Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
KDE-3.5.6 available, "multiple versions" problem
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cmulcahy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 64
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 3:17 pm    Post subject: KDE-3.5.6 available, "multiple versions" problem Reply with quote

Help again! How do I resolve this?

Code:
gentoobox chris # emerge -uDN world
Calculating world dependencies -
!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been
!!! pulled into the dependency graph:

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.5-r7', 'nomerge') pulled in by
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/dcopc-3.5.0', 'nomerge')

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6', 'merge') pulled in by
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/khotkeys-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/qtjava-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdesu-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kgpg-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'sci-calculators/qalculate-kde-0.9.4', 'nomerge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kcminit-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-misc/krename-3.0.13', 'nomerge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdebase-data-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/konsole-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/khelpcenter-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/qtruby-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/smoke-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kicker-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kcontrol-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/libkonq-3.5.6', 'merge')

It may be possible to solve this problem by using package.mask to
prevent one of those packages from being selected. However, it is also
possible that conflicting dependencies exist such that they are
impossible to satisfy simultaneously. If such a conflict exists in the
dependencies of two different packages, then those packages can not be
installed simultaneously.

For more information, see MASKED PACKAGES section in the emerge man page
or refer to the Gentoo Handbook.

!!! Depgraph creation failed.

_________________
Having a non-smoking section in a restaraunt is as effective as having a non-peeing section in a pool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
F-0_ICE
l33t
l33t


Joined: 06 Dec 2004
Posts: 679

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

possibly a bug in the portage tree.

all i can suggest is to
Code:
emerge --sync
again and see if it clears up.
ijust installed updated to 3.5.6 last night and didn't have this problem. so re-syncing might do the trick.

HTH
_________________
~AMD64
AMD: Athlon64 X2 3800+
2G PC3200
ATI: RADEON HD 4350
Linksys: WMP54G

True Knowledge is Best Acquired Through Experience.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xanas3712
Guru
Guru


Joined: 15 Oct 2004
Posts: 455

PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, wait for another response because mine is a bit hackish and I'm sure it's the wrong way to deal with it :P But I was annoyed and so I just did it this way..


It's probably because you have a few different packages that are keyworded (where you put ~amd64), like the kde-3.5.5-r1 stuff. I had this situation also and didn't fix it then by resolving it, so I gave up this time around and just decided to keyword all kde stuff to get around it.

The easiest way to do this would probably be..

emerge -uDN world > temp.txt

Edit the file with nano removing the Calculating lines, and removing the space in between the sections..Also remove the ending, basically, leave..

Code:

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.5-r7', 'nomerge') pulled in by
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/dcopc-3.5.0', 'nomerge')

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6', 'merge') pulled in by
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/khotkeys-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/qtjava-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdesu-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kgpg-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'sci-calculators/qalculate-kde-0.9.4', 'nomerge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kcminit-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-misc/krename-3.0.13', 'nomerge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdebase-data-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/konsole-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/khelpcenter-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/qtruby-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/smoke-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kicker-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kcontrol-3.5.6', 'merge')
  ('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/libkonq-3.5.6', 'merge')


Once you have left this in the file, you can use sed to parse it. You'll have to do this same procedure a few different times to get through it.
It looks like this..

cat test.txt | sed 's/\(\'ebuild\'\, \'\/\'\, \'//' | sed 's/\', \'merge\'\)/~amd64/' >> test2.txt

and.. so on .. out of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cmulcahy
n00b
n00b


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 64
Location: Minneapolis, MN

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. I did do an emerge --sync after seeing this. I thought maybe my last sync was in the middle of the release. No luck.

I'm sorry to hear that others are having problems, but am happy to hear I'm not the only one working through these issues.

Any ideas on how to fix this properly? I do have the kde stuff in my package.keywords with ~x86 for the kde-3.5 stuff. Is that contributing to this problem?

Thanks for any insight!
_________________
Having a non-smoking section in a restaraunt is as effective as having a non-peeing section in a pool.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had the same error and a simple

Code:
emerge -av kde


and then

Code:
emerge -auDv world


fixed the problem.
_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Conan
Guru
Guru


Joined: 02 Nov 2004
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 5:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It appears to be a bug.

http://sources.gentoo.org/viewcvs.py/gentoo-x86/kde-base/dcopc/dcopc-3.5.0.ebuild?view=markup shows MAXKDEVERSION=3.5.5, looks like diego didn't bump it either by accident or because its broken. File a bug on bugzilla (or see if one is filed) and you can also test by overlaying the ebuidl and changing the 3.5.5 to 3.5.6 in the ebuild.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
daniel-steiner
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Mar 2005
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 7:46 am    Post subject: demask portage Reply with quote

Hi,
I had the same problem. Did you have unmask portage ebuild? If so emerge the stable version of portage and the update works as usual.

Have fun with gentoo :lol:
_________________
elpito
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
November Rain
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 18 Nov 2006
Posts: 142
Location: Tirschenreuth

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 9:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi

i have the same problem. But only with the new portage version 2.1.2-r4. when i'm downgrading to 2.1.1-r2 everything works fine, but i'm using the xeffects overlay and i need the new portage. is there a way to handle this problem?
_________________
Gentoo Linux - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 - 32 Bit
4 GB G.Skill PC6400 DDR 2
MSI P35 Neo 2 FR
MSI GeForce 8800 GTS 512 MB G92 OC & Club3D 8400 GS
Samsung 245B plus & HP w2408 Vivid Color
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drescherjm
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 05 Jun 2004
Posts: 2790
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 1:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My instructions 4 replies above worked with sys-apps/portage-2.1.2-r4

Code:
# emerge --info
Portage 2.1.2-r4 (default-linux/amd64/2006.1, gcc-4.1.1/amd64-vanilla, glibc-2.4-r4, 2.6.18-gentoo-r2 x86_64)
=================================================================
System uname: 2.6.18-gentoo-r2 x86_64 AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 850
Gentoo Base System release 1.12.9
Timestamp of tree: Sat, 27 Jan 2007 08:00:01 +0000
distcc 2.18.3 x86_64-pc-linux-gnu (protocols 1 and 2) (default port 3632) [disabled]
ccache version 2.3 [enabled]
app-admin/eselect-compiler: 2.0.0_rc2-r1
dev-java/java-config: 1.3.7, 2.0.31-r3
dev-lang/python:     2.4.3-r4
dev-python/pycrypto: 2.0.1-r5
dev-util/ccache:     2.3
dev-util/confcache:  0.4.2-r1
sys-apps/sandbox:    1.2.18.1
sys-devel/autoconf:  2.13, 2.61
sys-devel/automake:  1.4_p6, 1.5, 1.6.3, 1.7.9-r1, 1.8.5-r3, 1.9.6-r2, 1.10
sys-devel/binutils:  2.17
sys-devel/gcc-config: 2.0.0_rc1
sys-devel/libtool:   1.5.22
virtual/os-headers:  2.6.17-r2
ACCEPT_KEYWORDS="amd64"
AUTOCLEAN="yes"
CBUILD="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CFLAGS="-march=k8 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -msse3"
CHOST="x86_64-pc-linux-gnu"
CONFIG_PROTECT="/etc /usr/kde/3.4/env /usr/kde/3.4/share/config /usr/kde/3.4/shutdown /usr/kde/3.5/env /usr/kde/3.5/share/config /usr/kde/3.5/shutdown /usr/lib64/mozilla/defaults/pref /usr/share/X11/xkb /usr/share/config"
CONFIG_PROTECT_MASK="/etc/env.d /etc/env.d/java/ /etc/eselect/compiler /etc/gconf /etc/java-config/vms/ /etc/revdep-rebuild /etc/splash /etc/terminfo /etc/texmf/web2c"
CXXFLAGS="-march=k8 -O3 -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer -msse3"
DISTDIR="/usr/portage/distfiles"
FEATURES="autoconfig candy ccache confcache distlocks metadata-transfer parallel-fetch sandbox sfperms strict"
GENTOO_MIRRORS="http://gentoo.osuosl.org/ http://gentoo.cites.uiuc.edu/pub/gentoo/ http://gentoo.chem.wisc.edu/gentoo/ http://gentoo.mirrors.tds.net/gentoo"
MAKEOPTS="-j3"
PKGDIR="/usr/portage/packages"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_EXTRA_OPTS="--progress"
PORTAGE_RSYNC_OPTS="--recursive --links --safe-links --perms --times --compress --force --whole-file --delete --delete-after --stats --timeout=180 --exclude=/distfiles --exclude=/local --exclude=/packages"
PORTAGE_TMPDIR="/var/tmp"
PORTDIR="/usr/portage"
PORTDIR_OVERLAY="/usr/local/portage /usr/portage/local/layman/masterdriverz"
SYNC="rsync://jmd0/gentoo-portage"
USE="7z 7zip X Xaw3d a52 aac acl acpi alsa amd64 apache2 arts bacula-split-init bash-completion berkdb binary-drivers bitmap-fonts boost bzip2 cairo ccache cdr cg cli colordiff cpudetection cracklib crosscompile crypt css cups cvs cvsgraph dbus dga divx dlloader doc dri dvd dvdr emacs emul-linux-x86 fbcon ffmpeg firefox font-server fortran fuse gdbm gif gmail gmp gnome gnomecanvas gnomedb gphoto2 gpm grammar graphviz gtk gtk2 gtkhtml gzip hal hddtemp iconv isdnlog java jikes joystick jpeg jpeg2k kde kexi libg++ lirc lzo lzw mjpeg mng mozilla mp3 mysql mysqli ncurses nfs nls nptl nptlonly nsplugin opengl pam pcre pdf perl php png ppds pppd python readline reflection samba session smp spl ssl tcpd transcode truetype truetype-fonts type1-fonts udev unicode unzip usb v4l v4l2 videos wmf wxwindows xine xinerama xml xorg xvid zlib" ALSA_CARDS="snd_ac97_bus snd_intel8x0" ALSA_PCM_PLUGINS="adpcm alaw asym copy dmix dshare dsnoop empty extplug file hooks iec958 ioplug ladspa lfloat linear meter mulaw multi null plug rate route share shm softvol" ELIBC="glibc" INPUT_DEVICES="keyboard mouse" KERNEL="linux" LCD_DEVICES="bayrad cfontz cfontz633 glk hd44780 lb216 lcdm001 mtxorb ncurses text" USERLAND="GNU" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
Unset:  CTARGET, EMERGE_DEFAULT_OPTS, INSTALL_MASK, LANG, LC_ALL, LDFLAGS, LINGUAS


Code:
# equery l kde
[ Searching for package 'kde' in all categories among: ]
 * installed packages
[I--] [ ~] dev-util/kdevelop-3.3.92 (0)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kde-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdeaddons-3.5.6-r1 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdeadmin-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdeartwork-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdebase-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [  ] kde-base/kdebase-pam-6 (0)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdeedu-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdegames-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdegraphics-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdemultimedia-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdenetwork-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdepim-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdesdk-3.5.5 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdetoys-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdeutils-3.5.6 (3.5)
[I--] [ ~] kde-base/kdewebdev-3.5.6 (3.5)
jmd1 mythtv #

_________________
John

My gentoo overlay
Instructons for overlay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cj1067
n00b
n00b


Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I Had a similar Problem... In your case the culprit is dcopc-3.5.0, portage (I believe) Is looking for the same version of this as in kdelibs, or the program was, in my case, removed from portage.. Un-emerge dcopc...... then go and do your regular update.

emerge -C dcopc-3.5.0

Now "emerge -uDN world" Should work.

-Chris

Quote:

gentoobox chris # emerge -uDN world
Calculating world dependencies -
!!! Multiple versions within a single package slot have been
!!! pulled into the dependency graph:

('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/kdelibs-3.5.5-r7', 'nomerge') pulled in by
('ebuild', '/', 'kde-base/dcopc-3.5.0', 'nomerge')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum