Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
adding new grub entry - hda4 boot?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
benbruscella
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:05 pm    Post subject: adding new grub entry - hda4 boot? Reply with quote

I have installed gentoo using the standard setup, but also setup hda4 for mandrake. I installed mandrake after gentoo, and now I need to modify grub to allow me to boot to either gentoo or mandrake.

The gentoo setup is exactly as per the install notes, and mandrake is installed fully only on /dev/hda4.

I tried to add:

Title=Mandrake 8.2
root (hd0,3)
kernel /boot/bzImagemd root=dev/hda4

And copied the kernel over from the mandrake mount, but that didnt work.

Any hints? Do I need to re-run grub to set something up on /dev/hda4?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16116
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:15 pm    Post subject: Re: adding new grub entry - hda4 boot? Reply with quote

benbruscella wrote:
I have installed gentoo using the standard setup, but also setup hda4 for mandrake. I installed mandrake after gentoo, and now I need to modify grub to allow me to boot to either gentoo or mandrake.

The gentoo setup is exactly as per the install notes, and mandrake is installed fully only on /dev/hda4.

I tried to add:

Title=Mandrake 8.2
root (hd0,3)
kernel /boot/bzImagemd root=dev/hda4

And copied the kernel over from the mandrake mount, but that didnt work.

Any hints? Do I need to re-run grub to set something up on /dev/hda4?
On the off chance this isn't a typo, have you tried adding a / before dev/hda4? root=/dev/hda4?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

root should be /dev/hda4, and make sure you have bzImagemd copied to your /boot partition.

Does Mandrake use an initrd?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benbruscella
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

delta407 wrote:
root should be /dev/hda4, and make sure you have bzImagemd copied to your /boot partition.?


oops, yes it was /dev/hda4 - typo :)

I mounted /dev/hda1 to /boot, mounted mandrake, copied /mnt/mandrake/usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage to /boot, rebooted, and when grub starts, it reports that it cannot find file. It reports correctly on the partition, but doesnt boot. Stumped :/

delta407 wrote:
Does Mandrake use an initrd?


Not sure - but /boot on the mandrake partition is empty.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uhhh... you want to change the root () command in your menu.lst to your /boot partition (hda1, not hda4).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benbruscella
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I changed it to:

Title=Mandrake 8.2
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/bzImagemd root=/dev/hda4

file not found, even though it there.

The interesting thing is that /boot is not auto mounted in gentoo. I need to mount this from gentoo to see grub. There is also a bzImage in /boot when not mounted to /dev/hda1.

I give up... nearly :)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, do this:
Code:
# mount /dev/hda1 /boot
# mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/mandrake
# cp /mnt/mandrake/usr/src/linux/arch/i386/boot/bzImage /boot/bzImage-mdk
# nano -w /boot/grub/menu.lst


Change your menu.lst for Mandrake to the following:
Code:

title = Mandrake Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /bzImage-mdk root=/dev/hda4


Then, clean up by running:
Code:
# umount /mnt/mandrake
# umount /boot


Try it again. If it still doesn't work, please post your entire menu.lst.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 16116
Location: Colorado

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/boot is not automatically mounted so it doesn't become corrupted. Things in /boot when it is not mounted
were usually put there without mounting /boot.

Can you post your menu.lst file and your partition list?
_________________
lolgov. 'cause where we're going, you don't have civil liberties.

In Loving Memory
1787 - 2008
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
benbruscella
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Jun 2002
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 7:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, if I do:
Code:

# mount /dev/hda1 /boot
# mount /dev/hda4 /mnt/mandrake


I cant see my usr/src/linux directory on the mandrake partition. If I mount the other way round, the mount seems ok. Does this provide any hints as to whats going on?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
delta407
Bodhisattva
Bodhisattva


Joined: 23 Apr 2002
Posts: 2876
Location: Chicago, IL

PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2002 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

benbruscella wrote:
I cant see my usr/src/linux directory on the mandrake partition. If I mount the other way round, the mount seems ok. Does this provide any hints as to whats going on?


That's probably a bad thing, but doesn't shed any light on the situation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum