Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
X freezes on start with full CPU usage [Solved]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tek0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 11:43 am    Post subject: X freezes on start with full CPU usage [Solved] Reply with quote

When I launch startx or xdm, the terminal goes black with a cursor in the top corner and nothing happens, no keyboard input is accepted. I can ssh in, to see X eating up all CPU and not having started a window manager. Only if I use xdm, it starts either the kdm or xdm process, but there is no difference.

I tried different graphic drivers, desktop environments, display managers, xorg.conf files. The logs don't say much, no warnings, no errors. Nothing in syslog and dmesg. When I kill the X process through ssh, I still can't send input from the machine's keyboard. I downgraded all X packages I recently updated.

With either driver, the log always seems to end after loading the int10 module. I've tried disabling it, but then X complains.

Example log
xorg.conf

The graphics card is a Radeon Mobility X700, I'm running a 2.6.19 suspend2 kernel on amd64.

Any hints to debug that, please.

edit: strace startx, only the last few lines. The last two lines are repeated about a million times in the logfile.

Alright, have to remember to always strace errors.
Code:
5554  open("/dev/cpu/mtrr", O_WRONLY)  = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)

directly before the lockup speaks for itself. I put Option "NoMTRR" into xorg.conf and everything was beautiful. Freaking bug...should probably report it.

Though I don't understand why - MTRR has always been enabled in the kernel and has never been disabled in xorg.conf.


Last edited by tek0 on Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:56 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tlaloc
Guru
Guru


Joined: 21 Feb 2005
Posts: 451
Location: Europe - Alps - Tyrol

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you have framebuffer support disabled? If not, try without it.

Bye, Val.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tek0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tlaloc wrote:
Do you have framebuffer support disabled? If not, try without it.

Bye, Val.


yes, tried that already.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a similar problem with completely different hardware.

My Gentoo install has been up and running well for over a year.

Last time I rebooted when X loads it just gives me a black screen with the "watch" mouse icon indicating that I should wait.

It's not a hard lock, as I can activate and deactivate numlock, as well as move the mouse.

Once I CTRL-ALT-F1 to console, log in and do a "top" I see that XDM is taking almost all the CPU.

It seems to happen prior to the login manager (GDM) loads, as I never get a username and password dialog.

Unfortunately I have had such a long uptime since my last reboot, that there is no telling what one of countless emerges broke my system :(

Has anyone else experienced this?
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh.. And I ahve looked through the X and GDM logs and nothing there looks suspicious.

Appreciate any help.

I'm really close to just doing an emerge -e world and seeing if that helps, but that is really just a pain..
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

more info...

I killed XDM and tried starting it from the console with startx..

I got an error message that gnome-session could not find libdbus-1.so.2

Doing a locate, I found it in /emul/linux/x86/usr/lib/libdbus-1.so.2

Could gnome be looking in the wrong place?

I might try reemerging gnome, but I am not sure which package I should reemerge. Any sugestions?
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well...

I reeemerged gnome-session with the line "emerge -1 gnome-session" and it didn't work. Still can't find the libdbus library it needs...

I guess I'm stuck. I've already tried reemerging dbus, but that didn't hep either

Any ideas?
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tek0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zarathustra[H] wrote:

I might try reemerging gnome, but I am not sure which package I should reemerge. Any sugestions?


Better run revdep-rebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zarathustra[H]
Guru
Guru


Joined: 30 Dec 2002
Posts: 389
Location: Cambridge, MA, USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

tek0 wrote:
Zarathustra[H] wrote:

I might try reemerging gnome, but I am not sure which package I should reemerge. Any sugestions?


Better run revdep-rebuild.


Thank you. This did the trick, but it finally forced me off of compiz-quinnstorm. I guess now I'll be forced to migrate to beryl... :p
_________________
----
Athlon 64 3000+ / 1Gb Kingston Hyperx PC3500 / MSI K8N Neo / Geforce 6800GT
----
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tek0
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Oct 2005
Posts: 43

PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zarathustra[H] wrote:
tek0 wrote:
Zarathustra[H] wrote:

I might try reemerging gnome, but I am not sure which package I should reemerge. Any sugestions?


Better run revdep-rebuild.


Thank you. This did the trick, but it finally forced me off of compiz-quinnstorm. I guess now I'll be forced to migrate to beryl... :p

nothing wrong with that ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum