really.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Wed Jun 18, 2008 9:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here... the onboard USB shit just sucks.
Somtimes there is no transfere at all, then, waiting 5-15 Minutes, the transfer rate comes back to normal...

Disconnects are not unusual either.

Nothing in dmsg or messages... I have no clue.

I have another Atheros based card but I am unable to get wpa_supplicant to work with ath5k.

I am using the latest vanilla-RC

By the way fmb:
Välkommen

regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Today I installed gentoo-sources 2.6.26 rc3.
Rebooting I got a slew of errors.
Now the naming of the harddrives is back to normal!
The two HD's I've got are now sda and sdb like it should.
Before I had sda and sdc.
sdb was a bogus HD.
On sdc I had /var and /tmp.
Had to change /etc/fstab,now it works fine.
I wonder what was changed between 2.6.25 and 2.6.26.
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kernelOfTruth
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 20 Dec 2005
Posts: 5738
Location: Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gerard van Vuuren wrote:
Today I installed gentoo-sources 2.6.26 rc3.
Rebooting I got a slew of errors.
Now the naming of the harddrives is back to normal!
The two HD's I've got are now sda and sdb like it should.
Before I had sda and sdc.
sdb was a bogus HD.
On sdc I had /var and /tmp.
Had to change /etc/fstab,now it works fine.
I wonder what was changed between 2.6.25 and 2.6.26.
Gerard.


most probably patches for dm / device-mapper

afaik I got those naming problems until 2.6.26, too

but beginning with 2.6.27+ it hopefully seems to have vanished / stabilised :idea:
_________________
https://github.com/kernelOfTruth/ZFS-for-SystemRescueCD/tree/ZFS-for-SysRescCD-4.3.0-r2
2.6.37.2_plus_v1: BFS, CFS,THP,compaction, zcache or TOI
Hardcore Linux user since 2004 :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 10:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gerard van Vuuren wrote:
Today I installed gentoo-sources 2.6.26 rc3.
Rebooting I got a slew of errors.
Now the naming of the harddrives is back to normal!
The two HD's I've got are now sda and sdb like it should.
Before I had sda and sdc.
sdb was a bogus HD.
On sdc I had /var and /tmp.
Had to change /etc/fstab,now it works fine.
I wonder what was changed between 2.6.25 and 2.6.26.
Gerard.


Thought this is not nice, mount your disks by UUID
Code:

blkid /dev/sda1
/dev/sda1: LABEL="boot" UUID="4092070b-ab2c-473d-9fd4-d0f4d4f95090" TYPE="ext2"

this helps to prevent all naming trouble.
You can also append the UUID to the kernel options insted of the kernel device name.

Kind regards
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gerard82
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Posts: 2229
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi blubbi,
I am familiar with all the naming systems for disks.
You could also use LABEL.
But I prefer hdx and sdx,it's been like that from the beginning.
I'll leave the UUID's to ubuntu and the likes.
I cannot put my finger on it but apparently there were more
things in the older kernels that weren't quite right.
On bootup I would sometimes have to wait for
Code:

populating udev with uevents

and also
Code:

Starting Hardware Abstraction Layer daemon

That is now gone!
Incidentally I compiled the '26 kernel with just oldconfig
and nothing else.
Kind regards,
Gerard.
_________________
To install Gentoo I use sysrescuecd.Based on Gentoo,has firefox to browse Gentoo docs and mc to browse (and edit) files.
The same disk can be used for 32 and 64 bit installs.
You can follow the Handbook verbatim.
http://www.sysresccd.org/Download
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
blubbi
Guru
Guru


Joined: 27 Apr 2003
Posts: 545
Location: Halle (Saale), Germany

PostPosted: Sun Nov 30, 2008 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oka, I am on 2.6.27 too. But I had no problems with 2.6.25 either

By the way: I am using kernelnames for devices too ;-)

Have a nice weekend
blubbi
_________________
-->Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
-->Help answer the unanswered

http://olausson.de
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Kernel & Hardware All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Page 6 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum